Steamed Fig Pudding

Steamed puddings are a traditional holiday dessert in England, and those made with dried figs are an especially classic variety. They can vary in texture and taste. This version has the flavor of a rich bread pudding. Each serving is enhanced with a drizzle of dense syrup made from the fig poaching liquid and a dollop of whipped cream.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Steamed Fig Pudding
Review 1 for Steamed Fig Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CANdo
,Germantown
,Tn
December 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Out of this world good!!!
December 30, 2013
Finally made my first ever figgy pudding for my book club group last night.
( Large group of guinea pigs...)
Had never made a steamed dessert before so had to get familiar with the process.
The results were well worth the effort.
We all LOVED it.
Will definitely be making this pudding again!!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, extra special
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Steamed Fig Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhilSanDiego
San Diego, CA
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very successful, with a few tweaks
January 6, 2011
I hadn't made a steamed pudding in years, but friends wanted one, so tried this one out. It's a rarity as it doesn't contain any alcohol, good for abstainers. I did add a half teaspoon or so each of: ground cinnamon, cloves, cardamom and mace. I think it would have been too bland without those additions. I also substituted buttermilk instead of plain milk. Guests at dinner hesitated at first and asked for very small portions, expecting not to like it. But nearly all of them had seconds, including one heretofore figgy-pudding hater!
Review 3 for Steamed Fig Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OrangeSky
Salt Lake City UT
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect as a side or a dessert
December 29, 2010
I had never made fig pudding, and wanted to try it. All ingredients are easy to find, and the recipe is easy. (The challenge was finding a 7 cup figgy pudding pan. I found one and it was worth the effort).
The result is a visually appealing and tasty dish.
Since it doesn't have an elevated sweetness it works superbly as a side to dinner (in place of stuffing). It is a delightful dessert as well.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Steamed Fig Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DancingGinger
Napa Valley, CA
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Traditional, elegant, delicious
December 28, 2010
This is easy and delectable. I served it drizzled with the reduced fig juice and a spoonful of hard sauce [powdered sugar, butter, cognac, orange zest].
It tastes better with a day or two of age. Wrap closely with cheesecloth, drizzle with cognac, and cover with aluminum foil.
Wonderful! :)
Review 5 for Steamed Fig Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DZTexas
Texas
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the Time
December 25, 2010
This recipe is so delicious. It is worth the time and effort. My family and guests enjoyed it very much. I didn't have a putting mold so I used a bundt pan and covered with heavy duty foil and it worked well.