Short Rib Wellington Potpie

Inspired by classic beef Wellington, which features a beef tenderloin encased in puff pastry, we created this recipe for a homey potpie. Beef short ribs are braised with mushrooms and pearl onions in a savory stock-wine mixture. Then the dish is topped with puff pastry and baked until golden brown. It makes an impressive main course for a casual gathering with friends.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
20 of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
Review 1 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnotherWSFan
,Louisville
,CO
Boulder, CO
August 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding
August 1, 2013
Made just as published. Fantastic results. One guest still drools whenever I offer to make it for his birthday. Clearly in the category "sometimes food", it will stick to your ribs, for sure.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 2 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel007
,Orange County
,CA
December 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Welington recipe!
December 14, 2012
We love this dish!! I have made it both ways, using my dutch oven pot only to using my dutch oven to prepare but finishing individual wellingtons in souffle dishes. I usually do a layer of mashed potatoes at the bottom of the souffle dishes, top with the finished wellington mixture and then the puff pastry on top before final bake. I have always used beef (not short ribs) such as new york strip roast or rib eye roast, cut into bite sized pieces. Also, I use the mushroom demi glaze if I don't have the beef demi glace on hand! It comes out great everytime!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lminne
,North arlington
,No
September 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort food
September 29, 2012
The best dish I have made ... A bit of work but well worth it!!! True crowd pleaser!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 4 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bluedaisy
,Wakefield
,Ma
August 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the effort!
August 30, 2012
I made this during the winter last year and it was amazing! I actually made it in individual portions so everyone had their own potpie. It took a bit of work but well worth it for a special occasion or a nice Sunday dinner. I have been trying new recipes every Sunday like my mother used to years ago and this is one I will make again and again!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost
Review 5 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jointchief
,Cupertino
,CA
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Casual or elegant
June 23, 2012
Made this recipe for Christmas dinner last year and the whole family loved it. It was a fun to do a rustic looking meal with my formal china and crystal stemware... the contrast was fun and unexpected. Going online to print recipe to make again and loved other reviewers suggestions to add diff. veggies, etc. Have made before with pie dough, just to see, and puff pastry was definitely better.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 6 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
romanticf16
,Commerce Township
,MI
April 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
for our next dinner part in the Fall
April 21, 2012
I made this dish from a recipe my wife had clipped from a magazine adv from Le Cruset. The only ingredient I didn't have was the demi glace- I added Kitchen Bouquet for color and Worchester Sauce for complexity. I cooked the ribs one day, then cooled them and degreased, then added the puff pastry and rebaked the next evening.This is the first meal I've ever seen my wife enjoy with leftovers for 3 days in a row! It will be the basis for a FOODIE Dinner Party for 12 this comming Fall. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, fine dining quality, worth the effort to prepare
Cons: Complicated, Cost, lots of prep and clean up
Review 7 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joylou
February 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awesome flavor
February 12, 2012
Boneless short ribs were not available so substituted skirt steak at the suggestion of my butcher. The meat was so tender. I used the cookware suggested and was perfect. Used low sodium beef broth, and regulated salt to taste. Had difficulty preparing puff pastry then transferring; next time will try placing on pot then scoring. Served with homemade gnocchi with gorgonzola my daughter made while I prepped this. Served with a bold red wine. 5 people served with healthy seconds; not one bite was left; so delish!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 8 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefkath
,Flanders
,nj
Flanders, nj
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Triple A comfort food
January 31, 2012
Anyone who cooks often knows short ribs take time to cook. That being said, this recipe has layers of flavors that satiate the comfort crave you're looking for. I added cooked peas, parsnips and carrots when the meat was finished and put it into my mini pie maker. Served another batch on the side with soup. Would be a great filling for mini puff pastry cups as an appetizer for football. KEEPER!!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, short ribs can be expensive for not so much meat
Review 9 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ruthmarie
,Senoia
,GA
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful comfort food
January 12, 2012
Taste and texture excellent. Great receipe for a couple to prepare together. Prep work ahead of time really makes the actual cooking and combining of ingredients speedy. (We substituted the prosciutto with bacon cubed up) We could tell that the dutch oven was going to be too large so after everything was cooked, we transferred it to a 2qt round casserole dish. Perfect for the puff pastry! Before placing the pastry over the food we used the lid of the casserole dish to measure and make sure we had stretched the pastry out enough to cover everything. We're anxious to offer it when we have our next dinner club.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 10 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maboyla
,Bozeman
,MT
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pastry challenge
December 28, 2011
Have tried this recipe twice and the recipe does not fill the dutch oven full enough and the pastry drops, absorbs the grease and tears when extended the diameter of the rim. suggestions welcomed.
Cons: Complicated
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
bluedaisy
Boston, MA
Posted September 25, 2012
I had the same problem
I just wanted to let you know that I had the same problem but decided to use individual pot pies instead. It was nice because everyone had their own individual pie. I hope this suggestion helps, it's a complicated recipe but I think it is well worth it, it made the house smell amazing on a cold winter in New England!
