Mushroom, Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Lasagna

A popular cheese used for making lasagna, ricotta means "recooked" in Italian. It is so-named because the whey-based cheese is prepared by heating the whey left over from making sheep's, goat's or cow's milk cheeses. Most Italian ricottas are made from sheep's milk, but any variety of fresh ricotta will work in this recipe.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mushroom, Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Lasagna
Review 1 for Mushroom, Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Earth
,Washington, DC
May 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Divine!
May 15, 2012
This lasagna is absolutely incredible! A few items of note, however:
1) I used homemade tomato sauce instead of the roasted red pepper sauce.
2) I used 1/2 turkey sausages and 1/2 mild Italian sausages. It was a nice combination of flavors.
3) There was no way I could get 5 layers out of this (I got 3 instead, which worked out just fine).
4) I totally agree with another poster that this serves about 8.
5) I used no-boil lasagna, which worked just fine.
This recipe takes some time but you will have lots of leftovers and the taste is spectacular!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Mushroom, Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NotAnHerb
Santa Barbara, CA
April 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good stuff!
April 20, 2011
I made two of these this weekend. One with sausage as directed and one with ground turkey (which I added fennel and some herbs to). I used the Williams-Sonoma pasta sauce since I was running out of time. They had a different red pepper sauce with pine nut. Everyone liked both. Next time I'm going to map out the layers a little better. The top was a little light on the sauce.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost
Review 3 for Mushroom, Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LongTallJulie
New York, NY
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible lasagna for 8, not 12
November 23, 2010
I tried this recipe yesterday for the first time and it was delicious!
I couldn't find the roasted red pepper sauce in the W.S. store or online, so I just used whatever sauce I had lying around.
Then I added red pepper fillets (chopped up into little pieces and cooked together with the mushrooms) and I think it added a little extra "oomph."
The lasagna could also use a bit more meat... I'd recommend using at least 2.5 lbs of sausage.
Everyone at dinner LOVED the lasagna and wiped their plates clean, BUT it was a party of 8 people and the lasagna was almost gone! It definitely does not serve 12 as the recipe says... unless you are going to serve it with least 2 side dishes.
Review 4 for Mushroom, Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marii
Wayne, PA
October 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Lasagna Recipe Yet!
October 24, 2010
I have made this lasagana for several occasions, and I've always gotten "rave" reviews. In fact, I'm making this lasagna and another lasagna for Christmas Eve dinner! Wouldn't change anything in this recipe.
Review 5 for Mushroom, Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wazzumoe
Vancouver, WA
May 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely make this lasagna!
May 10, 2010
This is THE best tasting lasagna! My husband asks me to make it all the time. The only problem is that it makes a huge amount.
Do yourself a favor and make this lasagna!
Review 6 for Mushroom, Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsDenietolis
Bellingham, MA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Elegant
April 30, 2010
I have made this lasagna recipe for years now for most family get togethers. It's famous and delicious. I love the fresh ingredients called for and the red pepper sauce makes it really stand out.