Smothered Pork Chops

In this beloved southern recipe, meaty bone-in pork chops are literally smothered in vegetables and broth, then simmered until the vegetables have melted into a sauce tailor-made for spooning over rice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smothered Pork Chops
Review 1 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flash394
,Winter Haven
,FL
February 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great sauce......
February 18, 2014
I would do this recipe again, and may try chicken thighs for the pork. The sauce was a lot of prep which could be done ahead of time. I have all these ingredients in pantry all the time so was a breeze to pull together. I used a brown rice with wild rice, as I don't make white rice to much anymore. Also easy clean-up because a one pan meal. The pork was juicy and tender which my husband loved.
Pros: Quick, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Smothered Pork Chops
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AngelaMorgan
,Skiatook
,OK
November 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good!
November 6, 2013
I give it 4 1/2 stars. It's a very good dish.
The sauce/gravy is 5 star for sure!
I have a hard time cooking pork chops for some reason. I always end up overcooking them and they are tough. Since many people have said this is also good with chicken, I want to make it again with the chicken. I do not have as hard as a time with the chicken as I do the pork chops. I did not like this with rice or potatoes. I think another reviewers suggest of serving over egg noodles sounded pretty good. I will try that next time also.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SAMom
,San Antonio
,TX
September 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow!!! Delicious!!!
September 28, 2012
This dish is a slam dunk! I was a little nervous because I don't normally cook dishes with heavy cream but I did notice it was only 1/4 cup cream and that made all the difference! It was hearty and creamy but not too heavy. The vegetables were wonderfully cooked and the pork chops were tender. i was very careful to not overcook the pork. My only change was that I was running low on rice so I also made egg noodles and everyone, including my picky kids, liked the noodles better.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 4 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gccomo
,El Paso
,TX
June 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A dish your family will love
June 18, 2012
I have made this recipe numerous times, my family and friends love it. This recipe is also very good when made with chicken.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Equinerep
,Salem
,MA
January 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT! Recipe
January 19, 2012
This is an easy to make week day recipe. My family loves it!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Smothered Pork Chops
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kimmie822
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Different but tasty
November 27, 2011
I substituted a few things.. used only one tablespoon of olive oil, margarine instead of butter (and only one tbsp) and fat free half and half instead of cream. I used sirachi for the hot sauce. It was still pretty good, but my pork chops were not that juicy. The sauce was really good though and my husband loved the unique flavor. I also loved that I had everything this recipe required on hand (or a good substitute) and didn't have to purchase a lot of items for one-time use.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laila
,Montreal
,QC
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What not to do!
October 27, 2011
Argh! As I was making this, the smell and look were AMAZING. I followed the recipe almost exactly. Then I noticed that the veggies were taking too long to cook down, so I made the mistake of scooping them out, blending them up and pouring back into the gravy. Bad bad bad! Sauce turned orange and tasted like a red pepper sauce. It still tasted fine, but nothing enthusiastic like other reviewers, and the leftovers are still sitting in the fridge 3 days later. Next time, I'll stick to the script!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spankieone
Clover, SC
July 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavors in one pan.
July 13, 2011
I made this using two thick pork chops and the cooking times were perfect. I believe the thyme is an added layer of flavor for this dish. I used some Japanese hot sauce (which can be used for hot wings, mexican salsa etc.) and it was delicious. My husband loved the gravy and has suggested that I use the recipe for other meats. Recommended to try but make sure your pork chops are at least 1.5" thick.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoldFond
Chicago
March 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I am a late becoming cook
March 29, 2011
All thought so simple - 'smothered pork chops?' BUT they had never added these veggies and that veggie gravy is to die for - to die for. The book arrived and those chops looked so g-o-o-d in that skillet which was the sell w/the recipe online. I bought this skillet and have made these smothered chops 3 times and better each time. I LOVE Wms-Sonoma Recipes - Never, Never Disappointed!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JaneM
Lincoln Park, NJ
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST Pork Chops EVER!!
