Pot-au-Feu

Translated as "pot on the fire," this hearty French peasant dish combines beef and vegetables simmered in a seasoned broth. Condiments such as horseradish and mustard add a flavor boost to the finished stew.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pot-au-Feu
Review 1 for Pot-au-Feu
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MJMarlin
,Centerville
,OH
August 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sunday dinner
August 22, 2012
I have prepared this in the past, although not recently. The weather is cooling down and with football season here now is a great time to make it again.
My husband and I love this and the first time I ever made it had a couple friends over and they loved it as well.
Pros: Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Pot-au-Feu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PickyTaster
Western NY
May 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
French comfort food at its best
May 26, 2011
This recipe reminded me of something my mom would cook on a Sunday. A perfect comfort, slow cooked meal. The beef did come out a bit dry but that's the way it came out when my mom did it too (we're of French descent). If you put some broth on top of the meat at serving time, it will be juicy and tender. The veggies are also overcooked but that's the way it is supposed to be. Found it very tasty, easy to make and had lots of leftovers. The appearance does not make me want to serve it to guests but the taste will make me make it again.
Review 3 for Pot-au-Feu
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Doylestown, PA
October 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tried it last night - do not waste your time!
October 24, 2010
I prepare a lot of great French recipes from the W-S site. My family loves them. Saw this dish raved about in the food section of the paper and looked up the recipe on W-S. I prepared it last night...all fresh ingredients. It is truly terrible and my family loudly told me what I already knew! If you follow the instructions to the letter (I did), the meat is overcooked, the vegetables do not compliment the flavor and the bouquet conflicts with both the broth and spices. It is no wonder the French peasants revolted...if this was on their menu it must have been the cause! Do not waste your time, money or effort!
Review 4 for Pot-au-Feu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
packsaddlelady
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy company dinner
May 14, 2010
My family loves this soup. I serve it for dinner in soup bowls. I make it in the morning and serve it with a salad, bread and dessert. It's so good and so easy.