Slow-Cooker Vegetable and Pumpkin Lasagna

When it comes to serving a crowd, there's nothing like lasagna. This festive fall version is a snap to prepare, thanks to our pumpkin pasta sauce. Round out the meal with a tossed green salad and crusty bread.
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Slow-Cooker Vegetable and Pumpkin Lasagna
Review 1 for Slow-Cooker Vegetable and Pumpkin Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDRAD
,San Juan
,PR
September 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Creamy and rich
September 5, 2013
I definitely recommend the bechamel. I usually use it in regular meat lasagna. It makes a creamy and rich sauce. In this one I added some precooked ground turkey "picadillo" to the veggies, otherwise followed the recipe . It was really good. Will make it again.
Pros: Healthy
Review 2 for Slow-Cooker Vegetable and Pumpkin Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chergui
,Denver
,CO
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Slow Cooker Recipe
December 30, 2012
After seeing this recipe in the WS catalog, I just had to try it. However, after reading the reviews, I followed some suggestions, tweaking the recipe and only made half a recipe (2 layers). Changes: omit Bechamel Sauce; add 4 tsp. Italian Seasoning, 2 tsp. Garlic Powder, and 1 tsp. Minced Garlic to the vegetable mixture; add one pound of Mild Italian Sausage (boiled, sliced, and layer with vegie mix); substituted fresh spinach for frozen chopped spinach (for some reason I have more success at draining and squeezing the water out of the frozen chopped spinach); and, substituted the mozzarella for 8oz Kroger's Italian Blend shredded cheese (mozzarella, smoked provolone, romano, parmesan, and asiago combo). Ok, so I really tweaked it. But, I must admit there are very few recipes I follow to a T. If something doesn't sound right to me, I adjust it. Well, anyway, it was picture perfect: not runny, not tough, not bland, JUST YUMMY!!! I would definitely try this with some tweaking.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Slow-Cooker Vegetable and Pumpkin Lasagna
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
,San Diego
,CA
November 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Add spices and more to make this a winner
November 12, 2012
Thanks to the comments on this recipe, I added Thyme, Parsley, and shallots and garlic to the onion mixture, along with some spicey italian chicken sausage and subbing half of the mozarrella for gruyere...without this, it would have been very bland. Not sure why the bechamel sauce is needed in this...next time I'd add more spinach and perhaps kale. All in all, a pricey dish at 34.00 for two jars, but it was yummy after all.
Pros: Yield, Will Make Again, tasty with adds
Cons: Cost, Confusing
Review 4 for Slow-Cooker Vegetable and Pumpkin Lasagna
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Temmie
,Madison
,Wi
November 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed after great anticipation
November 10, 2012
I have never felt so compelled to write a review on a recipe, in fact I think this may be a first! This recipe NEEDS to go back to the test kitchen! 1) it requires a great deal of prep time in the kitchen 2) the consistency is mush for the most part 3) I was creative with spices to enhance the flavor after the dish was in the crock pot brewing. My friend pointed me to the reviews so I quickly sprinkled thyme, garlic, and other spices that did help the final outcome. 4) the recipe is relatively expensive to make and I got the 2 jars of pumpkin Parmesan sauce on sale. I think the reason this dish is "disappointing" is because when one puts the incredible amount of work that goes into it, one is then disappointed with the final outcome. It was if there was too much sauce and cheese for the overall amount of noodles. I was very careful to follow the recipe as I wanted to serve this to friends tomorrow and now will do so with reservation although it looks and tastes okay.
Pros: Appearance, unique
Cons: Complicated, Texture, Lengthy, consistency out of proportion
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Slow-Cooker Vegetable and Pumpkin Lasagna
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
pscooker
,elburn
,il
October 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Taste Good, Looks Horrible
October 30, 2012
Tasted good, but looked like babyfood, which is not appetizing. And, why the slow cooker?? Would be perfect as traditional baked lasagne! Looked like babyfood stew. Maybe use only half the water or no water if you bake traditionally. I added some hans chicken sausage pieces (whole foods) to give it some more protein.
Pros: Healthy, Adaptable
Cons: Complicated, Texture, Lengthy, Appearance
Review 6 for Slow-Cooker Vegetable and Pumpkin Lasagna
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SCCuz
,Hilton head island
,SC
October 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pumpkin No Thanks
October 30, 2012
Disappointed in the flavor and the texture.
Adding extra spices and even some hot sausage still resulted in a bland dish.
The prep time and number of steps required are also factors to take into consideration if you plan to try this recipe.
Cons: Complicated, Texture, Taste, Cost, Lengthy, Appearance
Review 7 for Slow-Cooker Vegetable and Pumpkin Lasagna
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KnittyLizzy
,Salt Lake City
,UT
October 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Good - If you add more spice/flavor!
October 24, 2012
I just made this recipe tonight. Based on the previous review I added fresh thyme, fresh sage, and a bit of garlic. I also mixed gruyere cheese with mozzarella to give it more flavor, and added some kale and zucchini. It turned out delicious! If you just add a few more spices, I think it will turn out great...
I just wish that pumpkin parmesan sauce wasn't so expensive!
Review 8 for Slow-Cooker Vegetable and Pumpkin Lasagna
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JohnnyO
October 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
October 16, 2012
This dish certainly needs more flavor! Very bland and at $17 a jar, you'd think it wouldn't be bland. Followed the recipe to a tee but it still needed more punch to it. It does turn out as the picture shows and it serves a lot of people (>12) but it could use some additional seasoning. Absolutely LOVE the slow cooker! Best one I have ever owned.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance
Cons: Texture, Taste, Yield