Penne with Vodka Sauce

For a new spin on classic vodka sauce, add a splash of brandy or Cognac to the 1/3 cup vodka. Simply substitute 2 Tbs. brandy or Cognac for the 2 Tbs. vodka.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Penne with Vodka Sauce
Review 1 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheDailyTasteTester
,Diamond Bar
,Ca
May 27, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick, Easy and Fantastic
May 27, 2014
I've made this recipe about six times now, so I've had time to work with it. The first time I made it with substandard vodka, and I honestly just threw it out. It was bitter, overly boozy and had a bite that wasn't exactly what I wanted for a nice dinner. I decided to give it a second try and bought a better quality vodka (quality is everything and makes the biggest difference in this recipe, where the vodka is a prominent flavor anyways) and used red chile pepper flakes instead (which gives it a nice kick), and I added about four times the amount of basil (2 TBS was not nearly enough for me) and a splash more of the vodka. It's easy, quick, and my family requests it often.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 2 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eliserose
April 29, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Penne Vodka
April 29, 2014
This is the best penne vodka recipe I've tried. I don't add the extra TBS of vodka and I cook it a little longer to cook off the alcohol. It is nice and creamy and super easy.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
veggiegardener
,Chicago
,IL
April 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Boozy Mess!
April 16, 2014
This recipe is a boozy mess. It doesn't have the full depth of flavor but instead overpowers you with a hard alcohol bite.
A much better version is the one from America's Test Kitchen. Yes, it requires a bit more time and effort than a Food Made Fast recipe...but the end result is worth it.
Pros: Easy
Cons: Taste
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TheDailyTasteTester
Posted May 27, 2014
Poor Quality Alcohol?
Hi Veggiegardener,
What kind of vodka did you use? I made this the first time with Burnett's Vodka from Trader Joe's and it was so absolutely awful that I just threw it out (shows me for buying $5.99 vodka). I decided to give it a second chance and made it with Tito's which made all the difference in the world. Adding more basil and red chile pepper flakes also helps, and I saw one reviewer comment that she was going to add garlic, which I might try next time. Give it another chance and you might be pleasantly surprised. =)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brownbunnypinkhare
,greenwich
,ct
July 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome for a dinner party!
July 26, 2012
You can use fat free half and half to cut down on the fat, but it's great either way. I've also added 2 ounces of low fat cream cheese to make it even richer.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 5 for Penne with Vodka Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melanielovestocook
,Toronto
May 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow! So yummy!
May 28, 2012
I had never made my own penne with vodka sauce until I tried this recipe. My husband and I were really happy with how delicious it was. Absolutely not something a healthy diet should include more than once in a while, but a really yummy treat of a dinner!
Adding a side of veggies and some salad would round it out nicely (and may help you eat a little less of the pasta if you're worried about calories!).
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again