Pasta alla Carbonara

This Roman pasta dish is traditionally made with guanciale-pork cheek that resembles unsmoked bacon and is cured with salt, pepper and sometimes garlic. Pancetta makes a fine substitute.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
18 of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pasta alla Carbonara
Review 1 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
csinensis
Lacey, WA
March 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Weeknight comfort food
March 4, 2014
So much flavor with so little effort. The sauce comes together while the spaghetti cooks. I used bacon and sub some pecorino with Parmesan. Served roasted cauliflower on the side once and it was very good. Very rich and very filling. Perfect for mid-week dinner after a hard day. Kids love it too.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxinecooks
,Clearwater Beach
,Fl
June 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone Loved It!!
June 8, 2012
Found the recipe in one of the W-S catalogs and made it as the main dish at dinner party. Everyone raved!! Have made it twice more for family gatherings with the same response. We love the full-flavor and sharpness of the Pecorino-Romano; I used a milder Parmesan when we had little ones that aren't used to the sharper flavor and it was still good! Even good as 'leftover' the next day; makes a good side to chicken and pork. Making it again next weekend for out-of-town guests. Thanks for sharing.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, rich flavors
Cons: careful with the salt.
Review 3 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dioane
,San Francisco
,CA
May 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pasta to Impress
May 10, 2012
I found this recipe in the magazine, and thought it would be a great new kind of pasta for my family. I substituted the panchetta w/ turkey bacon cut up in small pieces.. My family really enjoyed it & we are making it again this wkend for a potluck... I already know it will be a hit!!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodlandbird
,Woodland Park
,CO
May 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy and Adaptable
May 9, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times and it really is fool-proof. My family and I all enjoy the taste of the romano, but I have made it with parmesan which gave it a milder, sweeter taste that was just as delicious. I don't like how fatty pancetta is, so I originally made this recipe with prosciutto, but since have also made it with bacon (with grease blotted off) and with left over ham. The addition of spinach makes for a delicious one-bowl meal.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TwoRedShoes
,Washington
,DC
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty dinner in no time
January 31, 2012
This dish is easy to prepare and looks much more complicated then it is. The only changes I made were to the cooking order - I started the water first. I didn't take the pan off the range when adding the egg/cheese mix and as a result I had a very slight scramble. Just FYI.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 6 for Pasta alla Carbonara
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tip189
,Lake Geneva
,WI
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
January 7, 2012
This dish looks delicious in the picture. I was anxious to make it. I followed the recipe exactly. We did not like the strong, overpowering taste of the pecorino romano cheese. I would recommend substituting parmesan cheese. It is very easy to make and I think it would be much better with parmesan cheese.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable
Cons: Taste
Review 7 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LynnInWisc
Milwaukee WI
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great with pheasant
December 28, 2011
My husband is a pheasant hunter and I'm always looking for new recipes. For use with pheasant, I substituted standard bacon for the pancetta and added roasted breast meat of two pheasants. It turned out great. (The pheasant breasts were wrapped in bacon and slow roasted in chicken broth with onion and garlic prior to adding to the pasta.)
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wannabechef74
,Columbia
,MD
November 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Meal!
November 8, 2011
Saw this recipe in a Williams Sonoma catalog that showed up at the house and thought I would give it a shot for the family for something new. Very easy to make and it was excellent! It is very rich and satisfying and I plan to make it again very soon.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Pasta alla Carbonara
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
VERONICA77
,torino
,fl
TORINO, ITALY
October 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
MY ITALIAN RIGATONI ALLA CARBONARA
October 13, 2011
So...I am and live in Italy, and this is MY receip of rigatoni alla carbonara.
egg, replace the white with cream.
In a large pan without lid,fry half finely chopped onion in a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil.Add 120 grams of sweet Bacon sliced thin. Cook for about 10 minutes, so that the fat of the bacon will be disbanded and become golden.
in a bowl Beat egg yolks, cream and Parmesan cheese mixed with cheese. (Parmesan cheese is sweeter than pecorino and really like children!).
Cook RIGATONI pasta, for 3 you need about 250 grams ( my daughter prefers them to spaghetti because neither an italian child is able to fork spaghetti!).
When the pasta is ready, add in the pan, switch on again the bacon and adding two spoons of e.v.o. ( extra virgin oil, the best oil existing),
Skip the RIGATONI and continuously add cream prepared previously.The eggs must not be cooked! It's not an omelette!
Only at the end, preparring the dishes, add pepper.
Buon appetito!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again, complete
Cons: Ingredients, no water in the pan with bacon! not more than a sp
Review 10 for Pasta alla Carbonara
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tlamchop
,Denver
,CO
September 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Should have know that it was too plain to be good!
September 14, 2011
I usually like my food pretty plain and light on the salt. Considering the limit of ingredients called for in this recipe, I figured it had to be delicious. Unfortunately, I really did not like this dish at all. All it tasted like to me was pancetta, which is yummy, but the pasta really didn't taste like much like anything at all. Overall, I felt like I was eating bland noodles with pancetta bits. The saltiness of the pancetta was enough to salt the entire dish, I didn't add any additional salt. That wasn't the problem though, it was just very tasteless :(!
