Sizzling Shrimp with Garlic (Gambas al Pil Pil)

Youll want to have plenty of bread on hand to capture the delicious pan juices from these garlicky crustaceans. This Basque tapa, called gambas al ajillo in other parts of Spain, is traditionally served at the table sizzlingpil pileandoin a little metal pan. Sherry or lemon juice is not always used, but either one adds a nice contrast to the richness of the oil and garlic. You can easily substitute squid, cut into rings 1/2 inch wide, or sea or bay scallops for the shrimp. Gambas al-i-pebre, a variation with garlic and hot red pepper from the Albufera region of Valencia, has a more substantial sauce of rich fish stock thickened with fried bread, ground almonds and pine nuts. It is quite filling and is thus usually served as a main course. This same peppery variation was originally made with eel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sizzling Shrimp with Garlic (Gambas al Pil Pil)
Review 1 for Sizzling Shrimp with Garlic (Gambas al Pil Pil)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BonBon826
,Palmdale
,CA
February 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great as Apetizer or Main Course
February 26, 2013
This recipe was amazing! The one thing we noticed was that the sauce needs longer to cook in order for the spices to incorporate. Recommend either cooking shrimp separately (to prevent over-cooking) or start sauce earlier and adding shrimp. It was great with bread for dipping and would be excellent with either rice or noodles.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Sizzling Shrimp with Garlic (Gambas al Pil Pil)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
texasyankee
,austin
,tx
February 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Sauce
February 20, 2013
I used bay scallops instead of shrimp and 1/4 cup of chardonnay instead of the sherry and served over penne. Geat sauce...Definitely will do again,
Pros: Quick, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Sizzling Shrimp with Garlic (Gambas al Pil Pil)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SAMom
,San Antonio
,TX
October 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Awful!
October 25, 2012
I followed the instructions exactly except I omitted the red pepper flakes. I'm not sure if that omission contributed to the terrible finished product but my husband and I couldn't eat it! The paprika was over powering and made it unpalatable! I love WS recipes and was so disappointed! Honestly, it smelled wonderful and looked great until I added the paprika. I absolutely do NOT recommend this recipe as is!
Cons: Taste, Ingredients
Review 4 for Sizzling Shrimp with Garlic (Gambas al Pil Pil)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chocolattez
,Closter
,NJ
Northern New Jersey
May 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Flavor and Easy to Make
May 1, 2012
Made this for a Shower and it was the hit of the day!! Not a speck left!! I reduced the hot pepper flakes a bit and it was excellent... so easy easy easy to make!!! It is definitely a keeper and the flavor was amazing... loved the sherry, lemon, paprika garlic combination... to die for... will definitely make this again...and again.....
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, flavorful
Review 5 for Sizzling Shrimp with Garlic (Gambas al Pil Pil)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaLa728
,Greenville
,SC
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOWWW!! Easy and GOOD!
April 29, 2012
This was SOOO good!
I made pasta to serve with it and after that was cooked, I put it in the skillet where I had cooked the shrimp, added a bit of the sauce, some butter, some chives, and let that cook for a bit. Together, it was amazing!
Easy to make, simple ingredients that I always have on hand - I'll be making this often!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Sizzling Shrimp with Garlic (Gambas al Pil Pil)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCMom56
,North Canton
,OH
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's a keeper
April 29, 2012
Made this tonight using scallops. I also omitted the sherry since I didn't have it and also don't care for it. It was still delicious and my husband declared it a keeper. We had a nice crusty bread and risotto with it. I will definitely make this again.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again