Moroccan Lamb Stew

Many people assume that wrinkled, sticky dates are a dried fruit, much like prunes or dried apricots. In fact, regular dates are fresh fruits that acquire many of the same characteristics as dried fruit (thin skin, extreme sweetness) because they are grown in the desert. This recipe calls for dried dates. You will find this specialty food sold chopped and often covered with flour to prevent sticking. They act as a perfect sweet foil to highly spiced lamb stews.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Moroccan Lamb Stew
Review 1 for Moroccan Lamb Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Benson
,San Antonio
,TX
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Good Diversion from Your Ordinary Stew
January 7, 2012
Great recipe. The dates, while unusual, added great flavor. Be sure to get dates, and not prunes. Big difference! I also added some potatoes.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Moroccan Lamb Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ciudad
California
February 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Good I wanna make it TWICE!!!
February 26, 2011
Not the healthiest meal in the world but really quite tasty, especially served over quinoa. As it has been said, it is on the sweeter side. I added 3 large jalapenos (and was generally more generous with the spices). It had a sweet, spicy thing going that was universally enjoyed. Next time I am going to add an extra carrot or two and use 2 cups of pearl onions instead of the diced. YUM!!!!! Oh, and I am going to serve it with a side of curly Kale to really balance out the whole meal.
Review 3 for Moroccan Lamb Stew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nelliest
Palm Springs
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
1of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Way to sweet
January 6, 2011
This dish would have been good had it not called for dates. I had great expectations for this dish but it was so sweet no one would eat it and it went straight into the trash.
Review 4 for Moroccan Lamb Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoodLover2
CT
December 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dish
December 10, 2010
This is a very delicious dish. The flavors are amazing. It does take a lot of time to prepare but it is absolutely worth it!
Review 5 for Moroccan Lamb Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
August 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavors!
August 20, 2010
I have made this dish several times. It's great for entertaining because it feeds a large crowd and it can be made a day or two in advance. You can reheat in the oven and it tastes great.
Review 6 for Moroccan Lamb Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheYumyumLady
Townshend, Vermont
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very easy and delicious!
April 30, 2010
This is very easy to prepare and a great dish for easy entertaining. I added 1 tsp. Garam Marsala along with the cumin and saffron. I'm not a big fan of dates, but they just sort of melted into the dish and definitely added flavor and sweetness. I also added some chopped dried apricots and sprinkled toasted slivered almonds over the top and served it with couscous.
Even though I added a couple of ingredients, it would also be delicious as written.