Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato

This recipe was created by the Sussman brothers, Max and Eli. The chefs started testing the recipe early one morning but Max had to go into work before it was done cooking. He texted Eli a few hours later-"how did the soup turn out?"-and Eli texted him back: "I now know what it feels like to open presents on Christmas morning."
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
Review 1 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mokc
April 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best soup I've ever made!
April 11, 2013
Normally, soups that I make taste bland with no depth. This one is amazing!!!
Before I roasted the corn & tomatoes, I tossed them with some EVOO & S/P. Adaptations: frozen corn (vs fresh) & vegetable stock (vs chicken).
I garnished it with CYPRESS SEA SALT. This finishing salt helps add texture and more depth to the soup.
All the roasting is a little intense but it's well worth it. This dish is a great main course.
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmz1978
,Buffalo
,NY
October 2, 2012
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made a Vegetarian version - delicious
October 2, 2012
I replaced the chicken stock with vegetable stock and it was delicious. The second time I made it i didn't even roast the corn, and it was still really good so dont be afraid to be lazy.
Pros: Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrJenny
Novi, MI
September 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty, but Labor Intensive
September 30, 2012
My hubby and I made this soup for lunch today as we were looking to use up some fresh corn. This soup is flavorful and hearty, though it does take quite a bit of time to make. It is not difficult, it just takes awhile. The only modification I made was to use "No Chicken Broth" (fake chicken broth) as I'm vegetarian. Great late summer/fall recipe.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunnydebe
,Pittsburg
,TX
September 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good enough for company
September 28, 2012
Delicious flavor! I roasted corn on one foil lined pan, and onions and red bell pepper on another.. It took about 30-40 minutes. I reserved half of the roasted corn to stir in at the end. I used 1/4 tsp. plain chili powder, and substituted half-and-half in place of the heavy cream. This recipe serves 6, in my opinion. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, including 1 tsp. salt. Very filling and satisfying. The whole corn made it very crunchy and chewy. My husband said it is a KEEPER recipe.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lisbet
,hilton head island
,sc
September 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile soup and base for seafood too
September 27, 2012
This is an absolutely delicious soup. I will make it again and again. I did make adjustments to the recipe. I omitted the salt and the chipote chile pepper , used one red onion and used half and half instead of heavy cream. Tonight I cooked seared salmon and roasted skinny asparagus with breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese. When I plated the food I put about 1/2 C of the soup on the plate, put the seared salmon on top and the crisp skinny asparagus on the side. It was yummy. Tomorrow I will sear some large sea scallops, use another green veggie and use the soup again.
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: the recipe is not complicated but time consuming
Review 6 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosienewfoundcooking
,Mi
Almont, Michigan
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cooking worth the time
September 23, 2012
This recipe gives the feeling of preparing a wonderful fall and winter soup. It takes time...great for an afternoon with a family member or friend. I consider a recipe a guideline and not a formula like baking. I had only one large tomato so I supplemented the rest with 1.5ounces of tomato paste. I used a dash of hot pepper flakes instead of chili powder and I broiled two cans of kernel corn while I was broiling the peppers. I also used non-dairy liquid creamer, added no salt, used regular paprika, but sprinkled smoked salt on individual servings. One of the best soups I made. Basically, I used what I had on hand from the pantry, but kept the main ingredients. Next time, i will add a teaspoon of sour cream to individual bowls. A thick piece ofvtoasted Italian bread will go well, too.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MGGM
,Overland Park
,KS
Overland Park, KS
September 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious corn soup
September 12, 2012
This is a very tasty soup but beware that it turns out too salty! I would at least cut the salt in half next time. Will definitely make it again.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TinaTomatoe
,Ypsilanti
,Mi
September 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Quick Soup
September 6, 2012
I love this soup and have made it several times already! Sometimes I spice it up with roasted jalapenos or I add 1/2 and 1/2 vs. cream. It's my new favorite tomatoe soup! I love the texture and depth of flavor!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JTMD
,Frederick
,MD
Maryland
August 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Late Summer Soup
August 28, 2012
I made this last night and it was GREAT!
Recommend for a weekend. It is not hard but all the roasting and cooling takes time if you make it in one shot. I roasted the corn and tomatoes on Sunday and put them in the fridge. Then I could easily do the rest last night. I used the heavy cream but plan to try half & half the next time. I couldn’t find chipotle chili powder so used ½ teaspoon smoked paprika and ½ teaspoon regular chili powder. It was still too spicy so next time I will cut the chili powder to ¼ teaspoon. The smoked paprika added a great flavor and I sprinkled it over the top for a garnish. I love avocados but forget them in this soup – they don’t add anything and are sort of like flavorless green mush floating around on top. Fresh corn is a must.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CreatureComforts
,Tulsa
,OK
August 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth every minute
August 26, 2012
This soup requires several rather involved steps, and is certainly not the sort of recipe you'd want to turn to for a quick meal. However, it was so delectable that I will be making it again and again, both for company and to freeze and enjoy during the colder months to come.
