Potato and Onion Gratin

The potatoes, onions and garlic in this crusty gratin require a good deal of baking time for absolute tenderness. Make sure the baking dish you choose is large enough for the top of the potatoes to be well below the rim; otherwise, the milk and cream may bubble over.The potatoes should be sliced to a uniform thickness so they cook evenly. A mandoline is a good tool for slicing the potatoes. Any leftovers can be reheated in a 300deg.F oven for 8 to 10 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potato and Onion Gratin
Review 1 for Potato and Onion Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebKelly
,Barrington
,IL
April 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
April 2, 2013
I have made this many times and it is always a hit. A great side dish as is ,and easily turned into a main course with the addition of layering in chopped ham. My entire family loves it! Making it tomorrow with the leftover Easter Ham.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Potato and Onion Gratin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
luvs2bake
March 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious, easy
March 17, 2012
We will definitely make this again, although I apparently didn't go crazy enough on the seasonings. I felt it needed a bit more flavor. I would also prefer the onions layered more throughout rather than the way the recipe has it. I will change that next time. Even without the changes, the recipe is a keeper. Recommend.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: attn at 10-min intervals for 1 - 1 1/2 hours
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Potato and Onion Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feedme
Boston, MA
February 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great side dish
February 17, 2011
This recipe always comes out so perfect. Basting the potatoes every 10 minutes isn't as bothersome as I thought it would be and well worth it. The flavor is wonderful.
Review 4 for Potato and Onion Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angela0317
HIngham, MA
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy
January 11, 2011
Very easy and very yummy! Would be a great compliment to any meal. The nutmeg gave it great flavor.
Review 5 for Potato and Onion Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lolita
Naples, FL
June 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dish to bring to a party
June 12, 2010
This recipe is so easy.....My kid's even loved it....I added a little cheese the second time I made it and of course it was another hit!!!
Review 6 for Potato and Onion Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KathyV
Mpls, MN
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Potato Dish for any occasion
April 30, 2010
I have actually made this recipe a few diffferent times and it is always a hit. You hardly even know the onions are in the dish after it is baked. I received several compliments and requests to make it again.