Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Pumpkin Ice Cream

To make your own pumpkin puree, use 1 large or 2 medium Sugar Pie or other eating (not field) pumpkins. Cut out the stem and quarter the pumpkin lengthwise. In a preheated 400deg.F oven, bake the quarters, cut side down, in a shallow roasting pan with a little water in the bottom until tender, about 1 hour. Let cool, scrape out the seeds, cut the flesh from the peels, and force it through a medium-mesh sieve or the medium disk of a food mill. Freeze any leftover puree for up to 2 months.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pumpkin Ice Cream
Review 1 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pittsfield
,MA
October 31, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My First Love!
October 31, 2016
When I first bought an ice cream maker years ago, I asked my husband what flavor ice cream he'd like. When he said "pumpkin", I was sure I'd never find a recipe for it. But when I searched the Web, this recipe appeared and it has been his and my favorite ever since. It's absolutely delicious and a favorite of everyone we've served it to.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Quick, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Doylestown
,PA
November 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Alternative to Pumpkin Pie!
November 17, 2014
I originally made this as an alternative to the traditional pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. So I made this recipe 1 month ahead to see if the boys/men in my house would like it....liked it, they LOVED IT!!! Very creamy and a great flavor...a little time consuming, but all homemade cooked ice cream takes time. My original idea did not go as planned, as my household now wants BOTH this ice cream AND pumpkin pie made on Thanksgiving. Oh well, no matter what, you won't be disappointed with this recipe.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
srash
Fort Myers, Florida
Posted September 2, 2016
Funny review!
I love your review.I read it to my husband .We both laughed because this would happen in my family as well.They would end up wanting me to make both! I will have to make this Ice cream!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Carlsbad
,CA
October 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
9of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First time making ice cream!
October 21, 2012
We were at our local Trader Joes the other day where we were handed a sample of their pumpkin ice cream, my son was ecstatic at his first taste of ice cream. After looking at the ingredients (carmel coloring) I decided to attempt to make my own. This recipe was intimidating considering I've never made ice cream before. But, my 2 year old and I went for it and I'm SO glad we did! We used our own homemade pumpkin puree, which I think is neat since it helps make the connection of the real pumpkin going into the ice cream for my son. We try to avoid all processed foods, we used all organic ingredients, and even substituted the brown sugar with maple syrup following the mention in another review. It turned out great! Thanks for the great recipe!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,san diego
,ca
July 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
instead of pie
July 31, 2012
This was easy to make. I didn't do the ice bath; but I did let it cool down in fridge for 2hrs. My husband loved it; its just like eatting pumpkin pie.. I did replace 1 cup of heavy cream for whole milk. Next time I might cut heavy cream out completely. Great for those who love pumpkin.
Pros: Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again