Slow-Cooker Braised Lamb Shanks

Braised in a slow cooker, these lamb shanks are falling-off-the-bone tender. Serve with buttery egg noodles, mashed potatoes or creamy polenta to soak up the flavorful sauce.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Slow-Cooker Braised Lamb Shanks
Review 1 for Slow-Cooker Braised Lamb Shanks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
silverlakewolf27
,Brooklyn
,NY
November 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very easy, great end result
November 15, 2013
I just made this tonight, and as I don't usually review, I just have to. The meat fell of the bonnneeee, guys, so soft, so tender, so moist!! I do agree with other reviewers that it is a little bland, even though I only cooked for 2 (2 shanks) and kept all the original spices level. I tripled the garlic, add an extra rosemary tsp. I am however quite modest with my salt (which made a few of my dishes nightmarish) so that could be the problem. I'll def try this again with more spices tho!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Slow-Cooker Braised Lamb Shanks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KatietheCook
,Olympia
,WA
October 6, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent method, needs some tweaks though
October 6, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe, but after trying it a couple times we have found some tweaks that we think improve it. First, using beef broth instead of chicken broth makes a bolder flavor. Second, double the garlic and the fresh thyme. Third, add an extra tablespoon of tomato paste. Finally, instead of fresh tomato, I use 1 can of petite diced tomatoes and the liquid. In my 6 qt. slow cooker with 8 shanks and a double batch of liquid and veggies, they meat was falling off the bone after 4 hours on high. I turned off the slow cooker, removed the shanks, strained the liquid and poured it through a gravy strainer to remove the fat and then returned the veggies and liquid to the slow cooker. I pureed it with a stick blender and then put the shanks back in and left it on low for another hour until we were ready to eat.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
HughL
San Fernando Valley, CA.
Posted June 15, 2014
Practical
I like people who are practical and your being practical is borne out by your suggestions especially the use of the canned tomatoes. It's more rapid and accomplishes more easily the recipe at hand.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Slow-Cooker Braised Lamb Shanks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CalGal53
,Sacramento
,CA
May 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bland bland bland
May 13, 2013
I would recommend the basics of this recipe, but with reservations. First off, lamb shanks do not fit into a normal-size slow cooker (duh) Even if you stuff them in, the lid wont fit on top. . That said, if someone has a slow-cooker that can handle a turkey, this is a decent if bland recipe. Regardless, it needs spicing up. As written it is boring boring boring. I jazzed up the sauce by reducing it with red wine and butter and adding herbs de provence. Still not a winner by any means. But the meat indeed fell off the bone, even with the bones sticking out the top of the slow cooker. Won't try this again. Too labor intensive for mediocre results.
Review 4 for Slow-Cooker Braised Lamb Shanks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CloudNineCook
,Charleston
,SC
March 31, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So easy and so Delicous
March 31, 2013
I have made this a few times. I really think the red wine does so much for the bouquet and flavoring of this dish. Use fresh herbs if you have them. You can use this recipe for leg of lamb as well. As they say, it will fall off the bone. It's easy to make and your lamb loving guests will savor the memory
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost
Review 5 for Slow-Cooker Braised Lamb Shanks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dizzo
,Valley Center
,CA
February 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and really, really good
February 25, 2013
After reading the reviews I was worried this would turn out bland. I used extra celery and fresh thyme, I added fresh rosemary, and I used a can of italian style diced tomatoes (liquid included) instead of fresh - I always use Del Monte because they are very sweet... I didn't puree the sauce till smooth - I left chunks. it was absolutely delicious and very flavorful, the meat fell off the bone. I served it with plain whipped potatoes. It's very quick to prep. I will definitely make this again.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Slow-Cooker Braised Lamb Shanks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VioletO
,San Jose
,CA
November 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Would be better with Mashed Potatoes
November 3, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty close and it produced 5 cups of fluid. More than I expected or could use. I plan to reduce the left over sauce and use it with a leg of lamb roast. Four shanks only fed 2 of us.
I think mashed potatoes would have been much more suitable for the sauce.
The recipe photo shows noodles but recommends polenta.
Review 7 for Slow-Cooker Braised Lamb Shanks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Norcaltraveler
,Santa Rosa
,CA
Santa Rosa, Ca
May 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always a winner!
May 3, 2012
This recipe is a great way to make guests believe I am a better cook than I really am. It is almost cheating to get such a nice meal with so little effort. The only thing I changed was the tomato paste. I use the full 6 oz. can because I cannot stand the waste factor. I serve the dish with creamy polenta
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost