Rack of Lamb with Herb and Mustard Crust

Coated with a simple herb crust, rack of lamb makes a dramatic presentation, especially when cut into double chops for serving. When placing the racks in the roasting pan, set them so the bones are crossed at the top.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Rack of Lamb with Herb and Mustard Crust
Review 1 for Rack of Lamb with Herb and Mustard Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
April 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple, elegant and good!
April 4, 2015
I made this for Passover dinner and received rave reviews from all! I pulsed matzo to use in place of breadcrumbs (had to make it PO friendly). I seared it in an extremely hot cast iron skillet. It's very important not to touch it at this point, don't be tempted to even wiggle it, leave it alone 2 full minutes plus a fewer seconds for cushion. I cooked it for the time and temp suggested (25 minutes), when I checked with a meat thermometer, temp registered 105 instead of recommended 130. I took it out anyway, tented with foil for the 15 min. wait time. It was perfectly medium rare and the center pieces were rare by the time we finished all the praying and thanking! The mustard does help with the gaminess and even the children liked it.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive
Review 2 for Rack of Lamb with Herb and Mustard Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tampa
,Fl
January 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Easy to make!
January 25, 2015
This is absolutely delicious! I have made it many times, and have doubled the recipe when entertaining. As others have said... make sure your sauté pan is screaming hot before you brown them or the crust will stick!! Try this recipe, it will make you look like a gourmet cook!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RichEWR
Central Jersey
Posted March 27, 2015
Which kind of pan did you use?
Stainless steel or nonstick?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Rack of Lamb with Herb and Mustard Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Brooklyn
,Ny
January 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Anniversary dinner
January 1, 2014
This meal looked very impressive and tasted wonderful. I agree with the other reviewer, make sure the pan is very hot before you sear and the breadcrumbs will stay on the lamb. Took around 35-40 minutes to cook to 130. I can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Appearance
Review 4 for Rack of Lamb with Herb and Mustard Crust
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Savannah
,GA
September 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Birthday dinner
September 7, 2013
While searing the lamb the coating remained in the skillet instead of the meat. Had to scrape up the crust and place it back on the lamb before finishing in the oven.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Review 5 for Rack of Lamb with Herb and Mustard Crust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Vallejo
,CA
April 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely delicious!
April 4, 2013
I chose this recipe for this past Easter dinner and it was divine! The recipe was straightforward and easy to follow.
The mustard helps take away some of the gaminess of the lamb, making it more palatable for more finicky eaters. For those of us that love lamb, it gives it a little extra bite but still allows the beauty of the lamb to shine through.
I cooked two racks, one weighing in at 1.81 pounds and one at 1.30 pounds at 25 minutes in the oven and they came out perfectly cooked - rare to medium rare. Make sure the pan is already hot when you drop in the racks to help seal the breadcrumbs to the rack of lamb, or you'll be sifting through flaming hot crumbs and trying to press them back on afterward!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again, beautiful presentation