Panettone French Toast

A spongy golden Italian egg bread studded with dried fruits, panettone is traditionally served during the Christmas holidays. Here we transform this sweet bread into a delicious version of French toast.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Panettone French Toast
Review 1 for Panettone French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitcheKween
,Phoenix
,AZ
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Special Holiday Treat
December 27, 2011
Loved this recipe. We thought we had died and gone to heaven. I prepared the egg mixture the night before and it allowed all of the flavors to blend. The orange flavor was not overpowering but added a delicious dimension. I served this with bacon, medley of fresh berries topped with vanilla yogurt with a spash of cinnamon sugar and mimosas to celebrate Christmas. Anything other than real maple syrup is not worthy of this recipe.
Cut thick slices of Panettone and then half the long slice. Thick slices allow easy handling after soaking in mixture and may even require a little longer than recommended 10 seconds per side..
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
 
Review 2 for Panettone French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nursecupcake
,Monterey
,CA
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Holiday Tradition
December 23, 2011
I made this the first time a couple years ago and have continued to do so every time that panettone is available. Everyone who has tried it, loves it. I'm not a french toast fan and I love it.
I always try to serve it with the highest quality maple syrup I can find.
I never have added the orange liqueur simply because I don't keep it on hand and it seems silly to spend that much more just to use a few tablespoons each year for this recipe specifically.
Also, soaking the bread for ten seconds on each side for such thin slices has caused near dissolution of my bread into the egg mixture. Two to three seconds should be enough on each side and then a quick transfer to the pan. Even then I've had some occurrences of bread slices tearing as I attempt to turn them.
Hiccups in preparation aside I love this recipe and look forward to making it every year.
Happy Holidays everyone!!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Panettone French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SallyDetroit
Detroit
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
January 4, 2011
This panettone french toast is delicious! It has become a New Year's tradition that my brother makes for us. It makes a special occasion really special!
Review 4 for Panettone French Toast
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FatesWarn
West Chester, PA
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too much orange
December 25, 2010
I enjoyed the meal, but I thought that the orange flavoring overpowered the flavor of the high-quality (and expensive) panettone. If I made it again, I think I would skip the juice, use half the zest, and use more nutmeg and cinnamon.
I'm looking forward to using my other panettone for bread pudding.
Review 5 for Panettone French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gwynne
Grand Rapids, MN
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Christmas Morning Treat
April 30, 2010
This recipe is perfect for a crowd at breakfast. It's not only very good, but also very elegant looking.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mackdaddy
Texas
Posted December 21, 2010
Christmas breakfast
I made thes last christmas and now it will be part of our tradition breakfast. It is also very delicious with Williams-Sonoma Bliss syrup
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)