Scotch Shortbread

A common first step in cookie recipes, creaming aerates the butter, resulting in cookies with a light, tender texture. To cream butter, beat it with an electric mixer or wooden spoon until it expands, lightens in color, and becomes soft and smooth. This should take 3 to 4 minutes with a mixer or longer by hand. Then add the sugar and beat until the grains are completely incorporated. Test by rubbing the mixture between your thumb and forefinger; it should feel smooth. Scrape down the sides of the bowl at least once during creaming to blend the ingredients evenly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Scotch Shortbread
Review 1 for Scotch Shortbread
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LumsMum
,Portland
,Or
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Simple
December 10, 2013
This is the easiest recipe and the shortbread is delicious. A perfect compliment to a cup of tea in the afternoon, Will be perfect for a cookie exchange tomorrow.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Scotch Shortbread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IzzyI
,Rochester
,MN
December 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Delicious
December 8, 2013
These Shortbread's are to die for. The recipe is so easy and they turn out beautifully. I did have to pull them out of the oven at 45 minutes. I'll make these again. Thanks Williams!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again, tasty
Review 3 for Scotch Shortbread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anelese
Dutchess County, New York
August 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick, easy, and sumptious ...
August 14, 2011
Absolutely delicous! No need to say more; except that I baked these in my toaster oven pan which was the perfect size at 8 x 91/2.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Scotch Shortbread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simommie
Reading
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Why Delicious, The Long and the "Short" of It
January 3, 2011
I have been making this recipe for a while as I've had the cookie cookbook from WS for several years. Lately I have tried altering the amount of flour and replacing it with rice flour, and trying different tricks with the butter, after reading suggestions online as to how to make a truly authentic "scottish" shortbread. But after tasting the results of my modifications, I am convinced this is the best tasting recipe, no alterations necessary! Just watch the baking time with this one; I found that it's been browned at 60 min, and shortbread is classically NOT browned. FYI "short"bread is called such because of the high ratio of butter to flour, which keeps the "long" protein strands of gluten in the flour from developing, which is also why it is not chewy at all, but very crumbly. "Short" also happens to be an old english word for "crumbly".
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
hopflower
Bay Area
Posted November 20, 2011
Authentic
There is also no vanilla in authentic shortbread, the use of flavourings is newer. Traditionally only butter, sugar, flour and rice flour are used.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Scotch Shortbread
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mamababs90
Heidelberg, Germany
December 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty, but...
December 22, 2010
I am disappointed that there isn't more to chew in to these shortbreads. They literally melt in your mouth. I looked at other recipes on the web and most call for about 4 - 4 1/2 cups of flour to 2 cups of butter rather than the 1 1/2 cups flour to 2 cups butter in this recipe. If you like them really light add 1/2 cup more flour like I did and you should find these delightful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
goodytwoshoes1
Pinckney, MI
Posted September 17, 2013
You measured the butter wrong
The reason it came out badly is that you put in two cups of butter when it called for 2 sticks of butter which is only 1 cup. I am 1st generation and this recipe is pretty much right on from what I can see. I am going to try it. It is very very close to my Scottish aunts recipe (97 when she passed away).
0points
Customer avatar
hopflower
Bay Area
Posted November 20, 2011
Chewiness
There is no chew to traditional shortbread. The crumbliness and melt-in-your-mouth texture is the point.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Scotch Shortbread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SEaBiscuit
Kansas City, MO
November 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Shortbread
November 24, 2010
I love having shortbread cookies with my tea and have been craving it lately... but did not want to buy the usual premade tins. So I decided to attempt my own.
I just finished making these shortbreads and they are wonderful. The recipe was quick and easy, perfect for my busy day of doing work around the house in preparation for guests. In the future though I may try a slightly bigger pan to get them a little thinner as I am used to shorter shortbreads...
Review 7 for Scotch Shortbread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jasperkitten
Chicago, Il
November 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Melts in your mouth
November 9, 2010
This recipe is as easy as falling off a log. The instructions are simple to follow all the way through. Takes only about 10 minutes to prepare. An hour later, it's ready. Just take out of the oven, slice, make little pin-pricks then wait for it to cool down. This tastes exactly like the shortbread I could buy at home in the UK. If you have someone coming over for coffee, or afternoon tea, your guests will love you.
Review 8 for Scotch Shortbread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christie42
Santa FE, TX
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always a treat!
April 30, 2010
This is a delicious shortbread that's very easy to make. It's become a holiday tradition at our house, however it's too good to enjoy once a year.