Savory Skillet Pie

A cornmeal crust forms the base for this savory pie, which showcases fresh summer produce. For optimum flavor, buy the corn, bell peppers and other produce at a farmers' market. You get twice the bang for your buck when you cook with local, in-season vegetables and fruits. They're not only at their peak of flavor but also abundant, which brings down their price. Plus, produce from local sources doesn't have to travel far, so it's picked at its ripest and goes from farm to table in a flash.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Savory Skillet Pie
Review 1 for Savory Skillet Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CAinNC
,Spring Lake
,NC
San Antonio, TX
July 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible!
July 1, 2012
This is a great summertime meal. Instead of cornmeal crust, I just a pie crust or no crust. Spinach instead of chard is great, too.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Savory Skillet Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BeckyW
Atlanta, GA
July 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This dish was a hit!
July 19, 2011
Though I love the taste of the crust which is a nice compliment to the pie, I too struggled with it. I think I got the dough too wet plus I couldn't get the round off the parchment to the pan even tho I floured the parchment, (not well enough, obviously). I didn't have the right size skillet so I used a big, heavy pie pan. But the dish itself was delicious and I'll try again.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 3 for Savory Skillet Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
farmcook
Chico, CA
July 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
"Man Quiche"
July 18, 2011
I made this for dinner yesterday. It was delicious! fabulous texture. Let's call it "Man Quiche" because it's like a quiche but has more texture and complexity. Yes, it is time consuming but I made the crust in the morning and left it in the fridge till late afternoon. It did slump a little on the sides when pre-baking but it doesn't affect the final product. I used medium grind cornmeal used for polenta. It gave the crust more crunch and flavor. Leftovers today for breakfast were great too. I would recommend this recipe for a day when you have time (and a willing partner to do the dishes).
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again, Texture
Cons: Lengthy, uses a lot of dishes bowls pans etc...
Review 4 for Savory Skillet Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebraK
Bloomington, Il
July 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great without crust
July 14, 2011
Since we are trying to cut some carbs in our diet, I made this recipe without the crust and it was awesome. I fried the bacon and then sauteed the vegies in the skillet after draining all but about a tbsp of the bacon fat out of the skillet. I spread the vegies and the bacon in the bottom of a 9x13 glass pan I had sprayed with olive oil cooking spray. I added a tbsp of olive oil to the skillet and sauteed the spinach (didnt have the chard on hand but I think you can use either). I spread that on top of the vegies in the 9x13 pan and then topped that with the grated cheese. I mixed the eggs and half and half in a blender (could mix by hand) and poured that slowly on top. Baked it 25 min in a preheated 375 degree oven. It was delicious and much easier to makewithout the crust.
Pros: Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lorry1
Posted July 31, 2011
Thank you!
Thank you for your reveiw & suggestion!!! I was wondering how it would taste with out the crust - gotta watch the carb too... Looking for ward to makeing this!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Savory Skillet Pie
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quimbo
Rhinebeck, NY
July 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too labor intensive
July 9, 2011
While very good, I think this receipt is just too labor intensive. All told it took me almost 3 hrs from prep to serve. Not what I want to me doing on a hot/humid summer day.
This is basically a quiche. Using a store bought crust & a few short cuts (is saving the corn cob juice really necessary?) I'll try knocking it down in under 45 mins.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 6 for Savory Skillet Pie
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Marthamatilda
Georgia
July 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommend Skipping the Skillet
July 7, 2011
While the filing was nice, the crust was very challenging to manage in a cast iron skillet. I followed the recipe exactly, chilling as noted, but the crust slid down the sides of my skillet during the initial baking, leaving insufficient room for all of the filling. While I might consider this recipe again, I would not cook it in a skillet again.
Review 7 for Savory Skillet Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cozettef
Northern CA
July 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful brunch/light dinner recipe
July 7, 2011
Unlike the previous reviewer, I had more difficulty with the pastry than the beans. I found the pastry difficult to handle. I refrigerated it prior to baking and it still slid down the sides of the pan, so I started over. The second time, I added the ice water while the Cuisinart was running and blind baked the shell lined with foil and filled with pie weights (dry beans will work too.) The pastry shell was perfect and the result was wonderful! I agree this is not a quick recipe, but a lot can be done ahead and the result is worth the effort. Planned on freezing leftovers for quick breakfast meals, but I doubt it will last that long.
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again, lots of wonderful veggies
Review 8 for Savory Skillet Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RitaR
June 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and beautiful
June 21, 2011
I thought the picture in the catalog was beautiful, so decided to try it for a Dad's Day brunch. It was a huge hit. Some observations: I made the crust a day a head and that worked well. I used a 12 inch cast iron skillet, so had to roll the dough out larger than specified. Failed to chill the dough before baking, so it slid down the sides of the skillet while baking, but in the end it didn't matter. Filling was sufficient to fill the larger skillet to the brim. I cut the beans at an angle as suggested, but wouldn't bother next time -- tediious and nobody cares! Served with fresh fruit salad and herb rolls. Wonderful! A definite keeper!
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again, delicious
Cons: Lengthy