Spiced Apple Cake

You can use any type of apples in season. The cake will taste slightly different every time, but it is always moist as well as easy to prepare. Store the cake in a covered container in the refrigerator for up to 4 days.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Spiced Apple Cake
Review 1 for Spiced Apple Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChucktownGal
September 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
super easy and tasty
September 30, 2013
I have made this recipe about half a dozen times. It's simple and people always love it. I don't usually use as much cinnamon sugar (about 1/4-1/2 of what it tells you). Also, a springform pan is not required and I've never made it with one, but I believe it would be a lot easier if I did. Something to remember: the apples should be sliced thin. I think it's better that way.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again, taste, all natural, cost
Review 2 for Spiced Apple Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bakingbride
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL
January 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, but not as impressive as an apple pie
January 14, 2012
I made this recipe because the picture looked so tempting. The end result tasted really yummy, but if I'm going to go to the trouble to make an apple dessert, I might as well make an apple pie. it probably could have used more of the cake mixture. The 8 members of my family gobbled it up though, so it certainly satisfied a wide variety of taste buds. This was good, but it's not an "all-star" recipe, so I don't think I'll make it again. Also, the recipe doesn't state this, but you should use a cheesecake pan with springform sides, otherwise, the cake would be impossible to "turn out" of the pan as the recipe suggests.
Pros: Good Value, Easy
Cons: Confusing, Appearance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Spiced Apple Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nolaray
Canton, MI
December 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rich & Delish
December 19, 2011
Made this for open house. Everyone LOVED it and couldn't get enough.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Spiced Apple Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
never2muchbeauty
,San Jose
,CA
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty Fall Treat
October 24, 2011
Great base recipe. I've tried 6 or so different apple cake recipes over the last few months & this one is the top contender. Here are my modifications: used 1/2 c white & 1/2 c brown sugar in the cake, added a 1/2 cup of chopped pecans, 3/4 teasp.of vanilla & used about 1/4 cup of regualr raisens as this was what I had. I noticed t not all the sugar sprinkled on top of the cake carmelized (even with turning the broiler on for a couple of mins.) & given this is already a sweet cake), I will use a little less to sprinkle on top & make sure it's extra fine grade in lieu of regular granulated. My cake came out much darker (brown sugar no doubtedly assisted) & took a bit longer to bake, but tasted great. The only other modification I will make is to cut the thin slices of apples for the batter portion smaller in length to avoid dragging out large pieces of apple while cutting. Very moist & perhaps could use a dash of clove spice for more depth but this is still to be determined.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 5 for Spiced Apple Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Trumbull, CT
November 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & Delicious
November 1, 2010
This is a great autumn dessert, easy to follow directions and beautiful presentation. Delicious!
Review 6 for Spiced Apple Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SweetPea7
Danville, CA
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Fall Delight w/out the Guilt
October 17, 2010
So I'll preface this...I haven't followed the recipe exactly either of the 2 times I've made it in the past week. BUT...did u see?? I've made it twice in the last week!
The differences are that I just used apples that were in my fridge (golden delicious & braeburn) and cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup & that my 3 med/large apples meant more apple content...so longer baketime till "springy to the touch"....much MUCH more caramel-y looking than the pic!
DEFINITELY add a parchment round to the bottom of the pan to make removal easy!!