Pumpkin Coffee Cake with Brown Sugar-Pecan Streusel

Lighter than you would expect, with the rich flavor of pumpkin and spices, and a thick layer of crunchy brown sugar and pecan streusel, this coffee cake would make an ideal dish for the winter holidays or for a festive autumn brunch. Serve with big steaming cups of joe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pumpkin Coffee Cake with Brown Sugar-Pecan Streusel
Review 1 for Pumpkin Coffee Cake with Brown Sugar-Pecan Streusel
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sweni100
,Va
October 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Presents Well On Your Table for Guests
October 29, 2013
When I make pumpkin dessert, I do so because I want the flavor -- and this could have had a full cup of pumpkin and I may try that in the future. To be fair, I got distracted and forgot to add 1/2 the strudel in the dough so I put it all on top, which was still awesome and added to the presentation -- no one knew my mistake :) I used 4 tsp of whole milk in the topping instead of 1 tsp because it was too thick and would not spread. The additional milk allowed my to drizzle the topping all over the cooked studel cake which was beautiful Only gave 4-stars because it was very good tasting, light, and airy cake, but pumpkin cake should have more pumpkin flavor. I believe this recipe deserved the additional flavor and would have been awesome even to those who aren't big on pumpkin.
Pros: Easy, Appearance
Review 2 for Pumpkin Coffee Cake with Brown Sugar-Pecan Streusel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsBW
,San Diego
,CA
October 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pumpkin Perfection!
October 27, 2013
Love this recipe! It's light and not too sweet. It has just the perfect touch of pumpkin. My husband loved it! I will definitely make this recipe agin and again!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Pumpkin Coffee Cake with Brown Sugar-Pecan Streusel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,Ge
Marietta, GA
October 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Fall dessert
October 11, 2013
This was very good coffee cake. Not too much pumpkin flavor, similar to spice cake. My stepdaughter who doesn't like pumpkin ate more than a piece!
I used walnuts instead of pecans.
I used natural cane sugar instead of brown sugar.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 4 for Pumpkin Coffee Cake with Brown Sugar-Pecan Streusel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BusyBaker7
February 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Melts in your mouth!
February 8, 2013
This recipe is superb even tough I ould agree with some of the other reviews that it is not very pumpkiny. It is a favorite in my house and guaranteed to disappear fast!
Review 5 for Pumpkin Coffee Cake with Brown Sugar-Pecan Streusel
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Brownie29
November 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not very pumpkiny
November 3, 2012
This is pretty good; however it is your basic streusal coffee cake. If you are looking for a more prominent pumpkin flavor, you may not want to make this. It tastes even better the next day as the flavors develop and it looks pretty if made from a bundt pan, but I'm not sure I would make it again. The other 2 pumpkin bread recipes on this site (orange spiced pumpkin bread and the pumpkin bread w/ dates) are much better in terms of great pumpkin flavor.
Pros: Easy, Appearance
Review 6 for Pumpkin Coffee Cake with Brown Sugar-Pecan Streusel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeatherT
,Tucson
,AZ
October 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great mix of textures and flavors
October 28, 2012
Super tasty fall breakfast or dessert. I substituted nonfat Greek yogurt for the sourcream and it turned out moist and with great fluffy texture.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 7 for Pumpkin Coffee Cake with Brown Sugar-Pecan Streusel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BookwormAlberta
September 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Cake for Autumn
September 26, 2012
It's been getting colder here in Alberta, and I decided I needed to bake something "autumny". This cake fit the bill to a T. Everyone loved it!
It's rich but not heavy, a moist and very flavorful cake that is perfect with a cup of coffee, and you will not believe how wonderful your home smells while this is baking! This recipe is definitely a keeper in our home.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Pumpkin Coffee Cake with Brown Sugar-Pecan Streusel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KathrynMarie
,Danville
,CA
March 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
"Moist and Delicious"
March 25, 2012
I was searching for a coffee cake recipe and I've been trying to bake something different. We all love pumpkin and pecans...and this definitely filled that craving.
Yes, it seems time-consuming but well worth the effort. After the streusel ingredients were all together, I stored in the fridge. Possibly, because the topping was a bit cool, it was very simple to spread the top layer of batter. Next time I will bake in a tube pan (angel food cake pan) to see if the finished cake will be taller. Mine seemed to shrink. I used a springform pan. I needed to add a bit more milk to the glaze.
Moist and delicious - the effort's worth the time.
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Will Make Again