Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust

Perfect for a crowd, this slow-cooked chili is seasoned with a medley of spices and then smoked with a handheld smoking gun just before serving.
Average Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
Review 1 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breezy1
,South Milwaukee
,WI
February 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Real Winner!
February 8, 2013
Entered 3 chilli cookoffs and one all 3 with versions of this recipe. Recommend cooking 4-6 slices of thick smokey bacon and using grease to brown the meat cubes for amazing flavor. If masa is not on hand, Jiffy Corn Muffn Mix works very well. Eat 2 slices of bacon after cooking and crumble remaining and add to chili.
Pros: Impressive
Review 2 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WellingtonWest
,Salem
,MA
September 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spicy Success
September 10, 2011
I've made this recipe a few times. The first time I made it I forgot one whole can of the tomatoes, and that's how I always make it now. Super thick! I skip the entire chip part and use liquid smoke very sparingly as it's easy to overdo.
I do all the initial cooking in a Calphalon dutch oven (available at WS, haha) then transfer to the slow cooker.
The 2/3 cup of chili powder does appear daunting, but it's correct in my opinion.
It's a big recipe. I bring some to friends and freeze some too. If you're still making chili with ground beef, it's time to step up your game.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nama
Montana
May 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
we love chili
May 27, 2011
There's just 2 of us so I cut the recipe by half. I think the chili powder was the right amount. I don't have a smoking gun either, but next time I'm going to try smoked paprika. This was delicious. The carrots and celery gave it a sweeter flavor. I've never been disappointed with any of the recipes I try from you. I don't have your slow cooker, but am really leaning that way. I had a mess from doing the meat with a regular pan.
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
virgie
chino hills ,ca
April 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
one of the best slow cooker recipe
April 8, 2011
it was very easy to make.my kids like it a lot !!!this recipe is a keeper.will definitely make it again .
Review 5 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
holaVanessa
Chicago, IL
March 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Smoky Flavor
March 15, 2011
We used the mesquite chips of the smoking gun, and it added extra depth of flavor to this great chili recipe. We also used a combination of the WS chili powders from their spice collection. Be sure to have cool sour cream and creamy guac on hand to balance the heat. Our Sunday football crowd gave this rave reviews!
Review 6 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
simona
Schnecksville, PA
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a big crowd!
February 15, 2011
This dish was a huge success with my husband. I followed most of the directions (minus the smoking part). The tortilla chip crust completed the dish. My husband and friends raved about it!
Review 7 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AndreaH
Detroit, MI
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Weekend Meal
February 14, 2011
I made this chili and I echo what some others have said about modifying the recipe a bit.
I also agree that there must be a typo about the amt of chili powder. I used 3 tbs instead. I also added 2 tbs of liquid smoke at the end because I don't have the smoker.
I seared my meat and vegetables on the cooktop and then placed them in the slow cooker.
I made this with the WS recipe for gaucamole and served with cornbread. It got rave reviews. It was even better the next day.
I will definitely be making this again and recommend it for a gathering.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chicmamainedh
Sacramento, CA
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Modified Recipe, good results
February 7, 2011
I made this yesterday.it was really good. Here are some modifications I made:
No smoker; don't have it, didn't seem to need it.
I used dried beans and put them in from the beginning, I used a cup each of black and kidney, which is more than the recipe calls for, but the ratio was good.
I browned the meat, but didn't precook the vegetables, I was afraid they would turn to mush in the slow cooker.
The results were great. I cooked on low for 8 hours. Afterwards I put a layer of tortilla chips and cheddar on the top and put it under the broiler for a few minutes. Next time we mae this, we will half the recipe. It barely fit in the slow cooker and I have some in the freezer because it was way too much!
Review 9 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MWEL
Summit
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good and flavorful ~
February 7, 2011
This was great on Super Bowl Sunday but I have to say I think there is a typo in the recipe. I used only 1/3 cup chili powder (very fresh, very hot) vs. the 2/3 cup called for. My guests and I enjoy very spicy food, but 2/3 cup would have rendered the chili inedible.
Review 10 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Trumbull, CT
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rocked the house
February 7, 2011
Had guest over for the superbowl, everyone absolutely loved it. Lots of cheese and chips on top and the beef just fell apart in your mouth! I used the smoking gun and the results kicked it up from great to Awesome...
Review 11 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LalaLou
San Diego, CA
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Husband liked it...even with carrots
February 6, 2011
I made this for Superbowl. Smelled great. Everyone was waiting to try it. Then my husband noticed there were carrots in it. He ate some anyway and, to his surprise, really liked it. I don't have the large slow cooker, so I cooked the meat and veggies in my All-Clad skillet and cooked the chili in my 8QT Calphalon pot on low heat. Didn't smoke it or add chips & cheese to it. I served it with shredded sharp cheddar cheese, quacamole, sour cream, red onion, and cilantro. Very tasty.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AdamG
Kenosha, WI
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great even without the smoking gun!
February 6, 2011
I made this recipe last weekend for some friends and we all raved about it.
I don't have the smoking gun so I just used a smoked cheddar I got from the store.
Great recipe!!!
Review 13 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gregors
Pittsburgh, PA
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoke gun looks cool, but not needed here
February 6, 2011
Although we have the All Clad slow cooker, we didn't have the smoke gun. Instead, we substituted chipotle chili powder for about a quarter of the chili powder called for in the recipe. It added extra spice and a smoky flavor. The beef turned out very tender and delicious. Overall, a pretty easy recipe (other than the amount of cutting required to get the vegetables and garlic ready) that was very good.
My wife and I were the only ones eating it (tons of left overs), but if you made this for a party, I could see not having enough tortilla crust on the top. I'd have some extras ready to go if you have lots of guests.
Review 14 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TBBoyd
NYC
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dull/Boring
February 2, 2011
We used the best of the best ingredients for this, easily a $40+ pot of chili, but the results were disappointing. It lacked taste and had no kick to it. Clearly was not worth the effort, time, cost.
Review 15 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LeChef
AZ
February 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chili has no beans!
February 1, 2011
Good chili has no beans in it!!!
Bean sauce has chilie and beans
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AdamG
Kenosha, WI
Posted February 6, 2011
Boring chili has no beans
I have to disagree with you LeChef. Just because you like chili without beans doesn't mean all chilies have to be this way.
To me, chili without beans is just beef in sauce.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SLM12
IL
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rave Reviews
January 25, 2011
I made this over the weekend. Lots of flavor, easy to make. I did everything in a large pan and transferred it to a crock pot to cook. I added a little liquid smoke at the end. I'm not a fan of the smoky flavor but everyone else liked it. I will probably leave the liquid smoke out next time. It was very good before I put it in, too.
Review 17 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tressaslegacy
Michigan
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Bowl Party Material
January 20, 2011
Substantive chili that has "just enough" of a different taste to make it interesting as well as excellent. Rave reviews from my guests.
Review 18 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Newnan, GA
January 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great "chilly" day chili
January 10, 2011
Made this today. Live in Georgia where we are having very unusual winter weather -- snow & ice. Since I did not have the smoke gun, I added a teaspoon of liquid smoke. It was perfect! Don't have to have all the tools!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
H2olaw
Tampa, Fl
Posted January 21, 2011
liquid smoke
At what point did you add the Liquid Smoke? That's a great tip because I was trying to figure out how to do it without the smoke gun. Thanks!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Smoky Beef Chili with Tortilla Chip Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skippy59
montana
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
this rocks
January 8, 2011
this is the best chili I have ever tasted. It got rave reviews from the guest too. I used 2 tsp. liquid smoke instead of the smoker and added 1 more can of red kidney beans. try it you wont be sorry.