Pumpkin Bread with Dates

The handsome date palm flourishes in the desert climates of the Middle East and North Africa and in Southern California. The buttery rich fruits grow in large bunches containing up to a thousand dates. Varying from oval to elongated, they have a paper-thin skin and a long pit. Dates are classified as soft, semidry or dry, according to their moisture content. Medjool, Khadrawy and Halawy are the commonly marketed soft dates. Deglet Noor and Zahidy are the most popular semidry dates. Whole and pitted dates are available year-round.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
Review 1 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luvs2eat
,Centennial
,Co
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful home baked treat
August 25, 2013
My husband and I have really enjoyed this bread. The dates give the bread a great flavor and texture. It does need to bake the full 70 minutes, as the center was to soft.
Will make this again.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 2 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SnoringPugs
,Huntington Beach
,CA
December 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite pumpkin bread recipe
December 20, 2011
I've probably made this bread at least 9 times now, and it comes out perfect every time. It's a very simple and straightforward recipe; anyone can make it. I find it takes the full 70 mins. instead of 60.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LJB36
,Chula Vista
,CA
October 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious quick recipe
October 6, 2011
I used this recipe last fall and I loved it! I substituted pecans instead of dates; If you use a dark coated pan be sure to lower temperature as mine did brown a little too much, but it was delicious!
Pros: Quick, Easy
Review 4 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SherylofCali
April 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Memories of Family and Holidays
April 17, 2011
I really enjoyed this bread. The dates gave it a nice texture, making it a little bit chewy like a soft gingerbread man. And the pumpkin and spices just automatically bring back memories of childhood and the warmth of the holidays. Who says you can't enjoy it in April?
The recipe says to serve cool, but I also really enjoyed warm out of the oven.
Be sure to check the center with a toothpick, because the crust on mine made the bread look done at 60 minutes, but it was still gooey and needed the full 70 minutes.
If want the taste of gingerbread and pumpkin pie mixed into one, try this recipe. It was really a great comfort food and made the house smell fabulous!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AbiC
Texas
January 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Pumpkin Bread
January 19, 2011
This quick bread is scrumptious! It is my new favorite bread. The combination of spices with pumpkin and dates is phenomenal. I have made it several times. I love it! Treat yourself to a delicious morsel, enjoy! :D
Review 6 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tcmorley
Wappingers Falls, NY
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pumpkin Bread
January 18, 2011
I have tried at least 7 different breads and this is the best...comes out perfect everytime and so moist....
Review 7 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kimberlina01
Fort Lauderdale, FL
November 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE BEST !!
November 30, 2010
I made this on the Sunday before Thanksgiving because i was going out of town. Wrapped it in plastic wrap & tin-foil. Froze it. On Wednesday night we defrosted it. Forgot about it and rediscovered it the Saturday AFTER Thanksgiving. It was still so moist and perfect. Everyone said it was better than the actual T-day deserts. I have requests to make it again.
Make this! Your belly will thank you.
Review 8 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mkofahl
College Station, TX
October 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Reliable Seasonal Crowd-Pleaser
October 31, 2010
I prepared this recipe using freshly-roasted pumpkin instead of canned, and omitting the dates. The result was wonderfully moist, delicately spiced and flavorful, and immediately consumed! Adding walnuts or pecans would add a nice change in texture, if you also omit the dates (I feared they would be too sweet).
To prepare your own fresh-roasted pumpkin, simply place a whole small pie-pumpkin in the oven at 350 for about an hour-and-a-half, or until a knife can be inserted easily. Once cool, scrape out seeds and then the pulp can also be scraped out and used as-is or pureed further. I used as-is, with no detriment to texture. A small pie-pumpkin yielded two cups of usable puree for me...more or less.
Review 9 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alyciamarie118
Chicago, IL
October 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Blend of Spices and Flavors
October 22, 2010
Perfect texture, moistness, flavors, and super easy to make. I made my own pumpkin puree, used medjool dates, and grape seed oil for the recipe, and it turned out just lovely. I would highly recommend this as a family favorite or that perfect hostess gift during the fall season. I plan on making this again and again.
Review 10 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MIcheleAnne
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pumpkin Bread with Dates
May 1, 2010
One day I was searching for a pumpkin bread recipe, and happened upon this one from Williams-Sonoma. Since trying the recipe it has become one of my favorite go-to recipes, as it is so delicious and easy to prepare. The texture is perfect, as is the wonderful combination of spices, and the addition of dates gives the bread an exotic flavor. The recipe is also easy to multiply. I have made it for family and friends many times, and for bake sale fundraisers. It is a definite crown pleaser, and one that I highly recommend. It will quickly become one of your favorite recipes too.
Review 11 for Pumpkin Bread with Dates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cativa
California
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist & Delicious
April 30, 2010
I add pecans to the recipe and it makes it a perfect cross between pumpkin and date nut bread, both of which I love. This is a recipe that I have gone back to over and over again.