Onion Tarts with Mixed Greens

Also known as galettes, these savory rustic tarts are topped with a simple salad. They make an impressive first course for a dinner party, or a light entree for brunch or supper.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Onion Tarts with Mixed Greens
Review 1 for Onion Tarts with Mixed Greens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sameera
,Atlanta
,GA
Georgia
June 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant looking!
June 12, 2012
Once again, this site delivers on a good recipe! Recipe itself is so simple (although time consuming). If you make the dough ahead of time and caramelize the onions the day before, I could see this being a good recipe to prepare ahead of time for company.
I rolled the dough very thin, which worked out well. I cut the butter in the dough by 1/2 cup and it turned out fine.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Onion Tarts with Mixed Greens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
klloch
West TN
March 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A keeper recipe
March 3, 2012
I love this! I did saute my onions in an iron skillet after I'd cooked bacon, sauteed shallots with a wine reduction! I cut the recipe in half; should've rolled the crust thinner but it was so good! Will definitely make this again!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Onion Tarts with Mixed Greens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mom198586
East Bay, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Tart
May 14, 2010
I have made this recipe numerous times, and it gets rave reviews every time. I even made in as an entree while living in France!
Review 4 for Onion Tarts with Mixed Greens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TK0202
Goodyear, AZ
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spring treat
May 3, 2010
Cutting up that many onions, I was unsure how this one would turn out - my mother absolutely raved about the various flavors in this dish. This was a rewarding dish to make - it could almost be a meal in itself. I served as a side to rack of lamb. Delicious.