Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Using the Cuisinart soup maker and blender, you can saute the vegetables, cook the soup and then puree it all in one vessel. For a quick and easy weeknight dinner, pair this hearty lentil soup with our Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
Review 1 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1kitchenWitch
,West Hills
,CA
April 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spell Binding & Delish - They Wanted More
April 17, 2014
People usually "poo-poo" five star ratings; how many recipes can actually be five stars? Well, first, taste is subjective. :) But, this recipe warrents the "kudos."
The smoky Paprika is a must unless you use some sort of "smoke" to replace it. I did make the soup as originally written and then made another batch [they wanted more] and doubled the veggies so that it resembled a stew more than a soup. I ran out of canned tomatoes so I blanched a large beef steak to peel off the skin and diced it up. The bacon and sour cream add a dimension I wasn't prepared for, it's great! Of course if you don't have it on hand, don't worry it's just as tasty. Magnifico!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 2 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Btrflyl8e
,Seminole
,fl
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and super easy!
January 1, 2013
I don't have the soup-making blender so i just wing it in a pot...but that allows me to triple the recipe and freeze in 2 bowl servings. It reheats well in the microwave. It's delicious as written, but I now add some cooking chorizo (cooked and crumbled in the pot first), i also sub Sofrito for the tomato paste. I don't use red lentils anymore, but use a quality lentil from La Tienda (also get the chorizo there) YUM!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hardycooking
,Lexington
,KY
November 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Recipe
November 6, 2012
This recipe was fantastic. I made this with my sister for dinner, and we had just had lentil soup at a restaurant. We loved the soup, and I am about to make it again. I would definitely recommend this recipe for an easy wintery meal.
Pros: Quick, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yankees
,Rochdale
,MA
Rochdale, MA
March 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This soup is addicting!
March 29, 2012
Several times, I have made this soup on the stove. Once I made it with turkey bacon and the last time with 1/2 cup of diced ham. Great to make with leftover Easter ham! My family and company love it!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
56Nine
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceeds expectations...
January 29, 2012
Made the recipe exactly as published, and it was fantastic. Next time I'll do as others and use turkey bacon and yogurt. The smokiness of the paprika really adds to the complex flavors of the soup. I added an additional 1/4 teaspoon, and it was great. I love full flavored dishes...and this did not disappoint. Thanks for the recipe WS!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again