Potato and Celery Root Gratin with Gruyere

With a flavor that echoes common celery, the gnarled, knobby brown root bulb known as celery root, or celeriac, also has a pronounced nutty, earthy taste. It's often paired with potatoes, as in this rich, creamy gratin. Use a mandoline or food processor to cut the celery root and potatoes into thin, uniform slices.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potato and Celery Root Gratin with Gruyere
Review 1 for Potato and Celery Root Gratin with Gruyere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nornels1
,Mandeville
,lA
November 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Gratin!
November 22, 2014
I have had more raves over this recipe. Delicious and different than any other.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Potato and Celery Root Gratin with Gruyere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KikiS
,FL
November 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Potato Dish!
November 20, 2013
This was the best potato dish I have ever made! Even my very picky kids liked it! We couldn't get enough and can't wait to make it again!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Potato and Celery Root Gratin with Gruyere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MSPrisco
,FL
October 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Thanksgiving Hit
October 24, 2013
This recipe went over so well with my family last year that I'll be making it again this year. However, I'm going to have to make a lot more of it!
We had about 20 people for dinner, and I figured there would be plenty more food for everyone and they would likely just take a small portion of this dish. Well, the casserole dish was clean by the end of the evening. Everyone wanted some for their doggy bags (even the kids, don't tell them it's celery!!), and there was none left.
This year, I'm going to triple the recipe and make it in an oversized baking dish. I may also add a couple more layers, as I didn't think it ended up thick enough.
Also, while the celery root is a great flavor, when I triple the recipe, I'll probably use 5 lbs. of potatoes and 4 lbs. of celery root. It can be a little overwhelming, especially since the potato absorbs even more of the flavor during cooking.
Overall, highly recommended; a very versatile/open to tweaking sort of dish!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again, delicious
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 4 for Potato and Celery Root Gratin with Gruyere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karla211
,Manlius
,NY
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome recipe!
December 30, 2012
The recipe is very easy and tastes delicious. My grocery ran out of celery root so I just used all potatoe and it was still wonderful. I have made it twice this week.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 5 for Potato and Celery Root Gratin with Gruyere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sushirama
,Encino
,CA
December 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great side dish
December 24, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a hit. Loved the gruyere with the celery root. Never really made anything with celery root before, but it was delicious.
Pros: Easy