Panzanella (Bread Salad)

Tuscans hate to waste a scrap of bread. Panzanella, a bread salad that combines vine-ripened tomatoes, cucumbers, red onions and basil with olive oil and vinegar, is one solution for transforming day-old bread into a delicious summer meal. For best results, use chewy, coarse-textured bread.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Panzanella (Bread Salad)
Review 1 for Panzanella (Bread Salad)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
September 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent salad & very easy
September 6, 2010
This is a delicious salad. I would definitely make this again. It got rave reviews. It would be great to bring to a picnic. Even the next day it was great!
Review 2 for Panzanella (Bread Salad)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OCWinelover
Lake Forest, CA
July 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tomato Abondanza al Fresco!
July 23, 2010
While I have no command of the Italian language - this recipe says benvenuto al mio giardino (welcome to my garden!). This is truly one of the freshest ways to show off the summer fireworks display of tomatoes in these warms summer days. Using ciabatta or other densely crusted bread is a must - and you may want to consider an anchovy or (two) and some fresh shaved parmigano-reggiano to top it all off! Serve with some chilled shrimp or maybe some steamed clams or mussels, or fresh oysters and you have a 5 star meal in less than 30 minutes! Buon appetito!
Review 3 for Panzanella (Bread Salad)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NASAkjr
Williamsburg, VA
May 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Refreshing (and Hearty) Break from the Usual Salad
May 21, 2010
This dish is popular with my family and friends. I'm asked to make it constantly. It disappears quickly even when I double or triple the recipe.
I specifically use ciabatta bread which holds up well with the vinegars. I primarily use red wine vinegar but am compelled to add a healthy splash of balsamic, too! Heed the recipe's advice to "vinegar" it as needed later in case the bread is too dry.
Review 4 for Panzanella (Bread Salad)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mclare
Northern NJ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick, easy and tasty
April 30, 2010
This is a great recipe for a warm day when you just feel like throwing something together and not turning on the oven. The key is GOOD produce (mainly tomatoes!) and stale bread. This is a great dish for company too. We love it in our house!