Scallops with Avocado Salsa

Large scallops, either frozen or thawed, are increasingly easy to find at better fish stores and supermarkets. Look for natural "wild" scallops without additives or preservatives, which can impart an unpleasant chemical taste to the scallop's sweet, delicate flesh.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Scallops with Avocado Salsa
Review 1 for Scallops with Avocado Salsa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CaptBangs
,new york
,NY
New York, NY
July 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just doesn't come together
July 21, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe -- I love scallops and the rest of the ingredients as well -- but the salsa just didn't come together. I also felt that the heat of the chipotle peppers was a bit overwhelming for the delicate flavor of the scallops; it might have been better with shrimp. I should add that I made it as a main course without the mini-tortillas as a base.
Review 2 for Scallops with Avocado Salsa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drriado
,Houston
,TX
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tapas gone!
June 22, 2013
I made these for a "tapas" party, they were gone super fast!!! Everyone loved them!! There was more relish then I needed, but then I had some tortilla chips that people could eat it with and that was great too!!
Pros: Healthy, Impressive
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Scallops with Avocado Salsa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hornedfrog
,San Antonio
,TX
July 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Dish!
July 25, 2012
I used bay scallops instead because they are a lot cheaper. The dish turned out awesome and we'll be making it again!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Scallops with Avocado Salsa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cookiegirl52
,Indianapolis
,IN
Indianapolis
June 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth trying
June 13, 2012
I made this last night and would make it again w/ a couple of modifications. It may have been my grill, but my scallops took longer than the stated time to cook through. They were very tasty when done and not a bit overcooked. I didn't use the chipotle chile. I'm just a bit tired of them right now, nothing deeper than that. Next time I would make a traditional guacamole instead of the chunkier avocado salsa and spread it beneath the scallop. The salsa tended to fall off when you went to take a bite.