Risotto alla Milanese

Seasoned with saffron, risotto alla Milanese is the classic accompaniment to Osso Buco (see related recipe at left). A small amount of this aromatic spice will add inimitable flavor and a hint of yellow color to the dish. Saffron threads are preferable to powder, which loses its flavor more quickly and can be adulterated with other ingredients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Risotto alla Milanese
Review 1 for Risotto alla Milanese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lanabanana
,Vancouver
,WA
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Classic
January 7, 2014
This is the classic, creamy, flavorful risotto that goes with almost any meal, and can be served with a salad side as an entree. It does require time and patience as fairly constant stirring is the secret to success. The saffron is key to its comfort-food flavor and inviting color. And, even though serving it fresh is recommended, it's delicious reheated later or the next day, as well. Add crab or chicken for additional interest and nutrition. One more tip: use arborio.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, polular with guests
Review 2 for Risotto alla Milanese
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
turkeybeginner
January 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Company liked it
January 1, 2012
Served this last night w/ the Osso Bucco and everyone loved it. It's not that interesting in my opinion as it is just Risotto but it's a nice simple risotto to accompany an interesting main course. The Saffron is a nice easy touch that makes it seem fancier than it is.
Review 3 for Risotto alla Milanese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brneyedgal
Oklahoma
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Beginner Risotto
January 20, 2011
I had never cooked or eaten risotto before. I read the recipe carefully and watched the video on cooking risotto. I followed the instructions and it came out beautifully and tasted superb!
It does take a bit of time and attention so I paired it with other items that cooked slowly on the stovetop. I loved how towards the end of cooking, the risotto really did "puff up" and take on a creamy consistency. With this visual cue, I don't have to worry about undercooking it!
Review 4 for Risotto alla Milanese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jhauenst
Fort Worth, TX
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Risotto
September 13, 2010
Absolutely an amazing risotto. The best I have had. It was delicious .
Review 5 for Risotto alla Milanese
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Laurenbot
Austin, TX
August 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a first time risotto dish
August 5, 2010
I really enjoyed how easy this recipe was to prepare. My boyfriend is from Milan and he was very impressed by it's authenticity.
A few tips would be cut the amount of Parmesan cheese by half and to not add butter at all to be truly authentic Italian cuisine. If you really want a rich and creamy dish than add half the butter and all the cheese and you still come out with a fabulous meal.
Happy cooking.
Review 6 for Risotto alla Milanese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CynKC
Kansas City
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Creamy Goodness
May 14, 2010
Wonderful with any meat dish - but requires something heavy.
Review 7 for Risotto alla Milanese
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
victorntexas
Roanoke, TX
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy with experience
May 3, 2010
The recipe was good and consistent with many other risotto recipes. I would recommend this to anyone as a great basic risotto to start with.