Pros: Quick
Cons: Taste
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Wedi
Laguna Beach, Ca
Posted November 5, 2011
Lack Flavor
Hi, I was taught this reciepe from an Italian man about 20 years we had a limit amount of food in the house so this is what he made.
I add about 3 to 6 cloves of garlic minced, and a dash of red pepper flakes.Cook with bacon I cook the pasta in chicken broth, I don't had the egg. But I do add italian parsley.and Parmason cheese. This is one of our favorite pasta dishes.
Give it a try, also regular smoked bacon also has more flavor just add ground peper to it when you cook it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Greenport
,NY
September 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, gourmet, delicious!
September 13, 2011
I made this last night with fresh, homemade fettuccine pasta. After the bacon browned, I also added three big handfuls of chopped kale and put a lid on it to steam. Kale was a great addition, added some healthy green to the dish and flavor. Also, I used a good quality turkey bacon but you could just as easily use some spicy turkey sausage, curmbled. Not the traditional carbonara, but it was the perfect mid week meal. You want to serve this recipe in it's original form to guests, it would be perfect, rich and elegant...I will make it again soon!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 12 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mday
,Joliet
,IL
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good and easy.....
September 12, 2011
I have been wanting to make/try this dish for a while now and just decided that hardwood smoked bacon would have to work, since getting the Italian bacon's are just too difficult. I was not disappointed! This is velvet smooth with an amazing flavor. I also used Parmesan cheese and whole wheat pasta. I added frozen peas to my personal dish and was delighted with the sweet fresh burst combined with the salty creamy sauce. I think this will become a regular dish on our table, I will not as much cheese as the recipe calls for it just seems a bit too much.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 13 for Pasta alla Carbonara
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Victer
Milton Wi
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great week night meal or to serve to guests
September 6, 2011
Just made this recipe for dinner tonight. Very very good ! Easy to prepare. I served it with garlic bread. A nice Italian salad would also go well with it. I think people that prefer white sauce to red will LOVE it. We thought mushrooms and broccoli might be nice to add in also...
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 14 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mimmers53
Cary, NC
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick, Delicious, increased meat to pasta ratio
September 6, 2011
This recipe was delicious. The sauce created by the cheese,egg, and pasta water was wonderful...and so easy. I am not a gourmet cook by any stretch so I was afraid that the eggs would 'cook' and be noticeable but this did not happen and the resulting sauce was great. I ended up dividing the pasta into two parts. I used all the meat in one of those parts and saved the other half of the pasta (with its corresponding 1/2 sauce) for a future meal. My husband thought the meat (6oz) was needed to provide substance to the meal. You can tell he is no vegetarian. I also added roasted garlic cloves (from a deli container) and sauted onions when I was cooking the meat. Yummm!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 15 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gramnanny
Western Colorado
September 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pasta Primo!
September 5, 2011
Very, very good. Quite toothsome. Very easy to make. I am glad there is no calorie information, however, as I am sure it is off the charts. An occasional treat.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Unhealthy
Review 16 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sanramonmom
San Ramon, CA
September 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious, easy and inexpensive.
September 2, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. It is so easy to follow and just as easy to execute. Simple ingredients that don't cost a lot of money. And it tastes fantastic. My kids (6 and 4) are the pickiest eaters, and even they loved it.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive
Review 17 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDinNapa
Napa
September 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pasta, Better with Tinkering
September 1, 2011
OK, maybe it breaks Italian rules, but we agree that applewood smoked bacon would add another dimension to this easy, wonderful dish. Also consider a pinch of red pepper flakes. Don't be afraid of the freshly ground black pepper, as it makes this pop. While we used pancetta instead of guanciale, you will get a ton of fat from rendering guanciale, and you might be best served by draining some of it off. A wonderful weeknight treat!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 18 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jls72
Dallas, TX
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, tasty Carbonara
August 29, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly, no modifications. Very tasty, good ratio of pancetta to pasta. Will definitely make again.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly
Review 19 for Pasta alla Carbonara
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wandrerr
August 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too cheesy
August 22, 2011
I don't know, this dish just came out too cheesy for both my husband and I. The cheese taste was very strong (and I *love* cheese). I'm wondering if another type of cheese or less cheese would make this better?
Review 20 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DKMCarlsbad
Carlsbad, CA
August 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heaven On My Plate
August 7, 2011
I am 36 weeks pregnant and was craving homemade, classic Italian cuisine like you would not believe! In flipping through my latest catalog, I was immediately drawn to this recipe and asked my husband if we could cook up an Italian-themed, at home date night. Well, we did -- and, this entree was the highlight. It was rich without being overpowering, and salty without being dehydrating. I only wish we had made more so that I could enjoy leftovers! (I often find that Italian food is at its best on day two.)
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
page1 2 next