Short Ribs Braised with Barolo

In Piedmont, cooks often slow-cook beef in Barolo, the famous red wine of the region. Rich, full-bodied and complex, it is known as the king of Italian wines.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Short Ribs Braised with Barolo
Review 1 for Short Ribs Braised with Barolo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NazarethMama
,Nazareth
,PA
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Winter Comfort Meal
February 11, 2013
This recipe turned out delicious. We used bacon instead of pancetta and just a cheap red wine instead of a Barolo (saved that for drinking with dinner!) We cooked the ribs in our Le Creuset for 4 hours in a 300° oven as we did not have a removable insert for the slow cooker. The meat just fell off of the bone! Served it with mashed potatoes and the extra gravy was so rich and perfect over top. The bonus was how amazing the house smelled while it was cooking. Will definitely make this again next winter.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Short Ribs Braised with Barolo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Courriere
Courriere, Belgium
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good recipe for a warm hearty meal
January 9, 2011
Good recipe, works with osso buco-type cuts as well. I found it necessary to add a bit of stock at the end when reducing the sauce, and some cream because it was a bit too "winey". Serving with polenta is absolutely key - noodles or pasta or rice would be too bland, you need the richness and saltiness of polenta made with lots of Parmesan.
Review 3 for Short Ribs Braised with Barolo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Osprey
Heart is in Seattle, body is in Caribbean for now.
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Becoming a Tradition
December 23, 2010
Christmas Eve Dinner year after year, we host either family or close friends and serve up these short ribs, and it is an evening we always look forward to. Several hours in the slow cooker, the entire house is consumed with incredible aromas of beef, wine, garlic, and vegetables...welcoming guests and setting up a special evening time after time. The ribs become so tender, and the leftover sauce goes great with almost any type of starch. Tasty, tasty, tasty!
Review 4 for Short Ribs Braised with Barolo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kele
Sarasota, FL
December 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just a great recipe
December 3, 2010
Every time I make this it gets rave reviews. It has all the basics that make for great flavors. Perfect for a small dinner party. It's all done before anyone gets there so you can enjoy being with them.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Short Ribs Braised with Barolo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandisez
Buffalo,NY
May 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Short Ribs
May 16, 2010
These are the tastiest short ribs you'll ever have.
The recipe is easy to follow and absolutely fool proof. I made them for a small dinner party and they were a Big Hit!
I substituted a Ripasso wine for the Barolo and they were still fabulous.
Review 6 for Short Ribs Braised with Barolo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
louie1a
boynton beach, florida
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
braised short ribs in the slow cooker
May 14, 2010
this was the first recipe i attempted after I bought the slow cooker with the all-clad insert.
it was a great recipe , easy to prepare, thanks to the versatility of the all-clad insert and it met with rave reviews. my guests are still talking about the braised short ribs and begging for more.
the only difficulty was finding borola wine and when i did, it was a bit pricey for cooking. i substituted another Italian red wine and I think the recipe held up with the substitution.
And I loved it too.
Review 7 for Short Ribs Braised with Barolo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cosykitchen
Toronto Ontario, Canada
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shortribs for a Winter's Dinner
May 14, 2010
I made and served this on a blustery and cold winter evening for a pre-Christmas get together with close friends. A bit time consuming to make (and Barolo wine is quite expensive, but a robust red really does this dish justice), but the results were...well, when it was served, there wasn't a peep out of anyone except the odd, "Mmmm's." Tender "falling off the bone" succulent, bursting with layers of flavours and served with mashed potatoes and vegetables, made for a delicious and memorable dinner. This is one of the BEST dishes I have made in a long time and is now definitely a favourite in my repetoire. The leftovers are just as good and what is left over, freezes well, too. Thank you, Williams Sonama, for such a delish recipe!