Slow-Cooker Shepherd's Pie

Topped with creamy mashed potatoes and filled with chunks of beef and vegetables, this shepherd's pie is comfort food at its best. The dish is made using a slow cooker to streamline preparation.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Slow-Cooker Shepherd's Pie
Review 1 for Slow-Cooker Shepherd's Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
msRUSK
Maplewood, NJ
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gets Better Night After Night
February 12, 2011
Wow! Delicious day one and as leftovers. I was sad to get to the last bite of this savory, rich, flavorful meal. Absolutely filling, tender meat that's melt-in-your-mouth good. Cannot wait to make it again - will be good for a large party of guests. I couldn't find bouquet garni at Whole Foods so I substituted the basic mixed fresh herbs sold in the produce section - worked great.
Review 2 for Slow-Cooker Shepherd's Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GardenGazer
Philadelphia, PA
January 29, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great spin on a classic
January 29, 2011
I've always made the plainer ground beef version (no veg) but this is much more satisfying. I didn't have the mushroom glace on hand so instead I simmered dried porcini mushrooms in about 1/2 - 3/4 cup of water and just let it reduce to about 1/4c. Also minced the mushrooms after straining (a must-do) and added to dish along with the mushroom stock. Worked quite well.
Review 3 for Slow-Cooker Shepherd's Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laurajo
Pittsburgh, PA
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our New Favorite
January 27, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. I've tried it with the beer and without..both are delicious. I have used regular onions chopped...only because I couldn't find the pearl onions. Still delicious. It's becoming a once a week
meal in our home.
Review 4 for Slow-Cooker Shepherd's Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveToCookLoveToEat
Southern California
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Divine Shepherd's Pie!!
January 8, 2011
We loved this recipe. The end result was a mouth watering, savory dish with a complex flavor that I don't think could be achieved without a slow cooker or with ground meat. Thank you Williams-Sonoma for this delicious recipe!
Review 5 for Slow-Cooker Shepherd's Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lola4u
california
December 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME!!!!!
December 7, 2010
this recipe is wonderful!! i made it for the first time today.
last min. and not willing to hit the grocery store up for the bouquet, i used what fresh and dry herbs i had. the stout beer is a nice touch and the glace (williams sonoma $29...ouch!) was very good and added that great color, flavor and texture to the recipe. i do have to say that ive been just as satisfied with other store bought demi glace in the past that cost a fraction of $29. bottom line is this recipe is awesome!! i recomend that you spend the money and get the all clad slow cooker with the cast aluminum insert.... thats the real secret to excellet crock pot recipies!!
Review 6 for Slow-Cooker Shepherd's Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jrspinz44
Ormond Beach Fl.
December 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!!
December 5, 2010
I've used ground meat in the past for similar recipes. This one makes it extra special using cubed meat and makes an impressive presentation. My 8 guests were delighted with this outstanding dish!!
Review 7 for Slow-Cooker Shepherd's Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ukmomemma
East Greenwich, RI
November 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cottage pie not Shepherds
November 24, 2010
This dish is yummy I grew up with this in my home land uk.
This dish contains beef, therefore it is COTTAGE PIE.
Shepherds is made with SHEEP (lamb). Also a yummy dish