0points
Customer avatar
ChefSarah
Los Angeles, CA
Posted January 9, 2012
Pastry solution
I've made this twice and the second time just before putting on the pastry, I transferred the innards to a pyrex that was smaller, put the pastry on top, baked it in the 400 degree oven and voila! It worked perfectly!
I also recommend tasting before adding salt ... the prosciutto can be very salty. Or perhaps I used too much salt and pepper on the short ribs before browning them.
Yummy recipe!!!
0points
Customer avatar
NJGranny
Basking Ridge, NJ
Posted January 6, 2012
I have a great solution to the Big Pot problem
Hi Maboyla,
I, too, was a little concerned about the size of my pot and whether of not the recipe would fill it. I made individual pot pies! I filled the individual little pots to the brim and covered them with the puff pastry, brushed them with egg mixture, cut little slits in them and they came out wonderfully!
I am making them again for my son's birthday tomorrow. He is really looking forward to them and my grandsons will have their own little pot pies!
BTW, I added carrots.
Wahoo!
0points
Customer avatar
IreneT
Washington, DC
Posted January 4, 2012
Pastry challenge
You can do individual portions instead. My dutch over was too large to even try the crust directly on the pot, so after I took the dutch oven out of the oven I served the short ribs and sauce into individual oven-safe bowls, and did a crust for each bowl.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 11 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dhross
,Farmington Hills
,Mi
Farmington Hills, MI
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for casual get together
December 28, 2011
A keeper. Company worthy. Absolutely delicious. Friends commented that it was restaurant quality. Could not stop raving. Very rich, very filling. And the smell...!!! Make the ribs a day or so ahead for superior flavor and easier prep.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 12 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sotampafoodie
,Tampa
,Fl
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for laid back evening with friends
December 27, 2011
This is a great recipe! It takes a bit of prep work to begin with but is well worth it. Be careful not to use too much salt in browning the beef as the prosciutto will add salt too.
I made the recipe for a few friends we were vacationing with at the beach, and I think it was a hit. It simmers for a couple of hours or so in the oven - which allows time for the hostess to socialize and enjoy a drink with company. Add salad, crusty bread and something chocolate for dessert and Voila! You have a great meal!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 13 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCFoodie
,Cary
,NC
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Try to cut out some salt...
December 27, 2011
This was so tasty. I'm giving this recipe five stars...even though I it needed less salt. I heeded the warning of other reviews about not adding extra salt at the end but still found it a bit salty even amongst all of the amazing flavor. Next time I will try and cut back on the amount of prosciutto b/c I may have gone a bit over. I also used beef broth versus beef stock. Next time I will use low sodium beef broth.
We will be making this again...and again...and again.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Cons: watch the salt
Review 14 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caitlinLW
December 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone loved it!
December 23, 2011
made this for the first time for a dinner party at my house and everyone loved it! So easy and so delicious!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 15 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SheilaEtiquette
,Las Vegas
,NV
December 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious for a family get together.
December 22, 2011
I'm making this to-night for my kids arrival for Christmas. As I've done in the past I'm making it with a lean stewing beef and a very lean center cut of bacon. I find the prosciutto makes it to salty and as we have basically a salt free diet this works well for our family. I also used half the amount of butter and flour and the sauce still has a nice thickness to it. i also make it in slow cooker and let it cook for about 10 hrs so the meat is very tender. It's delicious :)
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 16 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sailingchef
,wilmette
,Il
December 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pot Pie
December 21, 2011
this is a winter crowd pleaser. I bought the recommended Le cruiset shallow oven which works great. You can cook on the stovetop in advance and finsish with the puff papery closer to serving time.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 17 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lcgirl
December 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best dish I've served in years
December 15, 2011
My family enjoyed this dinner more than any in recent years. We all liked the melding of flavors. I plan to use the recipe for my next big dinner party. My guests like the casual. Took some time, but oh so worth it.
Review 18 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Habanero
,GA
December 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Taste - Need to plan ahead
December 2, 2011
I will do again - I agree about salt comments in other review - I will probably just use the salt from the meat and not add any more. I am not sure but volume seemed less than expected - I re-read recipe and I did not seem to miss anything. It is very filling - so side dishes should be on the lighter side. Great for a night when you want to eat and then curl up by fire or snooze. Goes great with a red wine or a good beer. 2.5 hours time is not always possible on weeknight.
Pros: Will Make Again, great taste
Cons: Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 19 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gr8Cook
,Encinitas
,CA
Encinitas, CA
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good, BUT...
November 29, 2011
This was time consuming, but worth the effort with one major change. The proscuitto made this very salty, especially if you're salting along the way as most good cooks do.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Cons: Cost, Lengthy
Review 20 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kevwizz
,E Hartford
,CT
November 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and delicious!
November 22, 2011
I made this tonight as a "test" for a Christmas dinner we're having next week, and it immediately made the menu. I've braised short ribs many times in the past but have never used boneless ribs and I was really happy with the outcome (it's also nice not to have to fish the bones out of the dish once the meat falls off)
I bought some of the W-S Beef Demi-glace and it was worth it, what a great flavor it adds to the dish!
This was fantastic!!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
page1 2 next