Roasted Autumn Vegetables

The first frost turns parsnips sweet, so this creamy-colored root vegetable is at its best in late autumn and early winter. It is excellent for roasting. Add parsnips to the pan alongside other root vegetables when you roast meats and poultry. To prepare parsnips (and other root vegetables), peel with a vegetable peeler, then cut into thick slices. Like potatoes, parsnips will start to discolor after they are sliced unless they are sprinkled with an acidic ingredient, such as lemon juice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Roasted Autumn Vegetables
Review 1 for Roasted Autumn Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheGoodWife
December 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A simple way to make winter vegtables delightful
December 10, 2011
This recipe was easy to make (and I made ahead of time) and was very flavor-ful. I used regular potatoes, a turnip, and carrots and shallots. My guess is you can use any root vegetable available and you'll still have success.
I used less than half the butter and everything was still very moist.
My raisins burned as well, but I left them in and they tasted fine.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: too much butter
Review 2 for Roasted Autumn Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
etgohome
Tewkswbury
December 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really easy and very good
December 18, 2010
Had this for Thanksgiving .also added beets quartered and some red onions halved and sliced Made the night before( careful not to over cook) and heated in the oven while the turkey was resting after cooking and before dinner was served. Making the night before left room in the oven to cook a large turkey . Easy and everyone raved about the vegtables. Will make again .
Review 3 for Roasted Autumn Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rocki
Los Angeles, CA
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy & Easy
November 27, 2010
The whole family loved it. and it was so easy! Roasted Veggies are quickly becoming our favorite much to the credit of this recipe.
Review 4 for Roasted Autumn Vegetables
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tiger9
November 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Raisin issue
November 6, 2010
I liked the idea of this recipe...perfect for this time of year.
But only 20-25mins into the cooking, the raisins that were "sprinkled" on top, were jet black and burned. i had to pick each one of them out individually after i cooked it.
I'm welcome to suggestions b/c i'd like to try it again, but i would not if this is going to be the norm with this recipe.
Thoughts anyone?
Review 5 for Roasted Autumn Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skiingmomof3
North shore, MA
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
YUM! Love these vegetables!
May 1, 2010
Very good! So simple! You can change or add your own favorite vegetables to this dish. Good for dinner parties.
Review 6 for Roasted Autumn Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeanneH
Minneapolis, MN
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Showcases the root veggies!
April 30, 2010
I probably make this recipe a dozen times in the colder months. It complements both casual suppers and more refined dinner parties.