Old-Fashioned Apple Pie

Laying a slice of cheddar cheese atop a wedge of warm apple pie is an American tradition. Today a scoop of vanilla ice cream is generally preferred.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Old-Fashioned Apple Pie
Review 1 for Old-Fashioned Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GraceO
,San Diego
,CA
November 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Pie!
November 8, 2012
I loved this recipe! The crust is flaky and so delicious! The filling was perfect! My husband loved this pie! Thank you for sharing. :)
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Old-Fashioned Apple Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mushu
Tatooine, AZ
December 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The dark side also has pie
December 4, 2011
used tart granny smith apples
upped sugar to 3/4 cup
added 2 T. all-purpose flour to the apple mixture
Not watery and quite tasty.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Old-Fashioned Apple Pie
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Watery, needs more sugar, but good
November 29, 2010
I used Pippin apples and the pie was a little watery as another reviewer mentioned. Although I do not like overly sweet pies, I wish I would have added more sugar. I used what was listed in the recipe. I also used refrigerated pie crust which has more taste (NOT frozen pie crust which is tasteless).
Review 4 for Old-Fashioned Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChicagoPieMom
Chicago, IL
November 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pie
November 24, 2010
My husband loves this pie. I cheat and use the Williams Sonoma pie crust mix. I also add cranberries to the pie - a big hit in my house!
Review 5 for Old-Fashioned Apple Pie
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BeginnerPieMaker
Weston, CT
October 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastes good but too juicy
October 11, 2010
My husband and I made this pie together and it came out way too juicy. We used a bakery bought pie crust to save time, but we followed the filling recipe to the "T".
The flavor was great, but we were disappointed about the overly liquid filling and crunchy apples we were left with.
Review 6 for Old-Fashioned Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fermezlesescargots
Chicago
July 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the Effort
July 28, 2010
This recipe takes a lot of work, but it is 100% worth it! Err on the side of having too much dough - the top just barely covers the pie, and having to take out some of the filling so that the top will fit is just disappointing.
Review 7 for Old-Fashioned Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janet1
Burr Ridge, IL
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Pie
May 1, 2010
Thia pie as well as your other pie recipes is incredible....Every time I need a pie I turn to William Sonoma, Ir is mouth watering. usuallydoesn't last a day.. Super moist, crust melts in your mouth. Not sweet just so pleasing to the palate that you will not stop at one piece. The lattice apple pie is also remarkable.
Review 8 for Old-Fashioned Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RolyPoly
Nevada
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
As American as...
April 30, 2010
This was the first pie I ever baked, and as such, I was worried about how it would turn out. I shouldn't have, because it turned out great. The crust was light and flaky, and the apples wonderfully seasoned. Friends loved it.