Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Using the Cuisinart soup maker and blender, you can saute the vegetables, cook the soup and then puree it all in one vessel. For a quick and easy weeknight dinner, pair this hearty lentil soup with our Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
Review 1 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1kitchenWitch
,West Hills
,CA
April 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spell Binding & Delish - They Wanted More
April 17, 2014
People usually "poo-poo" five star ratings; how many recipes can actually be five stars? Well, first, taste is subjective. :) But, this recipe warrents the "kudos."
The smoky Paprika is a must unless you use some sort of "smoke" to replace it. I did make the soup as originally written and then made another batch [they wanted more] and doubled the veggies so that it resembled a stew more than a soup. I ran out of canned tomatoes so I blanched a large beef steak to peel off the skin and diced it up. The bacon and sour cream add a dimension I wasn't prepared for, it's great! Of course if you don't have it on hand, don't worry it's just as tasty. Magnifico!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 2 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Btrflyl8e
,Seminole
,fl
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and super easy!
January 1, 2013
I don't have the soup-making blender so i just wing it in a pot...but that allows me to triple the recipe and freeze in 2 bowl servings. It reheats well in the microwave. It's delicious as written, but I now add some cooking chorizo (cooked and crumbled in the pot first), i also sub Sofrito for the tomato paste. I don't use red lentils anymore, but use a quality lentil from La Tienda (also get the chorizo there) YUM!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hardycooking
,Lexington
,KY
November 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Recipe
November 6, 2012
This recipe was fantastic. I made this with my sister for dinner, and we had just had lentil soup at a restaurant. We loved the soup, and I am about to make it again. I would definitely recommend this recipe for an easy wintery meal.
Pros: Quick, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yankees
,Rochdale
,MA
Rochdale, MA
March 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This soup is addicting!
March 29, 2012
Several times, I have made this soup on the stove. Once I made it with turkey bacon and the last time with 1/2 cup of diced ham. Great to make with leftover Easter ham! My family and company love it!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
56Nine
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceeds expectations...
January 29, 2012
Made the recipe exactly as published, and it was fantastic. Next time I'll do as others and use turkey bacon and yogurt. The smokiness of the paprika really adds to the complex flavors of the soup. I added an additional 1/4 teaspoon, and it was great. I love full flavored dishes...and this did not disappoint. Thanks for the recipe WS!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blouzette
,PA
November 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome soup
November 7, 2011
Very filling and great tasting soup. I've made it twice on the stove. Both times it turned out great. It's good by itself and even better with the bacon and sour cream. I've recommended the recipe to all my family.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vmekeba
October 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
October 17, 2011
This is a very easy and flexible recipe. We made several revisions to make it lighter in fat and calories, and still it was very flavorful
1. We used high-quality turkey bacon
2. Reduced the olive oil in half and used a little nonstick cooking spray
3. Used fresh pumpkin instead of carrots (We made the Classic Pumpkin Pie Recipe, as well.)
4.We topped with plain, non-fat yogurt
5. We also used the real smoked bacon bits to add flavor, but reduce fat and calories.
The entire family enjoyed it. Great Recipe.
Review 8 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RoBoMom
,Los Altos
,CA
Los Altos, CA
October 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Soup!
October 16, 2011
Made this soup in my new Cuisinart Blend and Cook SoupMaker blender.. Followed the recipe exactly as written and it was bowl licking delicious! Instead of using sour cream as a topper I used greek yogurt. Next time I may make this on the stove top for a larger batch, so we can freeze some for later. The cuisinart blender is only good for 48 oz of soup...good when you are learning to cook for 2, not so good when you have to cook for 6-8.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deme
,North Potomac
,MD
October 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Wonderful Surprise
October 14, 2011
Wow, this recipe is wonderful. The smoked spanish paprika gave it the right touch. My husband came down stairs because the aroma was calling him. It was easy to make and a joy to eat. Our bellies were pleased. We didn't use sour cream and topped the soup with vegetarian Smart Bacon. This soup is perfect for a fall day.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beautymktg
,New York
,NY
October 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Comfort Food
October 14, 2011
I made this on the stove and used delicious Black Forest thick cut bacon as the garnish. Absolutely yummy in the tummy. Great the next day too - if there are any leftovers! Works well even without the bacon and creme fraiche - for a lower calorie option. This will be a Fall/Winter soup staple for me.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 11 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1Sushidiva
,Washington
,DC
October 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This soup is the truth!
October 14, 2011
I have made this soup several times and it is delicious each and everytime. I use turkey bacon instead of pork bacon. Its nice and hearty.
I do think I will use less chicken broth next time I make it as I would like to have it bit thicker in consistency.. I also made the grown-up grilled cheese sandwiches with seaside cheese instead of cheddar.. and still it is delicious!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 12 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
liloulilou
,phoenix
,az
October 7, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
October 7, 2011
Excellent soup! Made it on the stove and worked perfectly. I skipped the tomato paste, bacon and sour cream because I didn't have them. But that doesn't hurt the soup. On the contrary. It's delicious. No need to add anything else. My 2 kids (2 and 7) wolfed it down!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, taste
Review 13 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ellens
,Denver
,CO
Denver, CO
October 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious and easy
October 7, 2011
This is a very tasty and simple dish that makes a good dinner or lunch entree. The smoked paprika adds an unusual depth of flavor that enhances the bacon or ham. I like the red lentils because they are milder and more tender than brown or green lentils, and this soup displays that aspect well. I also added a 1/4 tsp of smoked hot paprika, and recommend that addition.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 14 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbm750
,NY
,NY
September 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great way to use my smoked paprika!
September 10, 2011
This was really, really good and pretty easy to make. I made this on the stove-top, skipped the blending, and it turned out just fine. My husband and I each had 2 bowls and polished off the pot for dinner tonight. I will have to double this next time for leftovers. Also, we skipped the sour cream, so it was fairly healthy too - I bet turkey bacon would work well too.
Pros: Quick, Kid-Friendly, Healthy
Review 15 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
StephanieW
Orlando, FL
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stovetop Method
August 29, 2011
Our family enjoyed this soup!
I don't have the Soup Maker and Blender - rather, I made this soup on the stovetop with a few changes: (1) cook the vegetables first and add the paprika and tomato paste when you add the lentils, stock, and tomatoes, and (2) use an immersion blender or food processor to blend the soup to the desired consistency. This seemed to work well.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 16 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanasMarketBasket
New York City
August 9, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Soup, Easy and Fun
August 9, 2011
The Cuisinart Soup Maker is almost as simple to use as a slow cooker.
I did not have a carrot, bud did have leftover canned pumpkin, so I tossed that in instead, addng it along with the tomatoes. With the smoky paprika, this made great soup.
Review 17 for Smoky Lentil Soup with Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tany
Ft. Mitchell KY
August 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and good
August 8, 2011
we enjoyed this very easy to make soup. Great fall favor and rich in nutrients. Now my family thinks it is good enough for a holiday celebration.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again