Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits

Chock-full of chicken, chanterelle mushrooms and other vegetables, this savory stew is braised in a slow cooker, then topped with herb-flecked biscuits and baked in the oven until golden brown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
11 of 15(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
Review 1 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,west linn
,or
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
homecoming!
January 6, 2012
I am all about good food! This is the most comfort-food dish one can make! I didn't find it to be extra labor-intensive because most of my cooking requires the work. Love the Chanterells!!!! My 15 year old daughter was in heaven!! Single ladies...if you want to hook a worthy man, make this for him!!!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mummy
,Las Vegas
,NV
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comforting
September 8, 2011
O.k. so there is a lot of butter in the recipe. The depth of flavors and richness this dish produces is delicious. If you were to have this dish in a five star restaurant it would receive all the raves. If you eat healthy on a regular basis then you will not mind the extra love this dish provides. It is truly a warm blanket on a cold day. However veggies were undercooked, they probably should be parboiled ahead of putting them into the recipe.
Pros: Will Make Again
Cons: technical
Review 3 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauralH
Williamstown, MA
September 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read all reviews...then made recipe.
September 3, 2011
This recipe is terrific. I took note to address in my mind the issues others had with it. I can say that my fiance gave it 5 stars too and with the smile on his face, I knew it was a keeper. The flavor is delicious, I loved the pearl onions, the demi-glace really intensifies the over all flavor even with all the butter which was not a problem for me ( not a low cal meal). I do agree the cooking time needs to be extended, I checked the carrots and potatoes every hour and found the cooking time should be more like 3.5 to 4 hours to have them not be firm unless you pre-cook which can be tricky not to have them over done. Prepping the veggies, chicken and biscuit dough ahead can save time on the actual cooking day if you have guests. To be sure you don't have a "soupy" sauce, make sure the flour is the right amount and be sure to let it "sit" at the end to thicken. This dish is going in my WS recipe book for sure. We loved it!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Will Make Again, rich and hearty
Cons: Unhealthy, time consuming if no prep done
Review 4 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arcticalaskagirl
Albuquerque
August 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bring the family home to this meal!!!
August 11, 2011
This recipe took some love to prepare, but it was worth it!!! The smell while it was slow cooking was so delish. Then the Herbed Biscuits with Pamesano Reggiano!!! Need I say more?
I will be making this recipe all fall and winter, I am sure of it. This is the kind of recipe that will keep my children (7 and 11) coming home for dinner for years to come!!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Will Make Again, very inviting and homey
Cons: Lengthy, lots of butter!!!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mkelly415
nj
June 8, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
low carb version-very easy
June 8, 2011
Easy to make this with low carb since most of ingredients are already low carb. Left out the potatoes, and used a low carb flour. made biscuits separate from dish and made low carb cheese biscuits with carbquick mix. they both came out delicious
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, low carb version
Cons: none
Review 6 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sarbarr
San Rafael, CA
June 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good flavor but too much butter and veggies raw
June 7, 2011
The flavor was nice, chicken perfect and herbs/veggies and biscuits balanced each other well.
However, two complaints - instead of taking 2 hours and 25 minutes to cook, this recipe too more like 4 hours to cook. I am not sure why the recipe does not suggest softening the potatoes or carrots before cooking since they were basically still uncooked 2 hours into cooking...
I also do not understand why so much butter? Made me ill to think that there was so much butter in this recipe, not sure why it is necessary....
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Appearance, great flavor
Cons: Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 7 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BleuberryMuffin
Las Vegas
May 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Modern Twist on Chicken and Dumplings
May 18, 2011
Made this on a cold day and it was nice and hardy as well as warming. I would also compare this meal to a Deconstructed Chicken Pot Pie. The meal was very easy to make.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
charcharblandie
Modesto CA
May 17, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Comfort Food
May 17, 2011
Perfect dinner after a day of chilliness. I skipped the biscuits, used gluten free flour, reduced potatoes in half and plan to reduce the butter next time. Worth the effort and might even add a few more veggies. Give this recipe a chance!!
