Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs

Cooked and served in a classic Moroccan vessel known as a tagine, this dish makes a dramatic presentation at the table. Accompany with mashed potatoes to soak up the flavorful sauce.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
Review 1 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScottT
,Cleveland
,OH
January 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Sunday Dinner
January 23, 2013
Flavorfull and easy to make...I used a 2 1/2 lb. chuck roast cut into 4 pieces. It was fall-apart tender and had more meat with less grease than when I used short ribs.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dizygotheca
,Norfolk
,VA
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Meal
January 3, 2013
I have made these this recipe a few times in a slow cooker as well as in the oven, and the results have been amazing. A great, easy meal to prepare for guests as well. Hard to beat!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 3 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EmiStar
Houston
June 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious, Easy and Fool-Proof
June 19, 2011
Cooked to the exact recipe. I even bought the Tunisian tagine to experience the process fully. The family enjoyed the dish - I served it over couscous with toasted pine nuts. My only tip is to use ribs with as little fat as possible else you'll have to skim off a lot of fat.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Adaptable
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flynhawn
Honolulu, HI
June 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Meal
June 12, 2011
A great recipe. Put it in my slow cooker at noon on medium and forgot about it until dinner. I invited a friend who loves shortribs and said that these were the best she ever tasted.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cantonese
Canton, MI
April 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Company
April 21, 2011
I used boneless short ribs, which are less fatty. This recipe is very rich and delicious. We served the leftovers over noodles. Wonderful!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Ingredients, special cookware
Review 6 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RainyDay
Seattle, WA
April 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, but Greasy
April 12, 2011
This dish is a culinary love child. Boeuf Bourguinonne + Beef Stew = Red Wine Brasied Short Ribs. Because of that, the taste was a bit confusing, but good nonetheless.
I made it exactly to recipe. I only differed in cooking. I stayed on point with the stovetop sear and brown instructions, but then put the tagine in the oven for about 2.5 hours at 225f. The meat was incredibly tender.
The only downside is the fact that it gets sooo greasy, but that is the trade off with using ribs I guess. Before I served it, I had to skim off about 1 &1/2 cups of grease from the top.
One note: I used an Emile Henry tagine. Some WS stores still have them in stock. These are phenomenal! Hopefully, WS expands their stock of Emile Henry items. I LOVE THEM!
Overall, quick, easy and tasty. The mashed potato accompaniment is a good choice.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable
Cons: Unhealthy, greasy
Review 7 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
donnab
Grapevine, TX
March 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Highly Recommend these Ribs!!
March 18, 2011
I have made this twice in the last month and my family loves it very much! Both times we had guests for dinner and they have asked for the recipe. The dish is very easy to make. I used my slow cooker both times and the ribs were falling apart. Our plates looked photo ready when we served the ribs over the potatoes with parsley!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YanniYani
WA
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great For Company
March 16, 2011
Finger licking good and an impressible meal!! This recipe was so easy to make and absolutely bursting with flavor! The picture on the February catalog was so inviting that I could not resist nor could I get it out of my mind. I used what I had on hand: Quart pot, 1 piece of Chile de Arbol (gave it just enough kick), and cheap red wine ($3.50). After all ingredients were placed in the pot, I covered it with foil, then put the lid on and cooked it on the stovetop at a low to medium heat. My stove was apparently very hot because in addition to lowering my heat a tad bit, I ended up adding more wine and beef broth for a total of double the measurement listed. This meal was ready in 2-1/2 hours and was served with steamed white rice. If you have doubts in your cooking abilities, try this recipe and see how empowered you feel afterwords:-)
Review 9 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
reading, pa
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
February 21, 2011
Made this for my husband and me for dinner. It was fantastic! Would be great for entertaining guests. Easy to make--I started at 10 am and cooked in oven at 225 for six or more hours. Highly recommend!
Review 10 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TLVST27
Virgina
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceeded my expectations...
February 15, 2011
I made these for my family last night. I was a little nervous as this was my first cooking experience with a tagine. They declared it was their new favorite meal! I could not believe how easy and wonderful the results were. The recipe from the store card is slightly different from the catalog. (There is no bay leaf listed.) I would highly recommend giving it a try.
Review 11 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsSmith888
Washington State
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Valentines Dinner!
February 14, 2011
Easy to make with little to no effort! I love it! Used my Le Creuset dutch oven and it worked out perfectly! I had a hard time locating the Aleppo Chili, substituted with Cayenne instead. Served it with Couscous instead of mashed potatoes! Can't wait to make it again!
Review 12 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
missmommy
Owings Mills MD
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
To Die For!
February 12, 2011
I made these short ribs in a Le Creuset dutch oven and they were unbelievably good. I started them on the stove and finished them in a 325 degree oven. In 21/2 hours the meat was falling off the bones. I used homemade beef stock and a bottle of Montepulciano. I served them the next day with mashed Yukon Golds and a salad. I can't wait to make them again.
Review 13 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobertAtk
Richmond Va.
February 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for a Cold Snowy Day
February 5, 2011
I made this recipe during a snow storm. It was excellent. Invited the neighbors over and and got rave reviews. I substituted ancho chilli for the allepo chilli and also used penne pasta instead of the potatoes. Both substitutions worked well. Clean up was very easy, there was nothing left!
Review 14 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CAshorty
Los Angeles, CA
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME and full of flavor
February 4, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and it was so delicious - very flavorful. I cooked it in my Staub cast iron pot and it could not have come out any better. Instead of the crushed Aleppo chili the recipe calls for, I added about 5 dashes of red pepper flakes, and I added mushrooms just about 15-20 minutes before serving. I highly recommend this recipe. It was fairly easy to make and it made the kitchen smell wonderful. YUM!
Review 15 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
meme10056
Westchester, NY
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So good and easy to make!
February 4, 2011
I made this the other night and it was delicious! It wasn't hard to make and just tasted fantastic!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobs01
Fort Worth, TX
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous slow cooked dinner!
February 3, 2011
This recipe was so amazingly good! I used the version from the WS catalog mailer so didn't use a bay leaf or parsley. I used a full-bodied zinfandel wine. I couldn't find Aleppo chili so used equal amounts of cayenne and cumin at the recommendation at our local specialty store. To reduce fat I used 3 bone-in ribs trimmed well and then 3 boneless ribs as well. All the meat was fall apart tender. I browned it all on the stove and then slow cooked it in my crock pot for 4 hrs. I highly recommend this one! Instead of mashed potatoes I oven roasted baby yukon golds.
Review 17 for Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rocrow29
Greensboro, NC
January 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Delicious!
January 30, 2011
This is one of the best short rib recipes I have ever made or eaten. I changed up a little bit and cooked mine in a dutch oven in the oven for 3 1/2 hours at 250 degrees F. The ribs were fall off the bone delicious. Also, I used the recipe in the WS catalog which does not call for a bay leaf or parsley. I did add a bay leaf because the picture in the catalog showed one. I highly recommend this dish.