Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

Here, we've embellished a basic buttercream frosting by adding unsweetened chocolate. Use this fluffy frosting to decorate cakes and cupcakes or as a filling for baked goods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
Review 1 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Livs
April 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Frosting EVER
April 14, 2013
This frosting is amazing. My husband who doesnt usually like sweets, was licking the bowl. I won't ever use another frosting recipe ever again. It was so good that I had a minny panic attack when I forgot where the recipe was
Review 2 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ZaZo
January 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
4of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very grainy and sweet
January 1, 2012
This frosting was perfect in look until i added the room temp melted chocolate.
as soon as i did that it solidified and made it very grainy.
any suggestions why this might have happened??
and taste was very sweet.....:(
Cons: Texture, Taste
Review 3 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsBMattingly
,anaheim
,ca
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
oh wow! seriously, W O W
December 27, 2011
my DH asked for vanilla cupcakes with chocolate frosting for his bday this year, and preferring to do it homemade, i stumbled upon your recipe. i chose it because, quite frankly, the picture looked like exactly what i wanted. seriously, way to go! this tastes just like my homemade fudge i make every Christmas and now, i'll be making this frosting all year round (because i only make the fudge in December). the only thing i needed to adjust was the amount of milk, but i was mixing in a very warm kitchen on a very dry day. A+++ I highly recommend this.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chambersdanger
,San Antonio
,tx
October 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick & Yummy
October 30, 2011
I halved the recipe and it was much more than I needed for a batch of cupcakes. It had great texture and was very tasty! I've already had three requests for the recipe, so I'm directing everyone to this site. I never go wrong with the recipes on this site. Thanks!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dafodil1
,Bedford
,TX
October 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
yummy frosting
October 7, 2011
I made this frosting for a three layer cake. I only made 3/4 of the recipe and it was just enough. I also used cold coffee instead of milk to make it more of a mocha flavor. It is delicious. It has rich chocolate flavor, not too sweet, and somehow seems more sophisticated than the usual chocolate buttercream. The texture was a little stiff and didn't spread super easy. I suppose I should have added a little more liquid...it isn't the prettiest cake I've made, but overall worked very well.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Cons: Appearance
Review 6 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
qd4159
,Washington
,DC
September 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply delicious
September 10, 2011
I have been searching for a good chocolate buttercream recipe that wasn't overly sweet. This frosting is the perfect balance. Just the right amount of chocolate and won't cause a tooth ache. This is my new go-to recipe!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jenniter97
South Dakota
June 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WONDERFUL!
June 25, 2011
I have been getting into the selling of cupcakes. I had been using buttercream calling for crisco and cocoa. The first couple of crisco frosting turned out ok, then they started tasting "burnt"! Who wants burnt choc tasting frosting?! I came across the recipie and was a bit nervous since I hadn't tried it before and the cupcakes needed to be out of my house within the hour. Well lets just say that right now this is my go to choice! It's creamy thick and rich! It piped very nice on the cupcakes. I did make a few adjustments. I didn't use the milk, I was out and did have some evaporated milk however I don't think these will be consumed right away, I did use water to thin it out no worries. And I was out of vanilla which was a suprise to me until I started mixing everything. Still really good frosting! Can't imagine how it would be with the right stuff!!
Good Luck! Although you won't need it =)
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 8 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CarlyT
Minneapolis, MN
January 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super quick and delicious!
January 26, 2011
This is really easy to throw together and has true chocolate flavor. I made it in the morning before school and it was done and on the cupcakes in less than half an hour!
Review 9 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bakinggirl9
Long Beach, Ca
November 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Restaurant Quality
November 9, 2010
This recipe is extremely easy and delicious. I look forward to using it over and over again. It was a great buttercream even before I added the chocolate. I had to make it early in the day and refrigerate it. I had a hard time bringing it back to life. Any suggestions?
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
TinaF
Lake Stevens, WA
Posted September 17, 2011
Rewhip
Next time this happens, try covering the bowl with a damp cloth.
As for once you take it out of the fridge, add a little milk and re-whip.
0points
Customer avatar
ghraham
Grass Valley Ca
Posted February 5, 2011
A buttercream will do fine without refrigeration for several days - just make sure it doesn't get too warm.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DianeO
Brooklyn
October 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow - So Easy Yet So Truly Good
October 23, 2010
I am not a fancy frosting maker but hate the canned stuff. Made this for daughter's birthday tonight and this is now my official recipe to be handed down. Totally tasted like I slaved for hours. Made more than I needed for two-layer 9-inch cake - could probably do about 2/3rds as much and be fine.
Review 11 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drollingcakelover
Frisco, Texas
July 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great tasting and quick
July 30, 2010
I was looking for a great tasting buttercream frosting that actually tastes like chocolate and this recipe does not disappoint at all..
it was quick and delicious..
and no need for shortening which makes things look stiff and less tasty..
Yummy :)
Review 12 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EmM2010
Oregon
May 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Easy, Super Good
May 28, 2010
This buttercream frosting is very rich and creamy. It's great for frosting cakes because it's firm but very workable. And best of all it's a buttercream but you don't feel like you're eating butter (like most frostings). Highly recommend this recipe.
Review 13 for Quick Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bakerchick
Fountain Valley, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rich chocolate flavor!
April 30, 2010
I like this chocolate buttercream recipe for the rich chocolate flavor that most standard chocolate buttercreams lack. It is my favorite chocolate frosting.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NikkiG
Posted December 12, 2010
Awesome recipe!
I've made some less than ideal buttercream frosting in my day, and this came out perfectly with so little work! It tasted great without the chocolate too.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)