Spring Pea Soup with Bacon Bread Crumbs

Showcasing the garden-fresh flavors of spring, this pea soup gets a flavor boost from a sprinkling of bread crumbs and bits of bacon. For a fun garnish, cut 4 or 5 additional bacon slices in half lengthwise and fry until crisp, then place upright in each glass of soup just before serving.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Spring Pea Soup with Bacon Bread Crumbs
Review 1 for Spring Pea Soup with Bacon Bread Crumbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martawillcox
,London, UK
July 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and exactly as the recipe states!
July 1, 2013
I cannot add to the other reviewers in terms of describing how delicious and fresh-tasting the soup is. Incredible.
I would emphasise the importance of the bacon-breadcrumb-herb part of the soup. It definitely adds a lot of flavour.
The only other thing is to note that the serving size is accurately represented in the photograph for the recipe. I made a half-batch that should have served 4 and it ended up serving two for dinner. The serving sizes are definitely "appetiser size."
Pros: Healthy, Will Make Again
Cons: Yield
Review 2 for Spring Pea Soup with Bacon Bread Crumbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AshAdam
,Alexandria
,VA
April 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Hit with a Crowd!
April 28, 2013
I made this for a spring dinner party and it was a hit! It really brought out the fresh flavor of the peas and did not have that mushy, thick taste of split pea soup. The bacon breadcrumbs were delicious. But it was great that soup itself did not have any pork in it since we have friends who do not eat pork. I could simply leave off the breadcrumbs for them and they could still enjoy the soup. I will make this again when we get peas out of the garden.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Spring Pea Soup with Bacon Bread Crumbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ParisKitchen
,Paris, France
March 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh and delicious!
March 31, 2013
I used pancetta too. And instead of simmering "until the peas are tender, 12 to 20 minutes," I simply brought the peas to the simmer and turned the heat off. I left the soup in the pot, with the lid on, for about five minutes, then continued with the recipe as directed. It would be a shame to overcook fresh peas! And the soup was fabulous; went great with a dry French white wine from the Savoie region.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Spring Pea Soup with Bacon Bread Crumbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sluce
,Greensboro
,NC
May 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Spring time soup
May 31, 2012
I also used pancetta instead of bacon and I use an immersion blender to finish off the soup to make it super silky smooth. Even if you do not like peas you love this recipe.
I serve it with toasted goat cheese crostini's
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Spring Pea Soup with Bacon Bread Crumbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMHinCT
April 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They asked for seconds....
April 21, 2011
Really delicious; I used pancetta instead of bacon. I also strained the soup after processing in the food processor because lumps remained.Soup was really good; be sure to use fresh, not frozen, and NEVER canned, peas.
Review 6 for Spring Pea Soup with Bacon Bread Crumbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mom198586
East Bay, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even Pea Haters Loved It!
May 14, 2010
This is fast, easy and delicious. Even if you hate peas, you've got to give it a try.