A few notes:
The level of salt called for (2 tablespoons) is a bit extreme. I recommend salting to taste.
The chipotle is very spicy, and even reduced to 1/2 teaspoon (from the 1 tsp.) I still found it to be overwhelming for my sensitive taste buds. If you love a more gentle hint of spice (like I do), I recommend reducing the chipotle measurement to 1/4 tsp.
We really loved the addition of the un-pureed corn and will be making extra next time around.
Next time I'm in Williams-Sonoma, I intend to pick up a copy of the Sussman Brother's cookbook. This recipe sold it!
Pros: Yield, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cookingfan
,San Francisco
,CA
August 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
healthy and hearty
August 25, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this soup. I think it would be even better if we had had the chipotle chili powder. We just used regular chili powder. We also cut down on the fat by using half and half. I loved all the flavors and will definitely make this soup again. I also was unsure how the avacado would taste in the soup, but it made it so much more delicious!
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LaLupe
,Bogota
August 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ligth and healthy
August 22, 2012
Love the flavors, everything blends in your mouth.
Pros: Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 13 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nuda
,Lafayette
,CO
August 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Details, Details
August 19, 2012
This recipe is worth every step. It was delicious. I only used I teaspoon of salt. I am tempted to buy their recipe book.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 14 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BabyDoe
,redwood city
,ca
August 12, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Low sodium chicken broth?What a joke!
August 12, 2012
Obviously there is a mistake in this recipe which calls for 2 Tablespoons of salt. Even 2 Tsp. would be a lot. What's the point of the low sodium chicken broth if you're adding a full salt shaker. Huge mistake, making the soup unedible...unfortunate because it isn't a cheap soup to make. Williams Sonoma needs to do more testing of their recipes before including them in their mailer.
Pros: Appearance, looks delicious
Cons: way too much salt...not edible as directed .
Review 15 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fashionista2
,State College
,PA
August 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh and fabulous
August 12, 2012
This is a wonderful soup. A few suggestions to those considering making it. (1) I see no reason why you could not save time by roasting the tomatoes and corn concurrently rather than consecutively, as the recipe suggests. (2) I needed to simmer the vegetables about 30 minutes to get the desired tenderness. (3) If you don't like spicy, you might want to pare the Chipotle to a 1/2 tsp. (4) I used Kosher salt which is milder than regular table salt, and it was fine at 2 TBS. (5) In addition to the recommended garnishes, I added a dollop of thinned, light sour cream & some chopped fresh cilantro. The cilantro provides a nice smokiness that complements the Chipotle. (6) After I blended the vegetables, I cooled the mixture & refrigerated it without adding the cream. I reheated it later, blending in the cream then. This should also work if you are planning to freeze some for later consumption. This was a delicious soup and I plan to make it again.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 16 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmartin234
,Columbus
,Ga
August 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh Summer Taste!
August 12, 2012
I used frozen fresh tomatoes I had roasted previously which gave this soup a sweet taste. I used regular chili power and think more than a teaspoon would have been better. I also checked the salt as I added it and probably added 1 1/2 t. The tomatoes had already been salted. I made the soup the day before and reheated and then added the cream. I almost scorched the soup reheating it. Served this at lunch to a "chef" friend of mine and she gave it a thumbs up!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 17 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NearSeattleMom
,Near Seattle
,WA
August 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Waaaay too salty!
August 8, 2012
I should have tasted as I went, but trusted the recipe and added the entire 2 Tbs of salt called for. Yowsers! My mouth is almost burning from so much salt. Yuk. The rest goes down the disposal. What a bummer.
Cons: Taste, Unhealthy
Review 18 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DougM
August 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Soup
August 5, 2012
A great summer soup. I would recommend adding the salt 1/2 tablespoon at a time to suit your taste.
I roasted the peppers on my charcoal grill as I already had some hot coals going and next time I make this I will plan on doing so after cooking on the grill. Why waste all of that energy after cooking a few steaks?
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 19 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jmaedche
,Richardson
,TX
August 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great with fresh ingredients from the market
August 5, 2012
Like a previous reviewer, I also roasted my ingredients on the grill. I opted to strain out the solids and go for a more creamy texture.
The amount of salt indicated in the recipe is way too much. I believe 2 teaspoons is more appropriate.
Review 20 for Roasted Corn Soup with Tomato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SallyBuc
,Grand Ledge
,MI
August 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the Taste of Agust in the Midwest
August 2, 2012
I just stopped my local sweet corn stand and then got some locally grown tomatoes and peppers. Tore this recipe out of my catalogue this morning so gave it a try. It is fresh, has a little bite at the finish, and is a surprisingly complex burst of late summer deliciousness! Not too time consuming and makes a big batch. Am taking a bowl over to my neighbor whom I ran into at the corn stand! Tucking the recipe in with it!!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: cutting corn off the cob always makes a mess
page1 2 next