Pasta alla Carbonara

This Roman pasta dish is traditionally made with guanciale-pork cheek that resembles unsmoked bacon and is cured with salt, pepper and sometimes garlic. Pancetta makes a fine substitute.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pasta alla Carbonara
Review 1 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stewy
,VICTORIA
,BC
Victoria, BC
September 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hands down the best
September 15, 2014
This recipe is hands down the best Carbonara recipe I've ever had - and every one of the dozens that I've served this to (including a 5 star chef).
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
csinensis
Lacey, WA
March 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Weeknight comfort food
March 4, 2014
So much flavor with so little effort. The sauce comes together while the spaghetti cooks. I used bacon and sub some pecorino with Parmesan. Served roasted cauliflower on the side once and it was very good. Very rich and very filling. Perfect for mid-week dinner after a hard day. Kids love it too.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxinecooks
,Clearwater Beach
,Fl
June 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone Loved It!!
June 8, 2012
Found the recipe in one of the W-S catalogs and made it as the main dish at dinner party. Everyone raved!! Have made it twice more for family gatherings with the same response. We love the full-flavor and sharpness of the Pecorino-Romano; I used a milder Parmesan when we had little ones that aren't used to the sharper flavor and it was still good! Even good as 'leftover' the next day; makes a good side to chicken and pork. Making it again next weekend for out-of-town guests. Thanks for sharing.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, rich flavors
Cons: careful with the salt.
Review 4 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dioane
,San Francisco
,CA
May 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pasta to Impress
May 10, 2012
I found this recipe in the magazine, and thought it would be a great new kind of pasta for my family. I substituted the panchetta w/ turkey bacon cut up in small pieces.. My family really enjoyed it & we are making it again this wkend for a potluck... I already know it will be a hit!!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodlandbird
,Woodland Park
,CO
May 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy and Adaptable
May 9, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times and it really is fool-proof. My family and I all enjoy the taste of the romano, but I have made it with parmesan which gave it a milder, sweeter taste that was just as delicious. I don't like how fatty pancetta is, so I originally made this recipe with prosciutto, but since have also made it with bacon (with grease blotted off) and with left over ham. The addition of spinach makes for a delicious one-bowl meal.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Pasta alla Carbonara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TwoRedShoes
,Washington
,DC
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty dinner in no time
January 31, 2012
This dish is easy to prepare and looks much more complicated then it is. The only changes I made were to the cooking order - I started the water first. I didn't take the pan off the range when adding the egg/cheese mix and as a result I had a very slight scramble. Just FYI.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 7 for Pasta alla Carbonara
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tip189
,Lake Geneva
,WI
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
January 7, 2012
This dish looks delicious in the picture. I was anxious to make it. I followed the recipe exactly. We did not like the strong, overpowering taste of the pecorino romano cheese. I would recommend substituting parmesan cheese. It is very easy to make and I think it would be much better with parmesan cheese.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable
Cons: Taste