Peach Streusel Coffee Cake

Any peach variety is delicious in this coffee cake, from fruits that are bright yellow-orange with a rosy blush to those that are the palest white. Even ripe peaches, however, may be difficult to peel. To peel them easily, bring a saucepan three-fourths full of water to a boil. Using a small, sharp knife, cut a shallow X on the blossom end of each peach. Immerse the peaches in the boiling water for 20 to 30 seconds. Lift out with a slotted spoon and let cool on a work surface. Using your fingers or the knife, slip off the skins.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
Review 1 for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CupcakeLuv
,Virginia Beach
,VA
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the best
August 13, 2012
I used wonderful peaches for this recipe and the cake did nothing but bring them down. Competing almond flavor just didn't mesh well with the peaches. I love WS recipes but this is the first flop. I was going to make a second one to gift but certainly not now. It looks beautiful...I may try it again without the almond extract.
Cons: Taste
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Micha3ygirl
,Montreal
September 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Light and delicious!
September 17, 2011
I made this cake with white peaches and it was delicious. My husband really loved it! The cake was fluffy, the peaches gave a nice sweet touch, and the crumble topping added the perfect crunchy texture. Great recipe! I also patted the peaches dry with a paper towel so that it wouldn't con out soggy. It worked. Enjoy! It's a definite repeat
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Lugano, Switzerland
September 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent cake!
September 5, 2011
This is wonderful! Turned out perfect the first time. We have a wild peach tree and I used those instead of "regular" peaches and it turned out awesome!
Review 4 for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bakingismyzen
Somerset, NJ
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A tip to avoid a soggy cake
August 29, 2011
The taste of the cake was great. First time I baked it, I tried it with the almond extract as the recipe indicated. Second time, I substituted the almond extract for Disaronno Liqueur. Both were good. I perferred the liqueur to the extract. The liqueur amount I used was more than the extract amount indicated.
TIP: Dry your peach slices with paper towels to avoid a soggy cake. It's best to add the slices in concentric circles. Namely, a ring of peaches around the perimeter of the pan and another ring near the center.
MY FIRST TIME FLOP: The first time I made this, I covered the batter with small chunks of peaches instead of slices. Result: A soggy mess!!
STREUSEL TOPPING TIP: Since I love nuts in my baked goods, I added chopped pecans in the streusel. I sprinkled SOME of the streusel on the batter, added the peach slices in concentric circles, then added the remaining streusel topping. This was to avoid a soggy cake. It was successful.
DELISH!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jlightfritz
washington state
August 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist flavorful coffee cake
August 18, 2011
My this for my daycare children for breakfast. It was a hit. Lightened up the recipe a little by not adding the streusel topping, sprinkled with sparkling sugar instead. Also I didn't have any almond extract on hand so I used KAF Princess Flavoring.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
atella731
Ann Arbor, MI
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impress your guests!
November 23, 2010
So much more than your average coffee cake, I'm always asked for the recipe.
Review 7 for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mashed
Waterloo, Ontario
August 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great! Delicious Cake!
August 2, 2010
I made this cake in the morning for some guests coming for afternoon lunch. It took no time at all, as long as you have the ingredients. I didn't have unsalted butter, so I used salted and just omitted the salt as indicated in the recipe! Delicious! Friends were asking for the recipe!
Review 8 for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vivki
Chicago, IL
July 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
July 16, 2010
I made this, the macademia nut and the raspberry struesel coffee cakes for a work breakfast this week. All were great, but the peach was everyone's favorite. All three were gone by noon.
Review 9 for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CandyC
Milwaukee, WI
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious
May 1, 2010
I have made this recipe multiple times. I enjoy bringing baked goods to the staff I work with and it is one of their favorites! Only change I make to the recipe is that I use a different streusel for the top. My streusel recipe is 1 1/2 C flour, 1/2 tsp kosher salt, 1/2 C brown sugar and 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 3/4 C melted unsalted butter. I then dust the top with powdered sugar. Delicious!
Review 10 for Peach Streusel Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KateL
Grand Rapids, MI
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffee Cake
April 30, 2010
This is a wonderful coffee cake that I've made numerous times for events. I love to make it during peach season and wouldn't hesitate to make it again.