Pros: flavorful
Review 9 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HeidiH
May 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Sunday Dinner
May 1, 2011
Though it was involved it turned out great. I took the review suggestions and halved the butter/flour and cooked it on my stove top in a dutch oven versus a slow cooker. The lower amount of butter ( and corresponding flour) made it saucier but not soup like. We all loved it. The parsley and chives were listed twice and I had to read the recipie through again to remember that they were for BOTH the biscuits and chicken dumpling mix.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 10 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
QuiltnRN
Hayward, CA
April 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but Recipe needs Alteration
April 28, 2011
Liked the recipe and the end product but the recipe needs alteration. First, one cup of butter seems like overkill. Would definitely reduce this in the future. Second, followed the directions and place the mixture in my crock pot for 2 hours on high. Veggies were just as raw as when I put them in there. Had to put the mixture in a dutch oven and cook on the stove for 30 minutes. Simplified the herb biscuits by making the dough in the food processor. They came out great. Lastly, once the biscuits were placed on top of the chicken mixture in the dutch oven, they only required cooking time in the oven of 10-15 min. Overall, would try this recipe again.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, great comfort food
Cons: Complicated, Unhealthy
Review 11 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ATLCOOK123
Marietta, GA
April 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ugh too rich
April 23, 2011
very disappointed with this recipe. Too rich and too bland. Big waste of $$ .
Cons: Complicated, Cost, Confusing, Unhealthy, Ingredients, Lengthy
Review 12 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jellysquare
Tehachapi CA
April 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Missing ingredients
April 9, 2011
The print catalog recipe lists 1-1/2 cups peas, 1/4 cup each parsley and chives in the ingredient list, but the on-line version does not, which I printed out and was working with. A tasty recipe, but you need to play with the amounts, especially the butter, flour and broth, you don't need all that butter. Which is why I don't recommend the recipe, because you have to mess with it. Since the finished recipe is displayed in soup cups, I guess it is supposed to be "soupy," which it is with 5 cups of stock.
Pros: Adaptable
Cons: Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 13 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cuinnbee
Los Angeles, CA
March 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too much FAT!
March 28, 2011
I am absolutely baffled as to why W.S. recommends adding 1 cup of butter to this recipe. That's right...16 tblspns equals 1 whole cup!! Instead of adding this I would have reserved 1 cup of broth and added the cup of flour to it in a sauté pan and then added that to the crock pot. In this day and age of people trying to eat healthier and high cholesterol why in the world W.S. would recommend this!? It is totally unnecessary to make this recipe good. Another alternative would be to us some low fat/low sodium cream of chicken soup.
Cons: Unhealthy
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tristan
St. Petersburg FL
Posted April 5, 2011
Of course it's not Healthy! It's Not Supposed to B
Not every recipe is a "healthy" recipe. Do you criticize their cake and dessert recipes for having too much fat as well? This is a comfort food recipe and is not meant to be healthy!!! We made it tonight and thought that it was absolutely delicious. One recommendation is that you use the salt and pepper sparingly, just enough to meld into the flavors, but let individuals season their own portions. Each round of "cooking" in this recipe calls for salt and pepper. It can add up to be too much.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RandyP
Conroe, TX
March 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious comfort food...
March 28, 2011
This makes an outstanding chicken stew and the biscuits are a tasty subsitution for dumplings. The gravy is rich and flavorful. I substituted fresh Wild Yellowfoot Mushrooms for the chanterelles as they are of the same family, color and taste but are 1/4 the price of chanterelles, otherwise I made the recipe exactly as directed and it was a big hit! A definite keeper. Do allow yourself some time for prep and getting it together. The stew would also make a great starter for chicken pot pie.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 15 for Slow-Cooked Chicken with Herbed Biscuits
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Swarley
Minneapolis, MN
March 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One Pot Comfort Food
March 24, 2011
This recipe was very easy to make with lots of vegetables included. The biscuits were easy to make and were delicious. A bit too much butter, but I just didn't add it all.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again