Spaghetti alla Carbonara

Only pancetta, the cured but unsmoked Italian bacon, should be used in this famous pasta dish from Rome. Pancetta is made from the same cut, pork belly, as the more common bacon, but it is salt-cured instead of smoked, giving it a subtler taste. Smoked bacon will overpower the delicate flavors of this dish. Look for good domestic brands of pancetta at delicatessens and Italian markets.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Spaghetti alla Carbonara
Review 1 for Spaghetti alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GourmetMama
,MN
Fergus Falls, MN
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family Favorite
January 4, 2013
This recipe is perfect! I've tried several carbonara recipes and something is always off, this was just right. My little kids loved it and so did my husband. We will be making this one again and again.
Pros: Quick, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Spaghetti alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jessica03
Chicago
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Delicate
March 21, 2011
I've been making this for a few years now. It is DELICIOUS. Sometimes my grocery store won't have pancetta and I've subbed in prosciutto (sliced 1/3 inch thick) instead and it still tastes great. This is a great weeknight meal because the actual cooking doesn't take too long, but, be advised, you have to cook it right before you serve it. (Not great for make-ahead or company for the same reason.)
One more tip: chop and prepare all ingredients before you begin - it makes preparation of the dish much easier.
All in all, a WONDERFUL DELICIOUS dish.
Review 3 for Spaghetti alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ratamacue
Houston
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great taste and flexible
January 31, 2011
My fiancée and I made this one evening instead of going out for dinner, and we were pleasantly surprised. Tons of flavor without being too heavy. We are preparing this again for a family gathering and plan to add artichokes, capers, and fresh diced tomato. Toss some grilled chicken on top and you have a delicious and easy to prepare meal!
Review 4 for Spaghetti alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMH18
Fairfield County, CT
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cook up a romantic Italian dinner at home!
May 1, 2010
Skip going out one Saturday night and cook up this delicious dish at home! We first had carbonara on our honeymoon in Italy and we loved it. We were so happy to find this delicious recipe to remind us of our trip each time we have it. I find that buying cubed pancetta at the store makes this a bit easier to make.
Review 5 for Spaghetti alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rissy
sacramento
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick and easy
April 30, 2010
I loved this recipe because carbonara's are always a quick and easy meal. I have a peugeot pepper mill at home and I used the coarse grind setting and that helped add a lot of flavor. I also added a pint of cherry tomatoes and that work out really well. This recipe is very flexible as far as what you can add to it especially with all the spring time vegetables!