Red Beans & Rice

This beloved dish is said to have originated with African-American cooks on Louisiana plantations. It was often made on Mondays (laundry day) because the one-pot meal could be seasoned with Sunday's ham bone and left to simmer for hours. When the laundry was done, so was dinner. Today, "red and white" is a New Orleans favorite that you will find everywhere, from home kitchens to fine restaurants, including Dooky Chase's, whose version we have adapted here. The use of a pressure cooker speeds the cooking process.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Red Beans & Rice
Review 1 for Red Beans & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Auyanna
,Hinesville
,Ga
Georgia
December 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a Big Crowd
December 1, 2013
This is a great recipe for a lot of people. I have made this several times. For a more added depth of flavor, add chicken stock.. I don't have a pressure cooker but soak the beans overnight and they won't take as long to cook.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Red Beans & Rice
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MinnieMoose
January 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beans Hard as Rocks
January 28, 2013
I was skeptical of this recipe, since I've always been told never to salt beans before cooking. Lo and behold! I open the pressure cooker after following this recipe to the letter, and my beans are as hard as rocks. Thanks for making me waste all that money on ingredients, WS!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Abellia
Posted February 14, 2014
Sorry, but no
The bit about salt and cooking beans is an old wive's tale. Try it with and without and compare the results. If your beans didn't cook, they were too old or they just didn't get enough time.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Red Beans & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oroonie
,San Rafael
,Ca
January 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Red bean & Rice recipe I've found
January 5, 2013
I used smoked andouille sausage..along with the ham. I couldn't find dried red kidney beans .I used 3 cans of red kidney beans drained..and just 1 qt of water. I don't have a pressure cooker so at the point of transferring I used a large pot and baked @325 f for about 4 hours. My husband and I had this two nights in a row.. and loved it....
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Red Beans & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sal101
,Bloomington
,MN
February 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family loves it!
February 15, 2012
This is an amazingly good recipe. I have been making it for several years now. I cook it for about two hours in a deep cast iron skillet after soaking the beans. I find the meat gets a little mushy if cooked in the pressure cooker. Also, I make the herb mix in advance using fresh herbs, then freeze it in recipe sized portions in small plastic bags with all the air removed from them. That way you can buy the herbs fresh, and then have them ready for the next batch.
A few times, I have used the leftovers for something like a seafood gumbo by adding some veggies and various kinds of shellfish to it then reheating it. I like it, but my family likes it just the way it is without anything else added to it. It is good with Jasmine rice, and fabulous with Try Me (R) Cajun Sunshine.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Red Beans & Rice
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very flavorful meal
January 6, 2012
I don't have a pressure cooker and put everything in the slow cooker.
I used the smoked ham steak and the flavor of ham itself became bland as it all came out into the broth which was very good though.
I just served with cornbread and it was an excellent meal!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Red Beans & Rice
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mrsjpvan2
SF Bay Area
December 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very delicious and simple to make
December 18, 2010
This is very simple and tasty. I might think of adding celery next time. I might cook a little longer than 33 minutes and add less water to 1 lb. dried red beans.
Review 7 for Red Beans & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TiffanyJoy
Lakeville, MN
November 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous and easy
November 15, 2010
This is a great dish! I simply bought a 1 lb ham steak for this recipe and it worked great. Since I don't have a pressure cooker, I made an easy improvisation: I cooked the meat in a 5 qt cast iron lidded pot. Removed the meat and cooked the onion in the fat. Then, I added everything back into the pot, put the lid on and baked it, at 325°F, for about 4 hours, stirring about once an hour to test. It's just my husband and me so I froze half right away, for a future 2 nights meals. We loved it with a little hot sauce!