Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages

This one-pot meal is prepared in a Cuisinart multicooker, which allows you to brown the ingredients and then slowly cook them, all in the same vessel. Soaking the dried beans overnight ensures they cook evenly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
Review 1 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katiesmom
,New Albany
,in
louisville, ky
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful cold weather meal!
October 26, 2013
I was looking for something to make for dinner that didn't require a trip to the grocery. I found this and thought it sounded alright. Boy was I wrong, it was wonderful! I would serve this company, just don't skip on the breadcrumbs. They add a wonderful flavor boost and texture.
After reading the reviews I was a little worried about the cooking time. I used northern beans b/c my grocery doesn't carry dried cannellini beans. I soaked them over night then cooked them in my slow cooker on low for about 6 hours. The beans were perfect. My slow cooker has different setting options than the ones described in the recipe. I'm assuming the simmer setting would be equivalent to the high setting on mine because on low the shortest setting option is 6 hours, 3 hours on high. However long it takes to cook the beans, it's worth it. My family including my 4 year old is already asking me to make this again.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
djdnice
,detroit
,mi
May 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A crowd pleaser
May 4, 2012
Cannellini beans, like other kidney beans need to be boiled for 10 minutes to remove toxins that cause gastric distress. It also helps to soften and cut down on the cook time. Soak them overnight in plain water, hard boil 10 minutes, drain, and then add to your other ingredients. In doing this the beans and sausages will be perfect. I used vegetable stock, diced tomatoes with the juice. My husband who does not like bean recipes ate this one! Bon Appetite.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefintraining
,VA
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cold Night Goodness
January 22, 2012
I guess I am one of the lucky ones - I prepared this dish as outlined and it was wonderful- My husband is not a bean eater but he loved this dish-the only changes I made was slow cooked for 4 hours instead of 3 then the 30 minutes for the tomatoes-served with toasted slice french bread-glass of wine and the cold night made it the perfect meal. This recipe is a keeper
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jahh
January 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
better the second time around
January 15, 2012
This soup is delicious. I used the beans offered by Williams Sonoma with excellent results. We froze what was left and when we reheated the soup is was even better. Highly recommend it if you like this sort of thing. Jo Anne
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again, good for men
Review 5 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Knowsbeans
El Centro, CA
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dry beans need more cooking
August 29, 2011
The recipe would be great, except for the instruction to cook with the soaked, dried cannellini beans at simmer setting for "about 3 hours". The beans, to be properly cooked, needed a higher setting and several more hours, thus the sausage ended up mushy. Try pre-cooked beans instead.
Cons: recipe error
Review 6 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cabill
Pennsylvania
July 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big score with the family
July 13, 2011
For my family of 4 we've gotten two full meals and 2 individual lunch servings. I read review that mentioned bland flavor so I substituted all free range chicken stock and did not use water. Also, substituted andouille sausage in place of 1/2 of the kielbasa. Added cooked jasmine rice that complemented base flavor and really completed the meal. Excellent recipe to "jazz" from.
Pros: Yield, Adaptable, all kinds of personal taste possibilities
Cons: busy preparation
Review 7 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alita
San Francisco
July 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Go for canned, cooked cannellini
July 10, 2011
Yes, it's cheating....but I have time and time again tried to cook dishes like this with dry beans and after several failed recipes found it's just not worth the time wasted on it. I washed the beans to get rid of the preservatives. Only took 2 hours. Also added 6 cloves of garlic instead of just 3 and threw in some fresh basil. Also switched out the sausage for local butcher's basil and garlic Italian style, which was extremely complementive. I didn't end up adding any salt, but that may have had to do with using chicken Better Than Boullion than just chicken stock. Either way, don't follow the recipe to a tee (I almost never do) and put your own flare to it. I found it reduced nicely to a thick consistently and was the perfect amount for two with a little leftover.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
emma54
Boston, Ma
July 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great summer supper
July 9, 2011
I ran home and made this from the review on the internet. I brought it to a friends house for supper, very easy to travel with in a crock pot. It was a very warm summer night. The bread was a big hit along with it too! Thanks!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gr8Cook
Encinitas, CA
June 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An alternative to dried beans!
June 7, 2011
I do plan to make this and am looking forward to a delicious meal. For the cook who couldn't get the dried cannellini beans to fully cook, you might want to try borlotti beans, also known as cranberry beans. I soak them for about 8 hours and they are edible even before cooking them. They are a great alternative for dried beans in most soups and one pot meals. You can find them at Whole Foods.
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable
Review 10 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boberl
Baltimore, MD
May 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tough Beans
May 13, 2011
A fine recipe for what looks to be a great meal if I ever get to eat it.
The recipe calls for dried canellini beans rinsed, soaked overnight and drained.
It then calls for the slow cooker on low setting to cook the beans in about three hours.
I soaked the beans for nearly 18 hours and have had them on high in the slow-cooker for 4 1/2 hours and counting.
It's going to be very late before I get to test the recipe. I hope I'll like it.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Joecal
Limerick, pa
Posted June 20, 2011
Simmer not low
Simmer is the hottest setting on multicooker for slow cook. Instructions say 3 hours equal 6 hours on low.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HBuist
Utah
May 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice to Try Something New!
May 9, 2011
My fiance and I both really liked this dish! I sauted everything in a pan then transferred all to my slow cooker. I added salt & pepper before slow cooking it (because there was a comment that suggested more flavor was needed) and also used 3 cans cannellini beans (drained & rinsed) because I couldn't find any dry beans. Then slow cooked it for about 3 hours, adding the diced tomatoes 30 min. before dish was done as suggested. I will make this dish again!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Cactus
New Mexico mountains
Posted July 10, 2011
I live in high altitude and have very hard time getting beans to soften from soaking. Canned beans great idea.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JessicaRVA
Richmond, Va
April 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good base, but lacking in depth and flavor
April 24, 2011
While I enjoyed the ease of being able to use a slow cooker, my husband and I agreed that this dish was not particularly flavorful. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but I felt like it was missing something...(salt, for one)
If I make this again, I think it would benefit from additional herbs, more garlic, and a higher ratio of stock to water. Also...bacon never hurt anybody....
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Healthy, Adaptable
Cons: rather bland
Review 13 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SouthShoreCook
Hingham, MA
April 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally a flavorful slow cooker recipe!
April 18, 2011
Yummy, Hearty. Comforting. Followed this recipe exact and found it was well received. There was less broth than I expected and see that there will be none for the leftovers -- will have to add more chicken broth. Will make again as this is one of the few slow cooker recipes I've enjoyed.
Note: beans were a bit too soft for may taste, so the cooking time would probably been cut back but at least 30 min, if beans were soaked overnight as instructed.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 14 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynnie318
Enfield, CT
April 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Saturday Night Comfort Food
April 16, 2011
This was one of the tastiest slow cooker meals I've had. I put it on, went about I busy Saturday, came home to a delicous dinner. It was very easy to make and I've given the recipe to friends and family. Good going Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again