Patatas Bravas

No one can resist these spicy potatoes. A favorite throughout Spain, they are especially popular in the lively tapas bars of Madrid. Some versions omit the broth, cooking the potatoes in a tomato mixture spiked with chilies. Other recipes, such as ours, call for adding aioli to the sauce to produce a smoother, richer consistency. Pour glasses of ice-cold beer to temper the heat of the peppers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Patatas Bravas
Review 1 for Patatas Bravas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marcela
,Fort Belvoir
,VA
February 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these Patatas!
February 28, 2014
This is my favorite patatas recipe. I play around with the red pepper flakes and other seasonings proportions. As the sauce at the very last minute before serving to keep the crunchiness of the patatas intact.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive
Review 2 for Patatas Bravas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
moreskinnydays
Long Beach, CA
July 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for potlucks
July 17, 2011
I made these for a Juicy (neighborhood lingo for potluck) and they were a hit. Potatoes are always a crowd pleaser but the spiciness makes them something special. This is an expensive dish as it uses so much olive oil. I would love to find a baked alternative. I didn't make the aioli as I have a strong dislike for anything mayonnaise based.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 3 for Patatas Bravas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LBCF776
Alexandria, VA
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Party food
February 6, 2011
Made this for tonight's Superbowl 2011 game. They were delicious. I didn't serve it with aioli, instead I served it with sour cream and it was perfect. Also, I suggest that you make the sauce first and then add the fried potatoes immediately. Soo delicious and actually very filling. Just went to a Spanish Tapas restaurant and it was extremely similar to their offering.
Review 4 for Patatas Bravas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Menumaven
Arlington, Texas
May 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Potatoes Perfecto!
May 4, 2010
These fiery, peppery potatoes are sure palate pleasers! They will enliven your appetizer menu. A creamy version of sauce supported by the alioli is a definite way to tame these nuggets. Keep our favorite cold beverage near as you pop these warm little tapas. Don't be at all surprised to have guests dancing 'round the bar in celebration. Perfecto!