Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

One of America's most popular desserts for almost a century, the pineapple upside-down cake was once known as a skillet cake because it was baked on the stovetop in a cast-iron pan. Here, the cake is made in our specially designed pan, which features indentations to hold the pineapple rings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
Review 1 for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LauralH
Williamstown, MA
November 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sweet Treat
November 24, 2013
This cake recipe is very good and very easy. I will say though that it is also very sweet so if you prefer less sweet desserts this may be borderline ok. I would also check cooking times and keep en eye on the cake- mine was done 20 minutes "early" and I have a convection oven. A nice choice for the summertime especially.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cutietart
Midland, TX
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Recipe!
February 6, 2011
I have never made pineapple upside down cake, but decided to try it since it is one of my boyfriend's favorites. It turned out even better than I imagined. Everyone who tried it agreed- it was the best they had ever tasted!
Review 3 for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bdeen
Denver, CO
January 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A perfect pineapple upside down cake
January 16, 2011
It has a very caramel topping to it that makes it out of this world.
I use a cast iron skillet to make this cake, line the bottom with wax paper, makes it easy to pop out of the pan.
It's good warm, but better once it's cooled.
Review 4 for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mandygirl77
south jersey
November 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
rum-tastic!
November 22, 2010
my father's favorite cake ever. easy and delicious. i make two cakes for father's day one for him and one for our guests.
Review 5 for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
palmis
DC
September 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent and easy cake recipe
September 18, 2010
Great, great recipe. I did it with apples, it turn out fantastic.
Review 6 for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pooky1
Woolwich Twp, NJ
August 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
husbands favorite dessert
August 13, 2010
Easy, tastes great and makes for a happy husband. All of the recipes from this site are great and easy.
Review 7 for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NickSF
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
June 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummiest PUC ever.
June 16, 2010
If you like PUC, this is about as good a recipe as you can get. That said, everyone who tried this asked for seconds. If you are on a diet, this is not a recipe for you.
You can cut up the pineapple slices for even distribution.
Use a pan/vessel with high enough sides to prevent spills in the oven. A square high-temp glass pan also works.
If for some strange reason you want to embellish this, serve it with pistachio ice-cream (coconut is a close second choice).
Review 8 for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margaritaanyone
Syracuse, NY
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dessert for friends
April 30, 2010
This is my favorite pineapple upside down cake recipe. Instead of adding regular rum, I add coconut rum. I add cherries inside my pineapple's and I top with homemade whip cream. My friends & family love when I make this & I always get complimentson how good it is!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
gapohlman
St. Louis, MO
Posted December 24, 2010
Delicious Recipe!!
My grandmother always made pineapple upside-down cake and I am carrying on the tradition for our Christmas Eve dessert. I have made this for several years and it turns out perfect every time. It is so delicious!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)