Smothered Pork Chops

In this beloved southern recipe, meaty bone-in pork chops are literally smothered in vegetables and broth, then simmered until the vegetables have melted into a sauce tailor-made for spooning over rice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smothered Pork Chops
Review 1 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodlandbird
,Woodland Park
,CO
April 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Pork Chop Recipe
April 29, 2014
This recipe is easy and delicious. We make it often. I prefer it over rice or quinoa, my boyfriend likes it with mashed potatoes. It's wonderful either way. The only change I have made since I first started making this a few years ago is that I use carrot in place of the bell pepper as the pepper skins are a little weird in the gravy when all the rest of the vegetables have pretty much melted. We have tried it with turkey breast when that's what's in the fridge, but it really is best with the pork chops.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flash394
,Winter Haven
,FL
February 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great sauce......
February 18, 2014
I would do this recipe again, and may try chicken thighs for the pork. The sauce was a lot of prep which could be done ahead of time. I have all these ingredients in pantry all the time so was a breeze to pull together. I used a brown rice with wild rice, as I don't make white rice to much anymore. Also easy clean-up because a one pan meal. The pork was juicy and tender which my husband loved.
Pros: Quick, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Smothered Pork Chops
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AngelaMorgan
,Skiatook
,OK
November 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good!
November 6, 2013
I give it 4 1/2 stars. It's a very good dish.
The sauce/gravy is 5 star for sure!
I have a hard time cooking pork chops for some reason. I always end up overcooking them and they are tough. Since many people have said this is also good with chicken, I want to make it again with the chicken. I do not have as hard as a time with the chicken as I do the pork chops. I did not like this with rice or potatoes. I think another reviewers suggest of serving over egg noodles sounded pretty good. I will try that next time also.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SAMom
,San Antonio
,TX
September 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow!!! Delicious!!!
September 28, 2012
This dish is a slam dunk! I was a little nervous because I don't normally cook dishes with heavy cream but I did notice it was only 1/4 cup cream and that made all the difference! It was hearty and creamy but not too heavy. The vegetables were wonderfully cooked and the pork chops were tender. i was very careful to not overcook the pork. My only change was that I was running low on rice so I also made egg noodles and everyone, including my picky kids, liked the noodles better.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 5 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gccomo
,El Paso
,TX
June 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A dish your family will love
June 18, 2012
I have made this recipe numerous times, my family and friends love it. This recipe is also very good when made with chicken.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Equinerep
,Salem
,MA
January 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT! Recipe
January 19, 2012
This is an easy to make week day recipe. My family loves it!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again