Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes

With a spoonful of spiced apple filling tucked inside and accompanied by maple whipped cream, these pancakes make a special treat for an autumn brunch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
Review 1 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skinnyhen
Denver, CO
June 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Breakfast Staple
June 26, 2011
I love making this recipe for my family, especially for sleepover guests of my children. It's extra-special, delicious, and everyone adores them. The filling options are limitless. I come back to this time and time again.
The best part is the recipe for the pancake batter. This has become my go-to pancake batter recipe. It's more work than many recipes but well worth it. I double the recipe and crank out a huge batch of pancakes and waffles, cool them on wire racks, then freeze them in ziplocs. My kids pop them in the microwave for a minute on school days and have a hot, made-from-scratch-breakfast by mom.
The recipe is adaptable. I've used whole wheat flour (very dense pancakes; prefer half-and-half white to wheat), gluten-free baking mix (delicious!), subbed plain Greek yogurt for the sour cream for a protein boost (delicious change that yields excellent results). The only things I NEVER mess with are the buttermilk and egg whites--essential for light, fluffy pancakes!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
welovefoodatGA
Ithaca, NY
November 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great apple filling for all sorts of things
November 14, 2010
I love this apple filling recipe and I make the filling separately, sometimes with grated apples and sometimes with sliced apples. It is great in crepes or on top of normal pancakes, and sometimes I just eat it by itself!
Review 3 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MamaMac
Missoula, MT
November 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Like apple pie for breakfast!
November 1, 2010
I made this recipe for my family for a special breakfast and it was a big hit! We think it tastes like warm apple pie with ice cream...YUM! Instead of shredding the apples I diced them. I prefer a little apple bite. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. My son thought there was too much salt in the whipped cream. I will probably cut that a tad next time, but I do like the salty/sweet combo. For a faster breakfast you could skip the special filled pancake pan and simply use this recipe for griddle pancakes. It is time consuming, but worth it!
Review 4 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pen9
walnut creek, california
September 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
recipe could be more accurate
September 10, 2010
This is an excellent idea. However it would be helpful to give a more accurate amount of grated apples needed for the filling. 3 apples could = more than 3 cups less than one cup or anything in between. It would be ever so helpful to tell us either a weight or amount that would produce the best result. The rest of the recipe is a tasty treat.
Review 5 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grady
Camas, Wa
September 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing breakfast with pears
September 5, 2010
We have pears falling off our tree and they are awesome in this recipe instead of apples!!
Review 6 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bammcgrain
Lewis Center, Ohio
May 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WONDERFUL - Delicious!
May 31, 2010
I have used the ebelskiver filled pancake pan several times - once on my mothers old style electric stove and once on my smooth top stove - both times the pancakes came out beautifully. We liked the spiced apple-filled pancakes and LOVE filling the pancakes with chocolate chips! My daughter-in-law described them as doughnuts without the deep frying. Can't wait to make different versions of the pancake. The possibilities are endless! :)
Review 7 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrannyJanet
Willows, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Grandkids (and Grandpa!)
May 14, 2010
Could not do the Ebelskivers fast enough! With 2 grandkids, a grandpa and a mom and dad - none left for me! However, I did snitch one and it was absolutely fantastic! Taking an Ebelskiver pan as a gift on my Oregon trip this summer, and will "do" this recipe for them again. So delicious - and apples are good for you - right?
Review 8 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KMR1012
The Big D
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy for Brunch
April 30, 2010
I have made this receipe twice and loved it! On a separate occasion I made the spiced apple filling as a topping for regular pancakes. Everytime this dish has been a hit! It's easy to make!
Review 9 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Inkgoddess
Scottsdale, AZ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Picture is worth a thousand words...
April 30, 2010
Yeah, it's that good! Every winter holiday (and a few other special events throughout the year) I whip out my filled pancake pan and make several recipes... truly excellent treats!
Review 10 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChristineKitchenDiva
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for breakfast or brunch
April 30, 2010
I fell in love with Ebelskiver when we had them on a trip to Denmark and brought home a cast iron Ebelskiver maker. I make them every year on our family vacation. They have become a family tradition. The spiced apple filling is especially wonderful with our local Wisconsin apples.
Review 11 for Spiced Apple-Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cas624
Beaverton
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply delicious!
April 30, 2010
We like to use our homemade apple butter inside these and drizzle with honey....they are just fabulous! The kids LOVE these!