Root Vegetable Gratin with Gruyere

Enriched with cream and Gruyere cheese, this hearty gratin is a delicious accompaniment to our crown roast of pork (see related recipe at left). A mandoline makes fast work of cutting the vegetables into thin, uniform slices.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Root Vegetable Gratin with Gruyere
Review 1 for Root Vegetable Gratin with Gruyere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gulfcoastgirl
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
truly decadent!
January 3, 2013
I made this for Christmas after reading the other reviews. I'm so glad I did--it was wonderful! I left out the celery root and increased the parsnips/sweet potatoes, and everyone loved it. Using a mandoline helped with the prep work, but even without one I would still recommend this--it's worth all the chopping! Granted, it's not the healthiest dish, but if you're looking to impress people with a vegetable dish, this is the way to go.
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Root Vegetable Gratin with Gruyere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
comara
,Geneva
,IL
November 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's the real sleeper hit
November 8, 2012
I make this for Christmas each year - and while the crown roast is amazing, this dish steals the show. It's lengthy in prep, and if you don't have all the gadgets, your hands hurt from chopping. But in the end... it's so worth it.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 3 for Root Vegetable Gratin with Gruyere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Curlew
San Diego
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy, yummy, yummy
January 24, 2011
Made this one for Xmas dinner for our friends. The crown roast got the oh's and ah's but the gratin got the calls for the recipe. The table went from lively and full of conversation to moans and the occassional..."what is in this? it's great" . Yep, it's a crowd pleaser and no one has any idea it's parsnips and celery root..... so don't tell the kids.
Review 4 for Root Vegetable Gratin with Gruyere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shayshaymc
Seattle, WA
November 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious-make this for the holidays
November 17, 2010
My Aunt made this dish for the first time 3 years ago for Christmas dinner after finding it in the Williams-Sonoma magazine and everyone at the table raved about it. No one could believe it was vegetables! Since then I had her email me the recipe and have made it since. It's a great twist on an otherwise heavy dish. I sub a mix of milk and half-n-half to make it a little lighter.
Review 5 for Root Vegetable Gratin with Gruyere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookslovews
Lakewood, WA
August 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decadent, but delicious
August 7, 2010
I have made this recipe a few times and just love it. After the first time, I simplified the recipe and just used sweet and russet potatoes. I've also substituted smoked white cheddar before which balanced out the sweetness of the potatoes. Wonderful side dish. You might feel a bit guilty eating it, but totally worth the indulgence!