Pork-Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

Various renditions of this Eastern European staple are found in Poland, Hungary and Austria. Here, the sweet-and-sour balance of the pork stuffing and braising liquid highlights the traditional flavors. The stuffed cabbage can be prepared a few hours ahead and reheated. Serve with buttered egg noodles.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pork-Stuffed Cabbage Rolls
Review 1 for Pork-Stuffed Cabbage Rolls
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gourmetmom
,Fillmore
,CA
Fillmore, CA
March 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too labor intensive
March 22, 2014
I was so excited to try making this recipe. It's too bad that I found it to be just average. I think that the caraway seeds were just too much. If I make this again, I will omit them. It's really labor intensive too. I'm being generous with the 3 stars; 2 1/2 stars reflects more how I felt about it.
Pros: Yield, Appearance
Cons: Taste, Lengthy
Review 2 for Pork-Stuffed Cabbage Rolls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joyr
October 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great take on polish piggies
October 1, 2012
My Nana made pork stuffec cabbage rolls all the time while I was growing up, but we called them piggies. I have made this recipe twice and really like it. I was worried that the pork was too fatty so I used half pork and half turkey and was pleased with the results. My aunt, who also grew up eating piggies loved the recipes and plans to share it with our polish relatives.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 3 for Pork-Stuffed Cabbage Rolls
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dweener
,Palm Springs
,CA
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
prepping the cabbage
November 21, 2011
I started making stiffed cabbage rolls a few years ago the way my grandmother made them. Forget boiling the cabbage leaves; it's time consuming and tedious. I freeze my cabbage heads and take them out the night before the day I am preparing to make my rolls. The cabbage heads will thaw out and then take a sharp knife and cut the core out..the leaves peel off like butter, the center vein is very easy to cut off and are soft and extremely manageable to stuff.
Review 4 for Pork-Stuffed Cabbage Rolls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenniferH
Sonoma County, CA
August 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Hearty Weekend Dish
August 24, 2010
I made this recipe more than once and my husband and I have always been very pleased with the results. Generally speaking, whenever I make anything with a sauce, I tend to double the recipe for the sauce because my husband I love lots of sauce for eating and dipping bread in or pouring over mashed potatoes or such. Perhaps for this reason I did not have any problems with the pork filling being dry -- mine have always turned out moist. If you are a fan of cabbage rolls, I recommend trying this version (and perhaps doubling the sauce). The raisins are a nice touch, too.
Review 5 for Pork-Stuffed Cabbage Rolls
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ajoyce
New York, NY
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Won't make this again
May 15, 2010
The pork filling was a little dry. The tomato based sauce however was a nice touch. I think the recipe should have called for 2 cans crushed tomato instead of 1. Don't think I will make this again though.