March 7, 2011
My family is very picky. If pork chops aren't smothered in apple sauce they wont eat them.. BUT.. i wanted to try this recipe anyway. It was the best pork chop I ever ate! Perfectly seasoned.. the sauce delicious!
I only made a slight change. I strained the sauce (because my family would not like the veggies and thyme) and added 1/4 cup white wine then added the cream and finished the sauce.
Absolutely DELICIOUS!!!
Review 11 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sooooo goooood!
January 25, 2011
This is an easy recipe and it tastes wonderful. I do not own an electric skillet, but I used a teflon fry pan. The sauce is amazingly delicious. You could use chicken or pork chops. My family does not like very spicy food, so I just used 2 to 3 dashes of hot sauce rather than the 1 teaspoon recommended in the recipe. Also, as one reviewer stated, the pork chops can overcook. So rather than simmering the pork chops 10 minutes on one side and 10 minutes on the other side, try just 5 minutes per side and checking to see if the chops are pink. Although the pork chops were consumed, I have rice and the vegetable sauce for tomorrow's lunch! Yummy!
Review 12 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rookie
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Couldn't be easier
January 20, 2011
I am new to cooking, but am trying my hardest now that I have a family and this recipe was so easy to make. Not only did my picky eaters eat it, they loved it!
Review 13 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KTBNEWS
Exeter, California
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Dinner Recipe
December 29, 2010
Easy to make, has a rich gravy and the pork is so tender. Wonderful for entertaining dinner guests, better than a standard roast.
Review 14 for Smothered Pork Chops
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pcooks
Atlanta, GA
December 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible flavor!
December 9, 2010
This was one of the best sauces I've ever tasted. Followed the recipe to a T and everything was perfect but the chops were a little dry. Did I cook them too long or not long enough? Any advice?
Review 15 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nama
Montana
November 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smothered Pork Chops
November 3, 2010
I have made this a number of times. Really really good. I made it for my father in Texas and I did something alittle different. I made it and put it in a slow cooker. Thicken the juice before I served it. It made the pork more tender and was delicious. One of these days I will breakdown and will be able to afford your slow cooker. I do alot with them. Thank you for having such delicious receipes.
Review 16 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
foodreviewer59
Fort Lauderdale, FL
August 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
August 29, 2010
Made this for my boyfriend who normally doesn't like veggies, so I cut the bell pepper, onions, and celery really small- LOTS of chopping that would probably have been better for the food processor! Anyway, it was FANTASTIC! I only made 2 pork chops for us but kept the ingredients for the sauce as written, so we had enough sauce left over to pour on top of chicken and rice for lunch the next day! A great recipe.
Review 17 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ellasahar
Cedarburg, WI
July 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rich and Special
July 21, 2010
This is a rich and flavorful dish that plates beautifully. The only change was chopping veggies in a food processor to speed things up. (Would consider using a blender stick to smooth it out as the pretty red pepper was already almost cooked out.) The use of hot sauce was fabulous giving it an unobtrusive zing.
Review 18 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wenzel
San Luis, CO
July 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantabulous !!
July 10, 2010
What a way to impress dinner guests. Served this dish to first time dinner guests and they thought I was a gourmet cook. Everyone finished everything on their plates and some even took seconds. I will use this recipe again and again. It doesn't have to be used for just special occasions. I even made it using chicken breasts and the flavors and gravy were just as great.
Review 19 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momchef
Houston, TX
June 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great way to make pork chops!
June 3, 2010
This recipe exceeded my expectations. It has a great creamy flavor with plenty of sauce to spoon over rice or whatever you like. Easy and quick to make. You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Review 20 for Smothered Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leigh1286
Rolla, MO
May 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Pork Chops
May 17, 2010
I made this after a long week of work on a Friday night that I just wanted to stay in. It was great. I am not crazy about red peppers but in this the flavors blend so well I didn't even notice. I served it over brown rice and the left overs were even better the next day.
page1 2 next