Potato Gratin

Because russets have a lower moisture and higher starch content than most other potatoes, they are ideal for baking and are excellent in gratins. A mandoline will ensure uniformly sliced potatoes, the key to making a perfect, tender gratin.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potato Gratin
Review 1 for Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenNJ
,North Arlington
,NJ
December 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent side dish...
December 31, 2013
This is a delicious side dish! Yes, its time consuming and a mandoline makes all the difference, but its worth it and always a crowd-pleaser. I add white cheddar for a little more flavor.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Potato Gratin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BrandonUK07
Louisville, KY
May 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-9points
1of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst tasting gratin ever.
May 22, 2011
I tried to make this gratin recipe and while simple to make, the taste was very strong. If you have never heard of, nor tasted Gruyère cheese, I would refrain from this recipe. The cheese carries a very strong odor, so much in fact that even with our back door open and over the head hood venting to the outside, we smelled this dish up until the next day. This was also a very time consuming dish to make.
Cons: Taste, Ingredients, Lengthy
Review 3 for Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMHinCT
April 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Rich side dish
April 21, 2011
Serve this with a simple red meat, nothing stuffed or very complex because it is a very rich side dish; very tasty and relatively easy. Good for holidays/dinner parties because you can prepare and assemble ahead of time then bake it just before serving; it can also sit for a while before serving and because of the layers, it stays hot...really good,
Review 4 for Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Silver Spring, MD
December 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gone in 60 seconds
December 18, 2010
Year after year this dish gets rave reviews - and there are rarely left-overs. At our community holiday party this evening my serving dish was left clean and I recieved several requests to make more next time (and a couple of recipe inquiries).
Review 5 for Potato Gratin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LilLiMia
Boston, MA
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Thanksgiving
November 26, 2010
Was a great recipe for my Thanksgiving. Fed 6 people. I would season it a little more the next time. Otherwise great.
Review 6 for Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EdnaVN
Century City, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fancy but Easy.......
April 30, 2010
First time I made this recipe was for Christmas eve with 4 people guest at our house. Everyone was pretty impressed including my mother in law who is french and said "my gratin is better than hers"
Review 7 for Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mimsy
Half Moon Bay Ca
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Classic Potato Gratin
April 30, 2010
This recipe is easy to prepare as it eliminates 2 of the usual steps: putting the potatoes as you slice them into cold water to keep them from turning brown, and pre-simmering them in the cream before layering them in the dish. In this super easy recipe, the sliced potatoes go right into the mixing bowl with the cream mixture, and then into the baking dish. The result is a cheesy golden, rich and creamy classic taste of France; the perfect accompaniment to a main dish. I also serve it as a main course, with roasted asparagus and tomatoes on the side. Delicious!