Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing

Our dressing recipe is designed for advance preparation. You can chop the vegetables the day before and refrigerate them in sealable plastic bags. The bread cubes can also be toasted in advance, then stored in airtight containers at room temperature. You can use store-bought corn bread or bake your own; for a recipe, click on the link at right.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
Review 1 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MistressBedlam
,San Francisco
,CA
November 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always a huge hit
November 25, 2013
I've made this for various crowds every Thanksgiving for the last 8 or 9 years and it is always a HUGE hit. There will be leftovers of everything else, but this always disappears. It is the best dressing I've ever had.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tfur
October 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A family favorite
October 21, 2012
We make this every year for Thanksgiving and it's a favorite. Lots of flavor and texture.
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BabyBee
,Haymarket
,VA
Haymarket, VA
December 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastiest Stuffing I've Ever Had
December 21, 2011
This was my first time making stuffing from scratch and I was a little nervous. Fortunately, this stuffing turned out wonderfully. My entire family and all our guests were very impressed. I prepared stuffing from a pouch on the side in case this one did not turn out well, but after one bite of this recipe nobody wanted the stuffing from the pouch. Thee one thing I did not do according to the recipe was that I did not use chestnuts due to allergies. Instead, I added mushrooms. It was a great hit. I will make it again next year for sure.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nsblaze
,Frisco
,TX
November 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Stuffing Ever
November 22, 2011
I have been preparing this stuffing for several years now and it is my husband's favorite part of the Thanksgiving meal. I make my own cornbread a day ahead of time and prepare the stuffing the night before Thanksgiving. By then the flavors have melded and it tastes fabulous. Just pop it in the oven before serving and you are good to go. Can't imagine Thanksgiving without it.
Review 5 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Richmond
,Va
October 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Combo of Flavors
October 14, 2011
This recipe has been one of my favs for a very long time. I follow the instructions given with one exception...I add 1/2 cup of dried cranberries at the end when mixing all of the ingredients.
Delish.
Review 6 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoolAuntieMass
Massachusetts
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & great, even w/o chestnuts
November 25, 2010
After years of over seasoned dry stuffing from relatives I offered to make/bring the stuffing. This recipe is great. You can't go wrong with cornbread and sausage. I do turkey sausage and make my own cornbread (boxed) and usually omit the chestnuts (because of nut issues with kids). This year I'm trying it with spicy sausage. It's always been a hit. Thanks WS!
Review 7 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tess23
SAN JOSE, CA
November 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TERRIFIC CORN BREAD AND SAUSAGE STUFFING
November 21, 2010
I WAS ASKED TO MAKE THE STUFFING ONE YEAR AND I DON'T NORMALY LIKE STUFFING. SO I WENT ON LINE AND FOUND THIS RECIPE AND NOT ONLY DID EVERY BODY LOVE IT SO DID I.
I WAS AMAZINGLY SUPPISED. I LIKED THE TASTE THE SASAGE AND CHESTNUTS GAVE THE DRESSING.
Review 8 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CanB
Dallas, TX
November 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
substituted chestnuts
November 20, 2010
In my quest to find the perfect cornbread dressing, I must have made 8-10 different recipes before deciding this was the one. The feedback from my family is that they didn't care for the chestnuts (they're not a Southern-Cajun thing), but they REALLY liked the flavor of the dressing itself. So now I make it without the chestnuts, and actually substituted some diced apple for the chestnuts in the recipe. My family asks every year "you're making that cornbread dressing, right?"
Review 9 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
erising
Albuquerque, NM
November 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous, but chestnuts tricky..don't be daunted
November 18, 2010
This recipe is simply fantastic. first time I made it, the chestnuts popped in the oven and all over the kitchen! They get steamed up in the oven and pop. Never could figure out how to do the roasting properly. next time, I tried poking a hole in them and soaking them but they still popped. Then, I found ready roasted and chopped chestnuts in my grocery store!! Problem solved!!!!! This recipe is worth every effort!!! It is simply devine!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
alexandra12345
Posted December 27, 2010
popping of the chestnuts.....
LOL!!!
You had the chestnuts basically explode because you didn't know that you are supposed to cut a nice cut down the middle!
they spread open that way when they cook and are super easily removed that way also.....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JollyJ97
Danville, KY
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A New Thanksgiving Classic
June 25, 2010
EXCELLENT!!!
I first made this back in 2005 for Thanksgiving Dinner and it was a HUGE hit. I've made it every year since and everybody LOVES it!
SUBSTITUTIONS:
*I'm not a big fan of Sage, so I used fresh Oregano instead.
*I also used 4 cups of Chicken Stock instead of 3 cups.
*Serve with "Butterflied Turkey with Herb Glaze & Chardonnay Gravy."
Review 11 for Sausage, Corn Bread and Chestnut Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ofelia
San Juan, Puerto Rico
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect side dish, very easy to make
April 30, 2010
Some time ago I had unexpected dinner guests and and did not have anything prepared ahead of time, so I scanned my pantry and went to my Williams Sonoma Recipe box.
I decided on the Sausage, Corn Bread and Chesnut Dressing to accompany a Sugar-Seared Roast Beef and an Arugula salad. Total success!