Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages

This one-pot meal is prepared in a Cuisinart multicooker, which allows you to brown the ingredients and then slowly cook them, all in the same vessel. Soaking the dried beans overnight ensures they cook evenly.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
Review 1 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katiesmom
,New Albany
,in
louisville, ky
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful cold weather meal!
October 26, 2013
I was looking for something to make for dinner that didn't require a trip to the grocery. I found this and thought it sounded alright. Boy was I wrong, it was wonderful! I would serve this company, just don't skip on the breadcrumbs. They add a wonderful flavor boost and texture.
After reading the reviews I was a little worried about the cooking time. I used northern beans b/c my grocery doesn't carry dried cannellini beans. I soaked them over night then cooked them in my slow cooker on low for about 6 hours. The beans were perfect. My slow cooker has different setting options than the ones described in the recipe. I'm assuming the simmer setting would be equivalent to the high setting on mine because on low the shortest setting option is 6 hours, 3 hours on high. However long it takes to cook the beans, it's worth it. My family including my 4 year old is already asking me to make this again.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
djdnice
,detroit
,mi
May 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A crowd pleaser
May 4, 2012
Cannellini beans, like other kidney beans need to be boiled for 10 minutes to remove toxins that cause gastric distress. It also helps to soften and cut down on the cook time. Soak them overnight in plain water, hard boil 10 minutes, drain, and then add to your other ingredients. In doing this the beans and sausages will be perfect. I used vegetable stock, diced tomatoes with the juice. My husband who does not like bean recipes ate this one! Bon Appetite.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefintraining
,VA
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cold Night Goodness
January 22, 2012
I guess I am one of the lucky ones - I prepared this dish as outlined and it was wonderful- My husband is not a bean eater but he loved this dish-the only changes I made was slow cooked for 4 hours instead of 3 then the 30 minutes for the tomatoes-served with toasted slice french bread-glass of wine and the cold night made it the perfect meal. This recipe is a keeper
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Slow-Cooked Cannellini Beans and Sausages
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jahh
January 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
better the second time around
January 15, 2012
This soup is delicious. I used the beans offered by Williams Sonoma with excellent results. We froze what was left and when we reheated the soup is was even better. Highly recommend it if you like this sort of thing. Jo Anne
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again, good for men