Pound Cake

A slice of pound cake is buttery, rich and delicious all by itself, but it takes well to additions, too. Vary this cake's flavor by omitting the almond extract and stirring in 1 tsp. finely grated lemon zest, 2 Tbs. fresh lemon juice and 1 Tbs. poppy seeds, or 2 Tbs. minced crystallized ginger. If you like almond, add the optional almond extract and sprinkle sliced almonds on top before baking. You can also top the slices with fresh fruit.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pound Cake
Review 1 for Pound Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saje
Dayton, NJ
December 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pound Cake
December 24, 2012
I made this pound cake twice and everyone loves it. My families new favorite dessert!!
Review 2 for Pound Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
krissypoo
,los angeles
,ca
March 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
really great recipe
March 16, 2012
super easy to make. i wanted a summery flavor so i modified with 2 tbs tangerine juice, 1 tsp tangerine zest and used a mix of white sugar and vanilla sugar. kitchen smelled like orange blossoms. yummy!
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Pound Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sydney28
,Denver
,CO
October 15, 2011
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection!!
October 15, 2011
Simple to make. Perfect every time. Once the pound cake has cooled I split it in half lengthwise, add whipping cream & strawberries, add the top layer and top with more whipping cream & strawberries. Always the first to go at potlucks!
Review 4 for Pound Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladybug1
Garden Grove, CA
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pound Cake Ever!
March 21, 2011
This is the best pound cake. Comes out perfect everytime. I make this with vanilla sugar and it is so delicious. My father in law who is usually very quiet could not stop raving about this pound cake.
Review 5 for Pound Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cinlee89
somerset, nj
November 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfection
November 7, 2010
quick simple and delish! baking time was a little off, glad i checked on the cake after 55 minutes. cake was done. i have an electric oven, not sure if that had anything to do with the adjusted baking time.
Review 6 for Pound Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Priyangi
Fairfield, CT
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and Moist!
April 30, 2010
This is the perfect recipe for a simple dessert. I have made this dozens of times and it always comes out being incredibly moist. I like to add a scoop of vanilla ice cream to each serving and voila you have a small piece of melt in mouth heaven!