Salmon Baked in Paper (Salmone in Cartoccio)

Although not native to Italian waters, salmon has become a popular fish among cooks in Italy. Naturally, they have adapted it to their tastes, as this recipe, with its fresh herbs, tomatoes and olive oil, illustrates. The steam that forms inside the paper envelope infuses the fish with the flavor of the seasonings and keeps it moist and tender. You could serve your guests the unopened packets and let them unwrap them at the table, releasing the fragrant steam. Or you could open the packets in the kitchen and transfer the fish and sauce to dinner plates. Aluminum foil, although not as attractive, can be substituted for the parchment.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Salmon Baked in Paper (Salmone in Cartoccio)
Review 1 for Salmon Baked in Paper (Salmone in Cartoccio)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Travelbelly
,San Francisco
,CA
July 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very moist
July 6, 2012
Excellent recipe! I used cherry tomatoes instead and it was really sweet. Also grated in some lemon zest. The fish filet I used last nite was about 8 oz and 15 minutes in a convection oven was just perfect - completely cooked through and super moist. For a smaller filet, I might reduce the cooking time in a convection oven.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Salmon Baked in Paper (Salmone in Cartoccio)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skipperdoodle
August 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to prepare and excellent!
August 15, 2011
I love salmon and have prepared it in numerous ways but this was the first time that I have cooked fish in parchment. It is, hands down, now my favorite way to have salmon. The flavors were wonderful and served with asparagus and a vegetable couscous, it was an easily prepared and perfect meal to serve my guests. They loved it.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Salmon Baked in Paper (Salmone in Cartoccio)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TiffandMike
Knoxville, TN
August 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Easy and Delicious
August 17, 2010
I was really surprised at how easy this dish was to make. I cut the recipe down to suit two people and served it with a chopped salad and crusty bread. What a great dinner! I am going to try serving the salmon over linguine or couscous the next time I make it for a little more substantial dinner.
Review 4 for Salmon Baked in Paper (Salmone in Cartoccio)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BoyMommy
Toronto, Canada
August 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Definitely a favourite!
August 4, 2010
This is one of my favourites ways of preparing salmon! I've been using this recipe for years and it never fails to impress - beautiful presentation if I'm entertaining or even as a weekday meal that my picky boys will eat.
Review 5 for Salmon Baked in Paper (Salmone in Cartoccio)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
capri87
Albany, OR
June 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Recipe!
June 10, 2010
I was afraid on how this would turn out the first time I made it. My family loved it . Even my kids who are not really fish eaters raved about it. I will definitely make this again.
Review 6 for Salmon Baked in Paper (Salmone in Cartoccio)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kfrank
Grants Pass, OR
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant Meal for Family or Special Guests
April 30, 2010
My husband and I love to serve this dish for special occasions. It is easy to prepare and the parchment wrapping is a unique presentation that produces many oohs and ahs! Served with a green salad, it is a delicious and beautiful meal.