Penne with Vodka Sauce

For a new spin on classic vodka sauce, add a splash of brandy or Cognac to the 1/3 cup vodka. Simply substitute 2 Tbs. brandy or Cognac for the 2 Tbs. vodka.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Penne with Vodka Sauce
Review 1 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
veggiegardener
,Chicago
,IL
April 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Boozy Mess!
April 16, 2014
This recipe is a boozy mess. It doesn't have the full depth of flavor but instead overpowers you with a hard alcohol bite.
A much better version is the one from America's Test Kitchen. Yes, it requires a bit more time and effort than a Food Made Fast recipe...but the end result is worth it.
Pros: Easy
Cons: Taste
Review 2 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brownbunnypinkhare
,greenwich
,ct
July 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome for a dinner party!
July 26, 2012
You can use fat free half and half to cut down on the fat, but it's great either way. I've also added 2 ounces of low fat cream cheese to make it even richer.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 3 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melanielovestocook
,Toronto
May 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow! So yummy!
May 28, 2012
I had never made my own penne with vodka sauce until I tried this recipe. My husband and I were really happy with how delicious it was. Absolutely not something a healthy diet should include more than once in a while, but a really yummy treat of a dinner!
Adding a side of veggies and some salad would round it out nicely (and may help you eat a little less of the pasta if you're worried about calories!).
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tishy
Mineola, NY
July 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crowd pleaser
July 10, 2011
I have made this recipe several times for different people and everyone loves it including myself. It is easy to make and it does not take that long to make. My only recommendation would be to cook the vodka sauce longer, otherwise the vodka taste is strong.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 5 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nyc83
New York, NY
June 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
heavy dish!
June 5, 2011
I know that penne with vodka sauce is an indulgence, but this recipe is definitely one of the heaviest versions I've eaten. The sauce comes out very velvety and smooth, but after about 3 bites it felt like I had to stop or I'd suffer from cardiac arrest. I'm gonna look for a way to lighten this up next time, perhaps by added fresh tomatoes or using less cream/butter.
Pros: Yield, Quick
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 6 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mnboater
Minnesota
May 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simplicity Makes It Great!
May 22, 2011
The true beauty of this recipe is its simplicity. I served with store-bought porcini filled tortellini for a quick, delicious dinner. The only thing I might change is starting with some sauteed garlic to feed the garlicohlic in me.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 7 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cvbpa
Philadelphia, PA
April 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & Delicious Variation
April 16, 2011
This was a very easy dish to prepare - and delicious. I did use the cognac as suggested, and thought it was a nice, subtle change to the usual penne alla vodka. Can easily substitute the fresh basil with dried if none on hand. I also added some peas for variety (though would be equally nice with a simple side salad, I think). Finished with a light dusting of Parmesan cheese - fantastic! My husband and I both had seconds happily :)
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 8 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saltsnail
San Francisco
April 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this recipe!
April 12, 2011
This meal was a big hit in our house. It was very easy to make. Husband even loved it despite the fact it is meatless (that's a first).
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sue4269
South carolina
April 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
After taste
April 10, 2011
At first taste very pleasant but left linging taste almost bitter.
Pros: Quick, Easy
Cons: Taste
Review 10 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jbcecil
Stanville, KY
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
January 27, 2011
Prepared this dish last night for my wife and myself and it was delicious! I used whole wheat pasta and paired it with Jean Farris Merlot. The next time I plan to add grilled chicken and pair with Pinot Noir. This recipe is a definite keeper and I give it my highest recommendation!
Review 11 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Clinton, CT
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This recipe is the BEST !!
December 30, 2010
This recipe is by far the best and easiest for Penne ala Vodka!!! You would be crazy not to try it. I give it a 15 on a scale of 1-10
Review 12 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RImom03
Kingston, RI
August 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
another fabulous hit in my house
August 26, 2010
I made this recipe and added several cloves of grated garlic and served it with grilled chicken. It was better than ordering out!!