Osso Buco

Braised in the Italian style, these fork-tender veal shanks are the perfect cold-weather dish. Serve with pasta or polenta for a soul-satisfying supper.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Osso Buco
Review 1 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tripp
,Vero Beach
,FL
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Christmas Dinner
December 27, 2012
We made this for the first time on Christmas Day, I know we should not test recipes on our main guests but WS has never failed us so we went with it. Easy to make and fantastic flavors. We will make this for years to come. Perfect for cold evenings.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GotItMade
,Mandeville
,LA
December 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Christmas Eve Treasure
December 24, 2012
Made this today for our Christmas Eve Dinner tonight. I followed the recipe adding only a bouquet garnet of savory, rosemary and marjoram. I served it with fettucini noodles. The germolata of parsley, garlic, and lemon zest was added at the table. This meal was definitely the prefect fit for such a festive occasion. Thank you.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
novicechef41
,Lynchburg
,Vi
December 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely AMAZING!!
December 24, 2012
I have been wanting to make this recipe for awhile now. I finally made the commitment to put this dish together. It was absolutely amazing!! Easy to make and my fiancee and I enjoyed it very much. We will definitely be making this dish again!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kippercal
,Apollo Beach
,FL
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Recipe
December 7, 2012
I prepared this last night and it was incredible!!! The meat was very tender and the sauce was out of this world! I purchased the Staub wide oval coquette just to prepare this and it is beautiful.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cailopoohqt07
,Bay Area
,CA
September 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
3 hour dinner.. worth every minute!!
September 18, 2011
I'm going to keep this short and sweet..
This recipe is AMAZING!! it takes a long time and a little know-how but the result is fabulous. When I went to remove the veal shank from the sauce the entire thing just fell apart, I had to fish out several individual pieces of veal because it was so tender..
My boyfriend and his kids all said it was the best veal they have ever had!! Thanks WS for this wonderful recipe!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 6 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4lejandro
Guadalajara, Mexico
May 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfecto for an Elegant Savory Dinner!
May 13, 2011
It was just as expected.
Whenever I enccounter this platter on a restaurant is a Most Order for me, so when I saw this recipe I was very thrilled.
It is a great fun cooking it and it was a great satisfaction savoring it. Of course you'll need the Veal Demi-Glace to achieve its best, but it is really worth it.
It is Simply Delicioso !!! Thanks "Williams-Sonoma".
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Cons: Lengthy
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Osso Buco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Poco
Moorestown, NJ
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HAPPY NEW YEAR
January 2, 2011
DELICIOUS the sauce was savory and the veal was very tender. The recipe was extremely easy to follow.
Review 8 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marena
Seattle
November 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cozy Comfort Food
November 10, 2010
This is the 1st time I made Osso Buco. It's surprisingly easy to make. The result is a rich, flavorful dish with tender meat and well seasoned bone marrow. My picky husband loved it!
Review 9 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HoustonTXChef
Houston, TX
July 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Osso Buco Review
July 10, 2010
I made this meal for 12 Italian family members and it was spectacular. Cooking risotto for 12 in a beach rental house in an ill-equipped kitchen presented challenges while improving the definition of the deltoids on my right arm after 55 minutes of stirring. In the end, it was creamy and delicious. I highly recommend this meal.
Review 10 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heidelind
Virgina
May 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a special occassion
May 28, 2010
This really is an amazing dish. I made saffron risotto with it and all I can say is YUMMY! Yes, this is a pretty expensive meal. But if you are looking for that special dish that will WOW someone...you've found it. It's not hard to make either, just make sure you let it cook for the recommended amount of time. That is really key.
Review 11 for Osso Buco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Supertaster
Massachusetts
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for company
May 3, 2010
My family loved this! Very easy to make, but it looks like a meal you'd get in a restaurant.
Review 12 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cahansen
Jackson, NJ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excelent for special guests or occassions
April 30, 2010
This is one of my favorites. The flavors are fantastic. Have entertained with this reciepe for special friends and family. It is an expensive meal, but well worth the money.l
Review 13 for Osso Buco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aspen
Colorado
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Authentic
April 30, 2010
This recipe hits it on the nose as being an orginal Italian dish.
I've always had a hard time making the rice but this time I did great!
Will impress your family or have an Italian night.